We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has been shut down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn
Ranked #18 of 1,324 Beijing B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Has been shut down”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This little beautiful place has recently been shut down due to the loss of its licence to operate. We arrived two days ago after having booked in advance, but the owner had disappeared and we were relocated to another hotel. This was probably one of the nicest places in Beijing, but unfortunately at the moment it´s out of service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lærke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Difficult to find but they are very helpful in giving directions to taxi driver over the phone. down a back hutong alley this ia peaceful oasis in the heart of the capital and near bars and eateries of the hutong. they were also helpful in organising train tickets and they even walked us to a close by restaurant on a beautiful lake for beijing duck.. breakfast is only 25 yuan extra and is simple egg, fried ham and bread/ jam but is perfectly sufficient with tea.

Rooms are simple but adequate in terms of shower and cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My sister and I stayed a week last year in Summer at this enchanting home away from home. situated right in the heart of the Hutong we had a little trouble finding it at first though by the evening we were pretty good at navigating and realised the place was very conveniently located. We were not expecting what we had found behind those doors in that alley way and were pleasantly surprised. The courtyard inn was beautiful..We were warmly greeted by the resident pet, Jude a young golden retriever as well as complimentary tea as we waited for our room to be prepared. The room was sufficient for both my sister and I and had the necessary amenities. The decor of the room was very personal and it was clear that there was much attention put into it. we had the western themed room. Alex, the owner of the Inn, was very helpful and spoke english (my chinese is hopeless). I believe that the hospitality at Apricot Inn was one of the most genuine and welcoming I ever experienced. I have worked and stayed in some big International chains but this intimate setting and comfortable abode is definitely one I will never forget. My sister and I count ourselves very lucky to have booked a room in this place as it made our trip and was a highlight in itself. Charming and Convenient, i would recommend this Inn to anyone and would definitely not settle for anything less when I visit Beijing again.

Room Tip: Book way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed for 6 nights at the Apricot Courtyard Inn and loved every second of it. The place is perfect if you want to experience the genuine, welcoming, lively hutong areas of Beijing. There's so much to see and do in the local area. Everyone I met - especially the owner Alex and his other guests - were so incredibly friendly, the perfect people to meet on your travels.
The room I had was of a traditional Chinese style, and was clean and comfortable with an en-suite bathroom/shower. The bed was very firm, which was ideal for me, but looking at other reviews this may not be to everyone's liking. The courtyard is cozy and well kept, a welcome change from the noisy, fast-paced city life you would experience if staying right in the centre of the more modern areas. For me, this felt like the real Beijing, the hidden heart of tradition and culture within a vast and shiny sea of tower blocks.
The Inn is a little tucked away, but if you head towards the nearby bell tower and have the address written in Chinese, people are happy to point you in the right direction (don't be afraid to ask, everyone is really friendly). As mentioned, it is close to the old Drum and Bell towers, there are shops, cafes, restaurants, street sellers, ATMs, post office, bars, supermarkets, pharmacies and the subway all within 10 minutes walking distance. The area is bustling and lively and real. If you are into photography, this is also a great place to visit.
I stayed here after 16 days travelling overland from Moscow, and it ended up being exactly the way I wanted to bring my journey to a close. Alex is the perfect host, really a great guy who will help any way he can to make your stay comfortable and fun - he also has some great taste in music! I highly, highly recommend the Apricot Courtyard Inn to everyone looking for a relaxed and comfortable stay in Beijing, and if I visit again this will be my first stop.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be pretty equal in terms of size and quality, and all open out onto the love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed a week in this delightful inn. It was our intro to China and to Beijing.

Pros and Cons:
1 Alex, the manager (and perhaps the owner) speaks English well, and is very helpful and service oriented. See him for restaurant recommendations, directions, internet bookings of all sorts, and general info. He also has an extension collection of classic rock n roll.

2 The courtyard is lovely and features the biggest apricot tree in the hutongs. There are a few tables and chairs good for relaxing with a cold (or warm, if you're going native) bottle of local Yanjing beer (available from Alex) and nibbles from local store. Alex strings up a net to catch the apricots, so there are always plenty of those.

Con: apricots fall all night and some hit the roof with a thud. If you are a light sleeper, this may bother you.

3 We stayed 6 nights in the traditional room and one in another. Mattress in each was VERY firm, even more than the usual in China. Some may find them too firm.

4 Get the traditional room in front corner. Nicely decorated. Double bed. The other room looked fine, but lacked the charm of the traditional one. More importantly, there is nothing below the trad room. Below the other room was a lounge/bar area. Cigarette smoke from there was evident in the room when smoking was going on. Annoying.

Con: the shower in the trad room had electrical wiring distressingly close to the water stream. We called this the Thomas Merton Memorial Shower, after the noted American monk (The Seven Storey Mountain) reputedly electrocuted by a faulty fan in Bangkok.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saunterer1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Bit difficult to find but we gave the tel no to the taxi driver and Edith came to the square and walked us down the alley to the hotel .once you know where you are really convenient for the metro , taxis are really cheap too . Staff speak good English , really friendly, Alex booked our trains and flights to various destinations , good breakfast if you want it, lovely Chinese bedroom , bed a bit hard is the only fault but still good nights sleep as really quiet as at end of an alley . Liked it so much booked to stay at end of holiday too , also we arrived very early in morning and they cleaned our room very quickly so we could go to bed and asked other guests to be quiet in courtyard as we were sleeping , highly recommended .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin&yvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We loved our stay at the Apricot Courtyard! It is a bit hard to find at first, since it's tucked away from the hustle and bustle at the end of a traditional and authentic hutong-lane. This, actually, is already one of its great advantages - it's quite, relaxing, and with a very authentic touch. The Hutong (behind the Drum and Bell Towers) is very entertaining and a must if you want to dive into daily life of the very sympathic "Beijing-ers". Plenty of shops and streetfood just around the corner (a supermarket is in less than 5 minutes walking distance). Metro/Tube station is in about 10 minutes walking distance, as wel. It's a real Beijing-experience, we think. The property itself is beautiful - a traditional building that comes with a shady courtyard because of the huge apricot tree (it was harvesting time when we stayed there ;-)). There are 5 ensuite double rooms (immportant: airconditioned!), all decorated in different chinese styles. Rooms are not big, but certainly more than enough. Bathrooms are clean and spacious, with plenty of hot water. We stayed in the country-style room, and we loved it.
Last, but definitely not least, Alex, the owner, is very friendly and helpful, going out of his way to make you feel comfortable.

Room Tip: Alll rooms are more or less of same size, all have ensiute bathrooms and air-condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noparamosquietosBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#31 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,324 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Houhai
Courtyard 7
Courtyard 7
#19 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn

Property: Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn
Address: No.24 Caochang North Alley, Zhonglouwan Hutong, Gulou Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 1,324 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing