We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Ranked #26 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

After a 12 hour flight from Chicago, we arrived in Beijing at midnight and were looking forward to a good night sleep. We arrived at the Sheraton Dongcheng and based on my husband's SPG status were provided keys for an executive suite. What a treat! The suite was larger than some apartments with a full living room, separate bedroom, 2 bathrooms and work area. The floor to ceiling windows provided a great view of the Olympic Stadium and Birds Nest.

The lounge was fantastic as well, providing a delicious full breakfast each morning and drinks/appetizers in the evening. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable and that all of our needs were covered.

The fitness center did not disappoint with state of the art equipment, pool and separate yoga area for stretching. We did not have spa treatments at the hotel but the spa area looked inviting although on the expensive side from what we reviewed.

Similiar to other trip advisor reviews, the hotel is not centrally located and a taxi is required to see any of the sites. Additionally, taxis did have a hard time finding the hotel, taking us to another Sheraton 2 out of 3 times. We believe this is really the only downside of the hotel.

Finally, if the thought of jumping into another taxi sounds tiring, there is a shopping area directly across from the hotel that has a market as well as some restaurants for lunch or dinner. All in all, if we were to travel back to Beijing, would definitely stay at the Sheraton Dongcheng again.

Room Tip: Request high floor and if possible, upgrade to an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust111Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your experience on your stay with us at Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services.
Your kind words have been passed along to our associates as a great reminder of the quality of service we aim to provide to our guests everyday.
We are delighted to hear you will return to us again and we look forward to turning your next visit into another memorable experience.
Stay well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    162
    29
    20
    6
See reviews for
58
69
20
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and thus have experience of the restaurants, meeting facilities and also the hotel rooms. I have to say this is a very impressive hotel, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff, who are very courteous.

Starting with the hotel room; it was spotlessly clean, and nicely planned out, with a separate toilet room and bathroom (including oval bath and separate wetroom) and a spacious main living area. A good supply of bottled water is provided (which is essential both for drinking, and useful for brushing your teeth, a precaution I tend to take while travelling in the region). Handily, an umbrella is also provided, which proved to be useful when the weather turned wet in Beijing.All in all I couldn't fault the hotel room.

The conference facilities are also excellent, again being clean, spacious and well looked after. The meeting catering is also very good. The layout of the hotel with regard to reaching the meeting rooms is a bit complicated as the 5th floor can't directly be accessed by the main lift, but after a day you get the hang of it.

The hotel also boasts four restaurants, providing a good selection of food. Miyabi is a japanese restaurant, providing japanese foods such as sushi and teppanyaki. Bene is an italian restaurant, while Yue is a traditional chinese restaurant. The Feast buffet combines the best of all three. You can always find something to eat and the food is always of high quality. If you're a vegetarian, your best bets are probably Feast or Bene, though. The breakfast is served at Feast and has something for everyone.

All in all, this hotel is extremely impressive, spacious and a comfortable home for the western tourist experiencing Beijing for the first time. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel and for sharing your kind comments.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms, conference facilities and quality services. Your kind words have been passed along to our associates as a great reminder to the quality of service we aim to provide to our guests everyday. All of our associates thrive on providing the highest service level to make our guest’s stay especially memorable and empowering you with a sense of well-being. Thank you again for choosing Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel. Hope our hotel could always be the home away from home of you in Beijing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent several days in Beijing over the course of Chinese New Year. Can't comment on the lounge (closed), but the breakfast buffet is one of the best around.

The suites are nice, and the staff is mostly helpful.

Why I say tricky in winter: no amount of water consumption can keep you from waking up dehydrated as the heat is on super-high. This doesn't happen at all Beijing hotels. Good luck to you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for staying with Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel and for sharing your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next return to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Needed to find a hotel in the east Haidian area or vicinity and decided to try out this new Sheraton. Excellent staff, the view from the club lounge shows the Birdcage and Swim Center not too far off in the distance, especially nice at night to relax and unwind. Rooms are very good, Sheraton's new properties in China reflect a lot of attention to details.

This is a new hotel so the taxi drivers may not know it and the address alone did not help, either be prepared to call the hotel so the driver can ask or carry a printed map.

Pay attention to the location, we found it took some time to get a taxi leaving the hotel which is necessary to get anywhere. We asked if there is a shuttle bus service to areas nearby or the airport and were told no, the hotel should consider this.

Room Tip: askf or a view of the Olympic park and Swim Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your experience on your stay with us at Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel. It was a pleasure to share your comments with our team and we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and service.We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel when you next return to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
389 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I loved this hotel. The rooms were spacious, modern and the staff were so friendly. The location may seem in an odd location but it is rather convenient to many local attractions. The price was wonderful considering many higher priced hotels near by. I thought the Shangri-La was my favorite hotel to stay in Beijing but my stay at the Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel made it my new favorite.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Reviewer, Thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel. Your positive feedback will further encourage us to continue to improve our service levels. Thank you again for sharing and our hotel team look forward to being of service to you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Beijing. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is an exellent starwood sheraton hotel in Beijing. I have decided to try this new hotel. Not disappointed at all. Unbelievable view from the club lounge and excelent service. Personal attention and assiistance from the hotel manager Mr Ross Grinter. Very helpful staff to provide a real Sheraton experience. You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Being a starwood member is a good start
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear reviewer, thank you for staying with Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel and for sharing your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.We look forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you next return to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
319 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I'm currently checked in at the Sheraton Dongcheng and am here for a conference till tomorrow. I agree with most of the comments - the rooms are spacious, contemporary, comfortable and the staff are polite and eager to please. The breakfast buffet is very good, a nice start to a busy day. It is in a location that's not near any tourist sights or shopping areas so you have to take a taxi everywhere. The nearest subway station is about 3 blocks down the road.
This is definitely not the place if you want to mix a little pleasure with business.
Just a small piece of advice for the GM, who has written replies to some of the reviewers - it would be better to have a personalized reply, whether the feedback is positive or negative.
It's a bit funny to read the obviously form replies he posts each time!
While I give this hotel 4 stars, I would give the GM only 2 :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonnapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross G, Hotel Manager at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear reviewer, we really appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel guest rooms and also happy to hear you indulged in our extensive breakfast buffet selections to start your busy day. I understand your visit was for business purposes on this occasion. However, we hope next time you may have more time to visit some of the tourist attractions nearby by the hotel such as the Olympic Water Cube and Bird Nest Stadiums, Lama and Confuscious Temples….all within 5 minutes taxi of the hotel. A little further afield, Tiananmen and Forbidden City are a comfortable 15 min taxi from the hotel or are also easily accessible by subway. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments and we certainly hope we have a chance to welcome you back to our hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#31 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,225 reviews
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
#42 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,635 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#30 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Address: Southeast of Anzhen Bridge, 36 North Third Ring Road East,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100013, China
Region: China > Beijing > Anzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel is conveniently located on Beijing’s north Third Ring Road, in the heart of the city’s transportation network. Just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport (PEK), we have easy access to major attractions such as the Olympic Stadium, Tiananmen Square, Financial Street, the Forbidden City, and the Great Wall.Our 441 contemporary guest rooms and suites range from 43 to 240 square meters. In addition to the celebrated “ahhh” of the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, you’ll also enjoy a 42” LCD Flat Screen Television, High Speed Internet Access, and a separate bath and shower.During your stay, share a meal in one of our four restaurants—featuring Chinese, Japanese, Italian, and all-day dining—or get a refreshing drink in our Lobby Lounge. Relax with a massage at the Shine Spa for Sheraton, take a dip in our indoor heated swimming pool, or work out in our modern fitness center. And you can easily stay connected to home and the office with wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access in your guest room, the business center, or meeting rooms.Let us bring your vision of a grand meeting or lively social event to life in our 13 functions spaces, totaling more than 2,400 square meters. State-of-the-art audiovisual facilities are available, as are experienced event and catering specialists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing