We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charge for Wi-Fi and allow Smoking on NON Smoking floors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Ranked #26 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“They charge for Wi-Fi and allow Smoking on NON Smoking floors”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights this past weekend in Beijing. We booked a NON Smoking room on the preferred guest level. The neighbour smoked in the hall right outside of our door. The front desk refused to remove the charges for Wi-fi which we were told upon arrival was included. The breakfast was okay, not great but okay, and very busy hard to get a seat away from the smelly food. The hotel supposedly caters only to white people but as "white people" I don't really think that they do. The concierge was rude and dismissive. They were too busy playing on their phones to do anything. I pre booked a taxi to take us to the airport then when we arrived 10 minutes before our pick up time they went out to the street to get a taxi and then tried to give the taxi to someone else waiting even though we were the only people standing in the Taxi que and we had pre booked a taxi. Its about a 10 minute walk to Line 5, so not to hard to get around the city without a taxi. the room was okay other than no wifi and the view was of a highway and some ugly mid rise buildings.
meh

Room Tip: This hotel is Meh at best. The room is okay, the cleanliness is okay, but nothing special for the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is regretful that your stay with us did not live up to your expectation. Thank you for bringing the shortfalls in our product and service to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. We seek to deliver outstanding service to each of our valued guests and thus, service shortfalls highlighted during your recent stay will be taken very seriously. We have shared your experience with our management team and will ensure this example is included in our daily associate trainings, including all the touch points/areas that you have mentioned above. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel sometime soon so that you may experience our true service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    164
    29
    20
    6
See reviews for
60
69
20
279
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel was a lot busier than in the past. I wasn't given my usual upgraded room despite that I am a repeat quest of the hotel. Despite this, I found the club rooms excellent. They were very modern, spacious, and just fine for my short stay. I decided to also try the Chinese restaurant for dim sum with a friend and loved it. It was a great price and certainly was well worth it. The club lounge and staff at this hotel are fantastic. This hotel offers a great selection of food and beverages for SPG guest and club room level guest. I always feel like a special guest of this hotel. The manager of the hotel always makes a point to stop by and say hello. I don't always get that at other SPG properties. The concierge is very helpful and can help book transportation throughout the city. The hotel is located near a metro stop and has some solid restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat inside the hotel. Overall, this is my place to stay in Beijing and I will keep coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for rewarding us with a full score, and we're so inspired by your great compliment. We'll continuously work hard to keep the momentum and make sure you enjoy the same experience on your next visit. We are delighted that our service found your appreciation.
We would look forward to provide you with more renewing stays in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been to this hotel three times in the last six months. Great business hotel, if you need to stay in this area of Beijing. Plenty of conference space, nice executive lounge on the top floor, and one of the most spacious and best equipped gym i have ever seen at a Sheraton (incl. an indoor pool!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugeniof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel. Your positive feedback will further encourage us to continue to improve our service levels. Thank you again for sharing and our hotel team look forward to being of service to you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This hotel is very convenient in case you came for business in the near area as it save you from the traffic of the city.
The issue is that in case you wish to do something in the evening the surrounding of the hotel is quiet and boring.
The facility of the hotel and the room are excellent. One thing I found very odd and annoying was the fact that is the hotel still charge you for internet service. I would expect that for the price they charge it will be for free which is a very elementary service mainly for business travelers (but not only).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear reviewer, Thank you for choosing The Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel and sharing your insights with us and others. It’s delightful to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to have you back to our hotel in the near future, however, should you prefer to stay near the Central Business District, we’re pleased to inform you that Starwood Hotels and Resorts currently have seven hotels in Beijing, hence, we’re confident that one of our hotels will definitely meet your location preference – wherever it may be in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The location of the hotel is a little odd, in that it seems to be one of a number of towers associated with the Global Trade Centre. the way in is often puzzle for taxi drivers , but the great advantage of being 'right in' the commercial/office complex is excellent… so is the hotel itself.

Very big, almost a little overwhelming with the open spaces and long way to the restraints, it is however a luxurious property, very clean indeed and a friendly helpful and professional staff.

For business I have stayed on many nights over several visits and find the place consistently good. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfast area outstanding in ambiance, waiting staff and range if offerings.

A frequent sight day ad night is the property Gm .. and maybe this leadership is the secret !

The cost of RMB 7780 for 7 nights accommodation, laundry, a fews raids on the mini-bar is really reasonable for such a hotel.

There is an adjacent supermarket ( western style) , cinema and coffee shops and many nearby restaurants… all in all a good spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terence s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a note of compliments for our Hotel. It is our commitment to provide the best accommodation experience to our guest and we are very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This property is a property you should choose to anchor in to, while in Beijing and get the most out of its location, connectivity and affordability. The location is close to the centre of the town, buzzing with activity, access to all parts of the city by all means of transportation and yet comes to satisfy the cost effective criterion. What more, the morning breakfast has one of the largest spreads available, offers many Indian Restaurants around the location. The staff is very helping, courteous, well mannered and just a call away. I recommend this place to all the Beijing business travellers to camp in to and gte the best out of your stay. Cheers

Room Tip: Any room is good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjayKawale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
We will share your positive feedback with our team. We consistently strive to provide great and personalized service in an instinctive manner and are happy to learn that the team accommodated this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you once more for your kind words of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexico
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

beautiful experience!!!! great food, nice decoration. definitely would return.Good location. The staff is so helpful!!!Quiet neighborhood, you can walk with your familiy. Around the corner there are good restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerpowerMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
We will share your positive feedback with our team. We consistently strive to provide great and personalized service in an instinctive manner and are happy to learn that the team accommodated this.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you once more for your kind words of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#30 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,244 reviews
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#13 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,545 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
#41 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel

Property: Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Address: Southeast of Anzhen Bridge, 36 North Third Ring Road East,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100013, China
Region: China > Beijing > Anzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel is conveniently located on Beijing’s north Third Ring Road, in the heart of the city’s transportation network. Just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport (PEK), we have easy access to major attractions such as the Olympic Stadium, Tiananmen Square, Financial Street, the Forbidden City, and the Great Wall.Our 441 contemporary guest rooms and suites range from 43 to 240 square meters. In addition to the celebrated “ahhh” of the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, you’ll also enjoy a 42” LCD Flat Screen Television, High Speed Internet Access, and a separate bath and shower.During your stay, share a meal in one of our four restaurants—featuring Chinese, Japanese, Italian, and all-day dining—or get a refreshing drink in our Lobby Lounge. Relax with a massage at the Shine Spa for Sheraton, take a dip in our indoor heated swimming pool, or work out in our modern fitness center. And you can easily stay connected to home and the office with wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access in your guest room, the business center, or meeting rooms.Let us bring your vision of a grand meeting or lively social event to life in our 13 functions spaces, totaling more than 2,400 square meters. State-of-the-art audiovisual facilities are available, as are experienced event and catering specialists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing