We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Phoenix Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Phoenix Beijing
Ranked #532 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Royal Phoenix, part of the Best Western chain, is a quality hotel tucked away in a hutong a short walk from two subway stops which can quickly get you to major attractions. We felt safe out at night despite the off-street location. The rooms and beds are nice and clean. The breakfast buffet was good and plentiful. One negative was that many of the staff could not converse or understand English despite the majority of the guests appearing to be westerners. That made it difficult to do simple transactions like currency exchange or posting postcards and letters. Everyone, however, was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    44
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
38
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Royal Phoenix Hotel is located down a narrow lane in one of the remaining hutongs, an original neighbourhood of mixed residence and business. The hutongs are fast disappearing as modern construction takes over. I selected this hotel for the location in the hutong, also central to the main attractions such as Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.When I booked it was part of the Best Western chain so I could gain points and also use Best Western gift certificates purchased with my points however I had discovered by chance on trip advisor just a few weeks before our trip, that travelers were reporting that the hotel was no longer part of the BW chain. Funnily enough, I still received an email reminder notification about my booking from BW just the week before our trip! The hotel is modern and has a very grand entry and lobby which seems a little incongruent for the location on the simple narrow hutong lane. I was prepared for what might be a bit of confusion on checkin based on recent trip advisor reviews. Reception staff were friendly and welcoming and spoke English, but, sure enough, did not have record of my reservation! I had written confirmation of the room booked, rate and breakfast inclusions which they copied and then proceeded with the booking. They did not have any king rooms available so put us in the same room category but with two large single beds. Each bed was almost double size so this was just fine for us. The modern, clean room included comfortable seating, a desk area, fridge, coffee and tea making supplies, safe, and four piece bathroom, cable internet; free wifi is only available in the lobby. A little strange that the bathroom tub/shower wall is a large window into the bedroom but there was a vertical blind which we closed. Buffet breakfast was included in our price and was served either in the large dining room or in the lobby. Choices included a mix of Asian and Western food...plenty of good food. We were happy with this choice of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank banditoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We booked our tour through Dragon Delights a first class company, who did all they could to give us the best time ever in China.
This hotel is found down a side street that to some may find a little intimidating but do not be afraid to get out there and explore, the side street is safe. if you leave the hotel and turn right walk to the end of the street turn left and walk up to the vast shopping centre. or leave the hotel turn left then right and meet the shopping centre from a difference avenue, the night food market is here too.
The hotel is comfortable, clean, with large walk in showers. colour TV and room service. English is limited but understandable. The breakfast whilst is adequate is pretty limited for the western palate. There was a wedding going on when we arrived, however I can confirm that even though the hotel was full there were no problems in obtaining anything we asked for
Would stay here again

Room Tip: Choose a high level room to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonSueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The bedrooms are very large, well fitted and comfortable, with big bathrooms and walk in showers. The location is a bit out of the centre but not too bad. There is a side street by the hotel - don't be afraid to go down this at night as it is quite safe. If you go out of the hotel and turn left, walk to the main road and turn left again then there is a fabulous restaurant where you cook your own food on a griddle in the middle of the table.

Breakfast was included in our booking and the choice was very good as well as quite good quality.

However, the food and drink in the lounge of the hotel is extremely expensive...just walk a short way and get some local atmosphere at a third f the price.

Room Tip: Get as high a room as you can or it can get noisy from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy63_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were placed in this hotel as part of a local tour package. We really only needed a clean place to sleep, but this hotel had very clean and well appointed rooms. The breakfast was very good. Staff English was adequate. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neu6pai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

So you go down a narrow smelly lane where there are piles of bricks, bikes and overflowing rubbish bins - the smell is disgusting, especially when it's hot- and then suddenly this luxury looking hotel just appears on the streets. Very strange place for a hotel as its seemingly in the middle of a local town so nothing for tourists! The rooma are lovely, luxury decor and fabulously soft and comfy bed linen..our bathroom smelled very damp, and the blind on window pane between the bathroom and bedroom (peep show!!) was ill fitting and mouldy in places. 1 English tv channel which was news. All staff quite bored looking and uninterested. The breakfast was to be desired-only cater for local Chinese would be nice to offer an omelette or some recognisable food items.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed here nights. The hotel itself is designed and presented as 4 stars, the property itself and décor probably is, however the level of service is poor. The staff are less than helpful if you asked them anything.

They do not appear to have a left luggage store, and to leave your luggage means you leave it beside reception near by the door. I felt this was not a secure and told them...response "we have a camera watching". It did not occur to them watching someone take something isn't much use!
Later whilst waiting for my pick up transfer...I was asked to leave the bar area because I wasn't ordering more to drink (even though I was the only person in there and I had eaten my lunch in there). I was told to go sit in reception, which is actually an extension of the bar area. Ridiculous.

I have had better treatment in 2 star and hostels than I had in this hotel. I would not stay here again,

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda_Spiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#71 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#90 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#62 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Phoenix Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Phoenix Beijing

Property: Royal Phoenix Beijing
Address: No.17 Qianliang Hutong, Dongsi North Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Royal Phoenix Beijing)
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Phoenix Beijing 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Royal Phoenix Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing