We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Courtyard
Ranked #159 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and that was long enough. My room was really dirty, black mold, clogged shower drain with previous occupants hair, dust thick enough to write your name in. Very small room, nowhere for suit cases. I had a drag on bag which spent the 2 nights on the bed as there was nowhere else to put it. It appeared as though they had over booked and my room belonged to a local resident that had been relocated just for my stay....! Female staff member was helpful and pleasant but male staff member was more interested in doing exercises with his fellow residents than serving! If you don't want to hear how much the residents/workers enjoy their evening meal then don't go into the common room during this time.... Also don't plan on having a lovely cooked breakfast before you head out on your days adventures as the "chef" may not feel like coming to work, as was the case! However in saying all of this, my son and daughter inlaw had a very nice room, very clean and well decorated. The one evening meal we did have was nicely cooked and tasty. All in all it was a Hutong experience....China style!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank entrada95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a wonderful group of young people running this hotel! -- they really made me feel at home.

At the last minute, I found myself alone in BJ so, rather than eating dinner alone in some strange restaurant, I returned each evening to eat in the lounge/dining room at the hotel and watched, with the staff, a soap opera on TV. The food was excellent and inexpensive and, as we watched the depressing soap together, I was often offered treats that some of the staff had bought -- it really did feel that I was part of the family!

The accommodation is simple but adequate and the room easy to heat (it was December) and there was plenty of hot water for a shower in the spacious bathroom.

The hotel is located in a hutong very near two Metro stations and about a 5-minute walk from an ATM. I found it to be an excellent base to visit BJ, but it was the fun group of young people running the hotel that really made my stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: I don't like rooms without windows, and the first room that I was shown had only a small window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rangergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I did not confirm my booking with them which i made through asiarooms.com, big mistake!
When we got to the place in the middle of the night, we were informed that they messed up my reservation and had no available room for us for that night.

They eventually contacted another inn nearby about CNY20 taxi ride which i paid for myself and we settled there until the next morning before returning to the classic courtyard.

What a way to start a holiday... beware or suffer the consequences

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeoulbigB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Location is OK a lot of backpackers near Lama temple the area itself kind of shady at night but very lively during the day. A lot of places to eat near hostel cheap but not very clean. The rooms are clean but no windows in the room

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I booked the classic courtyard for 5 nights, after the second I made a brief research in Expedia, because my need for a 5 stars hotel was really strong. I have reserved a room at the Merchantel Beijin with a 20% more on total price. I would suggest this hostel just for the position, next to the Lama Temple, but unfortunately the rest is really poor, the room is dirty and uncomfortable, the hutong as well is the reign of squalor.
Would say the at least that the guys working here are nice and caring.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomFelipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Yes, the sweet courtyard you see online exists but they took us back upstairs to a room in a back balcony with clothes on a line and a totally different feel than advertised. The staff is not hospitable - it just seemed like we were bugging them when we needed something. For $20 more you can find a much nicer courtyard hotel in this neighborhood. This is much more of a hostel than a hotel, if they had advertised it as such I would have been satisfied with my experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This place was quite hard to find and when we got there, it was quite hard to identify since the sign outside says "Candy Inn." I have mixed feelings about this place. For one, this place really annoyed be because not only did they charge my credit card directly even though they said they wouldn't (since i booked through Booking.com), the guy manager who is manning the front desk is also very rude and unwelcoming. A few things in the inn does compensate for that treatment: the rooms and bathroom were very clean and there is also this young woman who helps out at the front desk who is just an absolute angel. She will go out of her way to help you and will do so with a smile. She even helped us book tickets to get to Guangzhou from Beijing. I will forever be thankful to that girl. She is such a sweetheart and she didn't even expect anything in return. All in all, despite her sweetness, I doubt I will go back again. There are just a lot of better places to stay in Beijing and dealing with the manager was just not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatherineWoolbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#193 of 6,596 in Beijing
103 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#122 of 6,596 in Beijing
189 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,596 in Beijing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#185 of 6,596 in Beijing
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Courtyard

Address: 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £25 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Classic Courtyard 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic Courtyard Ideally located in Hutong area in Beijing's city centre, The Classic Courtyard is a 5-minutes walk from line 2 and line 5 Yonghegong Lama Temple subway station. It offers clean and comfortable accommodation with convenient access to nearby attractions. Airport Expressway is a 10-minute drive away.Housed in a traditional Chinese-style courtyard, The Classic Courtyard is a short 5-minute walk from the Goast Street, which is famous for the food and snacks. Popular attractions such as Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Nanluoguxiang Hutong are within walking distance of the hotel. The bustling Sanlitun and Houhai Bar Street are within a 10-minute drive of the hotel.The spacious rooms come equipped with modern facilities including air-conditioning, attached bathrooms and free Internet access.Guests can relax at the comfortable lounge and mix with others and watch films. A bar and restaurant serves Chinese and Western dishes as well as American breakfast.Feel at ease with the hotel’s English speaking staff when making ticket, transport and tour arrangements at the travel desk. Other facilities include laundry and bike rentals.Our rooms are comfortably furnished and all offer a degree of luxury and individual touches of flair you would expect for a relaxing stay.The food is as stunning as the setting. Our modern a la carte dinner menu, created by Executive Chef, features an eclectic fusion of Mediterranean and Chinese food. The wine list is as imaginative as it is extensive, whilst our lunchtime buffet never ceases to delight!From airport:If you take a taxi, it will cost you about 80RMB to The Classic Courtyard including the high-way toll.If you take a shuttle bus (16RMB PP) or airport express (25RMB PP): get off at the 'DongZhiMen' station which is near the hostel, then take a taxi (about 13RMB) or by subway (line 2) to the 'Yonghegong, Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C', turn left (maybe turn left two times, there are two ‘C’ exits altogether, it depends), walk along the street about 100m,still on your left, you will see Bei Xin Hutong , inside 50m, The Classic Courtyard is standing there.Or Order our Limousine service its cost 300CNY (Including highway toll and Airport parking cost)From Beijing railway station: Please take subway line No.2 (circle line) from 'Beijing railway' station to the 'Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C' turn left (to south) walk around 100m, passing the Lama Temeple, also on your left, the second Hutong is Bei Xin Hutong, The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing west railway station:Take a taxi; it costs you about 40RMB.Or take the bus Te2, get off at 'Yonghegong Qiao dong',turn left, walking along the red wall of the Lama Temple about 300meters, you will see the 'Beixin Hutong', The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing South Rail Way Station: Get on the subway line4 to Xuanwumen Station, exchange line2 and get off at Yonghegong station(also say Lama Temple,which is the transfer station line2 and line5), from exit 'C' to the ground,turn left. We are 50m south of the Lama Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Classic Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing