We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, diverse menu, slow service.”
Review of Element Fresh

Element Fresh
Ranked #131 of 12,718 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jiuxianqiao
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, diverse menu, slow service.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Fresh & delicious dishes, and so many choice to choose from on the menu. The only complaint is the service of the waiting staff is a bit slow during busy hours, which is OK if you are in no rush. The outdoor eating area is comfortable with a nice view too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    66
    28
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fresh? Not Fresh!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Ordered a 3 egg omelette with potatoes (no onions please) and toast. Potatoes were cold, Omelette was hot.

What did they do? They heated the potatoes, re burned the toast and served it back. Potatoes were greasy and with onions.

How can this be called Fresh?!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExploreBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food Poisoning”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I had a pre flight meal at the new restaurant at the Kerry centre. Unfortunately, the experience was not very good. The service from the staff was clumsy and they seemed very inexperienced. Every order needed to be consulted with at least three other staff members. To top it all off, we both got food poisoning from eating food from that kitchen.

We had chosen the three course meal with wine to match each course, which was farcical. Red wine was served with our crab and white wine served with the lamb. There was no desert wine to serve with our desert. No one could explain to us what wine we were being served. The deserts were brought out as a starter, which should have been a signal to us that the staff haven't a clue how to serve properly. It's not their fault either, that they are poorly managed.

My husband and myself had the same starter and main and given that we had not eaten anywhere else that day and how quickly we got sick after eating that food, we are 100% certain that what we ate at that restaurant made us both very sick.

There are other branches of Element Fresh in Lido, Solana and Sanlitun, which are much better run. There are still silly things that happen in those places too, but I never got sick from eating the food from those other branches. Not a great way to start a 10 hour flight :(

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPCIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Modern, fresh international cuisine”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

It's difficult to find reasonably priced, fresh international cuisine in Beijing but Element Fresh fills that gaps perfectly. An excellent place for weekend brunches, there is also a fantastic selection of salads, sandwiches, pastas and desserts that make extensive use of fresh herbs, tangy sauces and fresh fruit. A little home from home and well worth checking out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Salads, Sandwiches and Juices”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Element Fresh has a very fitting name because its Western cuisine is some of the freshest that you will find from a chain restaurant in China. It serves up very fresh salads and sandwiches, and also does very good fresh squeezed juices. The only knock on Element Fresh is that it is a bit pricey for a chain (salads 58-128 RMB and sandwiches 48-108 RMB). You can find better prices in Beijing at smaller establishments serving sandwiches and salads. However, Element Fresh does do a really good job on providing a large selection and good quality.

The address listed on TA is for the Element Fresh location in Lido, but there are also many other locations in Beijing such as Sanlitun Village and Indigo Mall (take a look on Google for others). They also do carry out so it is convenient to order to the office for lunch or in evenings at home (most chains in China do carry out, so always ask for the carry out menu.)

I will continue to eat at Element Fresh on about a monthly or bi-monthly basis. I would go more often if the prices were a bit more aligned with what I would consider the market rate in Beijing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyingm0nkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Element Fresh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing