We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Ranked #8 of 1,345 Beijing B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for three night and very pleased with it. We found the place on Airbnb which probably not the cheapest place on the site, but it's definitely one of the best.

The courtyard is located right in the centre of Beijing within the old Hutong area, walking distance to many attractions. I grow up in Hutong in China, the stay reminded all the fun I had in my childhood which was much enjoyed by sharing my childhood stories with my bf.

The courtyard is very traditional but with modern facilities, nice interior in the rooms. The staff are also very nice and helpful.

I'd recommend this place to people travelling to Beijing who want to know different aspects of China.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsayhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    38
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
27
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I had just completed the adoption of an 8 year old boy from China and we had to spend a week in Beijing for a visa. We made the Fly by Knight our base.

Our room was apparently one of the largest but was a little small for the three of us but that was acceptable because it encouraged us to get out of the room more. The common space is welcoming and they have self-serve soda, juice, beer, noodles and other things available.

The courtyard itself is great and they have a stairwell that lets you look out over the rooftops of the area buildings.

The location is pretty convenient - a fair walk to some attractions, just a ten minute walk to the subway, and decent food and beverages available within walking distance.

The staff were exceptional. They readily searched for places we needed to go, wrote directions for cab drivers, and helped make our new son feel welcome.

The place is a little tricky to find especially since many cab drivers will not drive down the narrow hutong streets. It would be good to be sure that you have their phone number handy as you arrive so they can help you navigate.

Accepting payment by Paypal was great for us, but be sure to have cash otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a lovely Chinese traditional house turned into a small inn. Nicely and tastefully remodeled and decorated. Near subway station.

The nearby neighborhood is not the cleanest hutong, but this inn is very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FactReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I was moving from a small city in china with my dog, back to the states and had to stay in Beijing for a few days. I searched for a pet friendly hotel, but all I found had pretty bad ratings, on a whim I searched pet friendly hostels and this was the only one that popped up with great ratings. My stay there was amazing with my sweet puppy, they were so friendly towards me and my dog. This is the best hostel I've stayed in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Breakfast was delicious, very good service and quite cozy and private atmosphere, stunning Chinese traditional architecture and beautiful decoration inside:)Nice view to the part of Wangfujing and Dongsi street from the courtyard roof(Thanks to Huang Shifu)...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilithgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have now stayed in this hostel twice. The first time was in Summer 2012 - there were two of us that time and we took a private room with shared bathroom. This time I was on my own and took a bed in the female dorm of 6. This hostel is especially great if you are travelling on your own as the way it is set up with the common room means that it is very easy to mix with other people. I was a bit worried that it would be cold in March but there were two heaters in the room which meant it was fine. The setting of the hostel around a courtyard in the hutong is beautiful and makes for a lovely atmosphere. I cannot speak highly enough of the staff - they are so friendly and willing to help. I believe they are in the process of setting up a new hostel in another city (not sure of the name but I think it might be Datong). If I return to China I would definately consider trying that out too just based on my experience in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I often have problem sleeping when I travel, and I am a very light sleeper at home, but when I stayed in fly by knight hostel I had the best sleeping experience! this guest house is located in the deep end of a beijing hutong and it's very quiet! the comfortable bed and clean sheets made it much easy for me to fall in sleep. great location in the middle of the town and it makes traveling so easy. when I stayed there are many other travelers from different countries and everyone is friendly. I don't normally do reviews but since fly by knight is one of my best experience and the staff have been really nice to me, I decided to write one and recommend everyone. if you are coming to China, come and stay here!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 102, and it's very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#92 of 6,473 in Beijing
419 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#80 of 6,473 in Beijing
253 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,350 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing

Property: Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Address: No. 6 Dengcao Hutong,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,345 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fly by Knight Courtyard is a beautifully renovated traditional Chinese courtyard house.It provides clean and comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and clean common areas.It is located in the heart of Beijing City, with easy access to public transportation such as the subway (Dong si station) and many major city bus routes. The courtyard is located in Hutong, in one of the most famous government preserved areas. The surrounding houses are all local Beijing residents.We understand how important it is to start your day with a good meal, therefore everyone gets a free set of western breakfast in the morning (bacon, sasuage, hash browns, eggs and toasts)Every staff member in the courtyard is fully trained in helping travellers and they speak both fluent English and Chinese.Fly by Knight Courtyard is a guesthouse founded by a traveler whose passion for martial arts brought him to China to broaden his experience. If you have come to China to study martial arts and need assistance, let us know and we will be more than happy to help. We also provide practice areas and equipment.Fly by Knight Courtyard respects all artists. If you are any type of artist; a martial artist, a painter, a singer, a performer, a poet, a writer,etc, let us know because we would love to exchange your talents for accomodations!This benefit applies to dorm users. Private room users may contact us for more informationFly by Knight Courtyard loves animals; so bring your pets; dogs, cats, polar bears (if you have the right license). just make sure you email us first so we can make preparations for your little guy (or big guy).Fly by Knight Courtyard Believes in traveling eco-friendly. Please bring your own personal hygiene products such as tooth brushes. We don't provide any one-time-use products. We do offer market priced products which, if purchased, please re-use them.Fly by Knight Courtyard provides low prices, but not at any price. We don't offer unfair trade products or food. we pay our taxes and we monitor our quality.Fly by Knight Courtyard offers very low priced international calls, but if you need to call your mommy, we will let you call for free. We know you must miss your mommy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing