We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn
Ranked #20 of 1,410 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Nothing much for me to say on this as this deserves much more than whatever I compliment. The way things are organized really makes a difference here. A proper combination of perfection, sincerity, pleasure and co-ordination is what makes this place attractive to the guests. They would like to come back here again and enjoy this lavish style

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarafsuraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

I must admit even the beautiful location, char,Inge rooms, pleasant home atmosphere is never enough without friendly and personal relationship with the host.
During my stay manager Neo and lovely Kate made my experience richer for another friendship.
I really had all the help, advices and great time mostly thanx to their great hospitality, but also great education and background, so, I really believe they know to share advices according to personality, and that mean a lot to me... The feeling when your host understands you and your taste.

I warmly recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Totoro room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimilee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We initially booked the Chinese traditional style room for five nights. We were contacted by the booking website and told that the Chinese room was only available for four nights and we would have to be moved our last night. We decided that would be fine and kept our booking. When we arrived we were initially very excited about the Chinese bed, but soon discovered the hard truth. It was literally a wooden platform with a blanket on it. Not very fun after a hard day of touring. Needless to say we were very happy when we were moved to the Western-style room on our last night, which had a mattress.
Like much of China, there's a problem with the sewer fumes coming through the shower drain. In the Western-style room there was something to cover the drain, so it was not too much of a problem. Not so in the Chinese room. Realize also that the wall facing the courtyard is mostly glass. While there is a sufficient curtain to cover it, the soundproofing is low.
The traditional Chinese building style and hutong location were amazing. It was fun walking back every evening, and we felt relatively safe in the area, it is quite residential. It is also very close to the Nanluoguxiang hutong, which is fun to visit, especially at night, even if it is very touristy. There are two subway stations within walking distance although neither is very close.
We would definitely stay here again, although we would never choose the Chinese room, only a room with a mattress.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 746travelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The owner, Alex, was an excellent host. He made me feel right at home with his friendly demeanor and good taste in music. He was very accommodating. The hotel is right in the old center of Beijing which is incredibly convenient. I think there's nothing better than to sleep in the classic Hutong.

The only downside to my trip was the weather, but that's not the hotel's fault. All in all, I really recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I was asked to slightly edit my previous review as the hotel reopened after a couple months of being closed. We were in Beijing for a 5 day trip. We had two really great nights at the Apricot Courtyard hotel, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the quirky style combined with its traditional houtong aspects made it perfect for a first trip to Beijing.

However....During our stay the hotel was temporarily closed down because of some issues. We were re-directed to a hostel across the street and we were given our money back for the following days we paid, so at least they were nice enough to do that. But I must be honest and say to be careful incase our situation happens to you too, apparently something got resolved and the hotel reopened but have a back-up hotel in mind so your plans don't get interrupted the way ours was. We had to rush to the Great Wall last minute on our own because our tour (which was scheduled by the hotel staff) was canceled when the hotel temporarily closed. This was a tough situation for us. If it wasn't for this we would have had a perfect Beijing trip and this hotel would have a perfect score from us. On a positive note, the hotel is very centralized and walking distance to subway station... I do suggest you stay in the Hou Hai District.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It is sad to see, the reviews about it being closed as the Apricot is an amazing place to stay. You would sell yourself short if you visit it.

We have stayed there a few times before and all without an incident. But as the other reviews scared us, we contacted Alex first and asked him about the problems; he told us that due to new policies, he is now allowed to have foreigners again.

So we went for the New Year and again we loved our stay. The owner Alex is an amazing guy and goes out of his way to make your stay as welcoming as possible. Of all our visits this one was the best as the New Years party we had there was epic! (Alex, thank you for the use of your basement!). Alex is a music-lover, so there is always good music around!

The guesthouse consists of a courtyard surrounded by five bedrooms, a cute ini-mini dormroom, a kitchen (which you are welcome to use) and a basement with a bar and entertainment (like a TV, drumset, and all the movies you want).

As we can highly recommend this place and Alex, we would advice to try it out!

Room Tip: There are different rooms, with each their own kind of theme. In the end they are all just rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingYellowWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This little beautiful place has recently been shut down due to the loss of its licence to operate. We arrived two days ago after having booked in advance, but the owner had disappeared and we were relocated to another hotel. This was probably one of the nicest places in Beijing, but unfortunately at the moment it´s out of service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lærke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Lemeng Hotel
Lemeng Hotel
#461 of 6,556 in Beijing
9 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#126 of 6,556 in Beijing
132 reviews
Houhai
Citycourt Hotel
Citycourt Hotel
#55 of 1,410 in Beijing
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Houhai
Old Beijing Square Hotel
Old Beijing Square Hotel
#156 of 6,556 in Beijing
63 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn

Address: No.24 Caochang North Alley, Zhonglouwan Hutong, Gulou Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 1,410 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £53 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Beijing Apricot Courtyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing