We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice courtyard hotel, best rooms while in China!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Ranked #132 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose the Jingshan Garden for the second part of our stay in Beijing. The courtyard is gorgeous and since they have very nice chairs you can actually use it for a quiet afternoon break in the sun.

The rooms were the best we had while in China, very spacious, beautiful furniture, great shower!

Breakfast was good, many Chinese and Western options in a buffet style, freshly prepared eggs to go with it, so very filling.

The hotel is conveniently located close to Jingshan Park, Drum Tower and the lakes, but keep in mind that the next subway station to get to other spots is about 1 km away! So it can be quite a walk that you might have to do 4 times a day in case you also go out for dinner. In that case take the business card for taxi drivers with you (from reception), because Beijing subway stops at 11 pm. The card has a map (most drivers did not understand it) and the address on the other side (we had more success with that side).

Some more advice: Get up early and watch Chinese morning exercise between 6 and 7 am in Jingshan Park. This is when you can also get the best views of the Forbidden City.

For the evening, have Beijing hotpot at Manfulou close by on Dianmen Inner Street and venture out further to Qianhai lake for some beers! The best bars are close to the bridge that connects Qianhai and Houhai.

One unfortunate fact: The only time we were cheated in China was when we took a motorized mini-cab (similar to a Tuktuk) from the subway station to the hotel in heavy rain. Although we agreed on the price using Chinese numbers (50 yuan, about 6 Euro, which is already quite much for the short trip, but it was raining buckets…), the driver insisted when we arrived, that the 5 min drive had actually been a hutong tour and what he meant to say was 50 Dollars! So be careful, this area close to the commercialized hutong of Nanluoguxiang was the only time we had problems like that with drivers…

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Such an excellent way to ease into being in Beijing. I organised a pickup, the taxi knew the Jingshan, & walked me to it through a couple of small lanes, at 2 am.
The room was exceptionally quiet, comfortable, & breakfast was really good. Cross the main street
& you're in Jingshan Park, which is also a lovely introduction to the city, with so many people enjoying & relaxing in different ways. So many beautiful trees, too!
Suggest you see the Forbidden City outside of holiday or weekend times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank anieByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you want a low key, comfortable hotel in the hutons, close to the sights, friendly service then this is the place. The bikes are a great way to get around too, with the bike lanes being easy to ride in. Imagine riding between tianamen square and the gate of heavenly peace - we did.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quieter than adjacent to the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Jingshan Garden Hotel in late April. Although hard for the taxi driver to find we were eventually directed down the right alley and arrived at the quiet courtyard hotel. This is a modest hotel but fits right in to the flavour of the Hutongs. Our room was comfortable with a relatively large bathroom and great shower. The central courtyard was an oasis after each hectic day of sightseeing. Breakfast was plentiful and a good start to the day. After a few days with a guide we ventured out on our own with 2 bicycles that are available at the hotel. Those two days of riding around Beijing were very memorable and allowed us to see much more than if we were walking or stuck in a car. Most roads have bike lanes and as long as you have your wits about you we found it easy,fast and entertaining! The hotel is located beside Jingshan park and the Forbidden City and once you know your way around the subway is very accessible. I would recommend it to anyone who is not looking for luxury but more looking for a taste of Hutong culture. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gm_km2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Right in the heart of a hutong, friendly staff, very good location,10 minutes to the metro station, half an hour to Tiananmen, just next to Jingshan which is easily on of the best city parks. At the end of a day you have walked through Temple of Heaven and Forbidden city for over 6-7 hours, once you exit the north gate of the Forbidden City you are just 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serkan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was absolutely appalled by this place. I went to this hotel only because it came recommended by a friend. I was in town for business and stayed at this place. Staff are completely uninspired and seem very indifferent. I sure did give my mate a b*llocking for recommending me such a horrid place. Never will I go here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jinhu x, Manager at Jingshan Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time in writing such a sincere review about our hotel.and I am very sorry for your not happy staying in our hotel.
About the issues for the staff you have mentioned in the review. we will inform all the staff and train them continuonsly.I think our hotel will improve greatly becuase of your positive review,I hope you can stay our hotel again.
I hope you erverything goes well.

Warmest wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excelent location. Near to the forbiten city. You feel like living in the huton. Good quality and very good price.

Bad thing: personal do not speak very well English, it's hard to comunicate. Also they do not change currency.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#74 of 6,565 in Beijing
253 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,565 in Beijing
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#114 of 6,565 in Beijing
433 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,360 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#65 of 6,565 in Beijing
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jingshan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jingshan Garden Hotel

Address: No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £77 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jingshan Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jingshan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing