We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Ranked #28 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Spaci eous rooms with western style toilets, a HUGE breakfast buffet, 24/7 gym, and good service (for China). I would recommend this hotel. It's surprising how few hotel staff speaks English, which I don't mind but is remarkable considering I've been to over 24 countries and for as many foreigners as there is that come through Beijing you would expect they would've hired bilingual staff (everywhere in Hong Kong people can usually speak Cantonese, Mandarin, and English...)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear reviewer, thank you for sharing your experience on your stay with us at Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel.
We were delighted to receive your full score rating and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that we may bring you another wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is on the 3rd ring road. It is not close to the subway, so you have to rely on car/ taxi/ bus.

Receptionists are polite and friendly. As in other Sheraton hotels, there are computers and a printer for free use by guests near the lobby.

The room is really good for the price of this hotel. Large bathroom. I like the design because, unlike many other newer hotels with a big glass between the bathroom and bedroom, the bathroom is separated by both a wall and some glasses. It is better and a more practical design.

Breakfast is average and enough choices.

The worst thing about this hotel is that they would charge RMB90 for daily use of wi-fi in the room. There are free wi-fi in lobby and gym area though.

By the way, there is an apartment building right next to the hotel and sometimes taxi driver will mix up and drop you at the entrance of the apartment. From the outside, the hotel and apartment entrances look similar. The good thing is that even if you are wrongly dropped off at the apartment entrance, it is just under 40 seconds from the hotel.

In conclusion, if you don't need to take the subway or don't mind staying in an area with no walking distance to shops or western restaurants, then it is a pretty decent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripMember06092015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for sharing your pleasant experiences and recommendation with us and others on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to hear that our hotel facilities and services added to your comfort and your satisfaction is the biggest recognition for our associates.
We all look forward to your return so that we can create another memorable experience with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We selected the Sheraton DongCheng due to having SPG points; and we were totally satisfied. Having numerous stays at another Sheraton in China which is considered a 4 star hotel; I had high expectations and the DongCheng met that expectation. The level of service provided throughout the hotel was excellent from check-in to the Clug Lounge to the Concierge, etc. Despite our complete lack of speaking Chinese, the majority of the staff is multi-lingual which made it easy to communicate at all times. From the cleanliness of the rooms, to the helpfulness of the concierge; the Sheraton brand shows its commitment to customer service.

The hotel's location was perfect for our daily tours as we only had to drive 20-30 minutes for the major attractions in the city. We even enjoyed a walk to the Bird's Nest which is an easy 40 minute stroll. Taxis to dinner were 20 minutes, subway was a 10 minute walk, airport was 25 minutes away; which says the location would work for almost anyone.

If we are able to visit Beijing again; this hotel will be at the toop of our list!

Room Tip: The Club Lounge rooms are in the upper floors which incude access to the Lounge amenities; breakfast...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkembray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking time to post such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
With a passion for delighting our guests, it is always pleasing to hear of such an enjoyable experience. We are happy to learn that our facilities and services, especially, the Executive Club added to your comfort.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a week. Husband doing a few days business nearby so a good location for us but quite a distance from the sights of the centre. However there are good restaurants nearby, also cafés and some shops. Not too far by taxi to get to the main sights either which we also did.
The room was very comfortable, spa and pool great and lots of choice at breakfast. Also several different themed restaurants in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking time to post such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
With a passion for delighting our guests, it is always pleasing to hear of such an enjoyable experience. We are happy to learn that our facilities and services added to your comfort.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights this past weekend in Beijing. We booked a NON Smoking room on the preferred guest level. The neighbour smoked in the hall right outside of our door. The front desk refused to remove the charges for Wi-fi which we were told upon arrival was included. The breakfast was okay, not great but okay, and very busy hard to get a seat away from the smelly food. The hotel supposedly caters only to white people but as "white people" I don't really think that they do. The concierge was rude and dismissive. They were too busy playing on their phones to do anything. I pre booked a taxi to take us to the airport then when we arrived 10 minutes before our pick up time they went out to the street to get a taxi and then tried to give the taxi to someone else waiting even though we were the only people standing in the Taxi que and we had pre booked a taxi. Its about a 10 minute walk to Line 5, so not to hard to get around the city without a taxi. the room was okay other than no wifi and the view was of a highway and some ugly mid rise buildings.
meh

Room Tip: This hotel is Meh at best. The room is okay, the cleanliness is okay, but nothing special for the pr...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessicaShang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Reviewer, thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is regretful that your stay with us did not live up to your expectation. Thank you for bringing the shortfalls in our product and service to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations. We seek to deliver outstanding service to each of our valued guests and thus, service shortfalls highlighted during your recent stay will be taken very seriously. We have shared your experience with our management team and will ensure this example is included in our daily associate trainings, including all the touch points/areas that you have mentioned above. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel sometime soon so that you may experience our true service standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel was a lot busier than in the past. I wasn't given my usual upgraded room despite that I am a repeat quest of the hotel. Despite this, I found the club rooms excellent. They were very modern, spacious, and just fine for my short stay. I decided to also try the Chinese restaurant for dim sum with a friend and loved it. It was a great price and certainly was well worth it. The club lounge and staff at this hotel are fantastic. This hotel offers a great selection of food and beverages for SPG guest and club room level guest. I always feel like a special guest of this hotel. The manager of the hotel always makes a point to stop by and say hello. I don't always get that at other SPG properties. The concierge is very helpful and can help book transportation throughout the city. The hotel is located near a metro stop and has some solid restaurants nearby if you don't want to eat inside the hotel. Overall, this is my place to stay in Beijing and I will keep coming back.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgraded room if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for rewarding us with a full score, and we're so inspired by your great compliment. We'll continuously work hard to keep the momentum and make sure you enjoy the same experience on your next visit. We are delighted that our service found your appreciation.
We would look forward to provide you with more renewing stays in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I have been to this hotel three times in the last six months. Great business hotel, if you need to stay in this area of Beijing. Plenty of conference space, nice executive lounge on the top floor, and one of the most spacious and best equipped gym i have ever seen at a Sheraton (incl. an indoor pool!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugeniof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton Dongch... B, Hotel Management Team at Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel. Your positive feedback will further encourage us to continue to improve our service levels. Thank you again for sharing and our hotel team look forward to being of service to you again in the future should your travels bring you back to Beijing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#29 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,294 reviews
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#12 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,460 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,447 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,531 in Beijing
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel

Address: Southeast of Anzhen Bridge, 36 North Third Ring Road East,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100013, China
Region: China > Beijing > Anzhen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £96 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Beijing Dongcheng Hotel is conveniently located on Beijing’s north Third Ring Road, in the heart of the city’s transportation network. Just 20 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport (PEK), we have easy access to major attractions such as the Olympic Stadium, Tiananmen Square, Financial Street, the Forbidden City, and the Great Wall.Our 441 contemporary guest rooms and suites range from 43 to 240 square meters. In addition to the celebrated “ahhh” of the plush Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, you’ll also enjoy a 42” LCD Flat Screen Television, High Speed Internet Access, and a separate bath and shower.During your stay, share a meal in one of our four restaurants—featuring Chinese, Japanese, Italian, and all-day dining—or get a refreshing drink in our Lobby Lounge. Relax with a massage at the Shine Spa for Sheraton, take a dip in our indoor heated swimming pool, or work out in our modern fitness center. And you can easily stay connected to home and the office with wired and wireless High Speed Internet Access in your guest room, the business center, or meeting rooms.Let us bring your vision of a grand meeting or lively social event to life in our 13 functions spaces, totaling more than 2,400 square meters. State-of-the-art audiovisual facilities are available, as are experienced event and catering specialists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing