We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent first time in Beijing”

China Odyssey Tours
Ranked #14 of 467 Tours in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Odyssey Tours Beijing office, not only providing private Beijing tours, but also custom China tour packages for worldwide travelers. With over 20 years of experience in tour operation, we have the expertise to tailor-make personalized tours with the best value for money to meet our customers' needs. Visit the incredible ancient Forbidden City Home to China's Emperors.Be dazzled by Beijing's exciting and colorful Peking Opera.Beijing, the capital of China has so much to offer visitors. As one of China's four ancient capitals, Beijing is China's center for art and culture. Beijing is home to some of the most stunning architectural wonders in the world. The Imperial residences and parks such as the Forbidden City and Summer Palace never fail to awe visitors with their grandeur and Scale, military fortifications such as the Great Wall and City Gates humble visitors with their sheer scale, the walled hutongs which have been home to Beijing residents for centuries never fail to surprise visitors with what lies around the next corner. Beijing is an exciting and dynamic city. It is the perfect place to see China's incredible ancient past and exciting present.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had an amazing first-time visit to China, we booked a private 11-day tour with Odyssey and we were impressed. We were a bit nervous and didn't really know what to expect as this was our first holiday with a tour guide. Serena, our guide in Beijing was awesome, she made us feel at ease, she was so helpful and friendly. She was with us every step of the way but also gave us space so we could explore on our own. She was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much about Chinese history and culture from our time spent with her. She was very good at doing all that was set out in the itinerary, although we felt that on the day we went to visit the Great Wall and the Sacred Road, we could have had time to visit some of the Tombs and my husband tried to express that we were interested, although we didn't ask explicitly to go and Serena didn't offer it so we didn't. Instead, we were driven back to our hotel and we walked to Beihai park to enjoy the scenery there. I wish we have done some research into timings and suggested the tombs to be included on that day, or even to do the tombs instead of the Sacred Road. One thing that Serena excelled at (compared to all the other guides we had on the rest of the tour) is the number of times and angles she took pictures of us. We pretty much have as many holiday pictures of that 3 days as of the rest of the holiday. She was also very entertaining and shared a lot of personal stuff with us which make us feels like we became genuine friends. Wonderful stay.

Thank miriSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyOdysseyTours, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear miriSmith,

Thank you for choosing Odyssey as your tour operator. We're so happy that you had a great time in Beijing with our team, especially the local guide-Serena. And it's absolutely Odyssey's treasure that we have so many tour guides like Serena who has made a big number of happy clients like you! As our goal is to provide a Needed and satisfactory tour experience to our customers, your positive review was a huge encouragement to us.

Once again, thanks for your support and trust all the time.

Best regards,

Femando Shen

You are not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"travel consultant"
in 29 reviews
"private tour"
in 45 reviews
"eric kong"
in 7 reviews
"yangtze river cruise"
in 16 reviews
"forbidden city"
in 81 reviews
"internal flights"
in 10 reviews
"driver mr"
in 18 reviews
"the terra cotta warriors"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 39 reviews
"summer palace"
in 45 reviews
"tailor made"
in 6 reviews
"every step of the way"
in 7 reviews
"fantastic guide"
in 11 reviews
"golden mask"
in 6 reviews
"always on time"
in 13 reviews
"spoke good english"
in 9 reviews
"bullet train"
in 9 reviews
Filter

164 - 168 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We worked with Andy to design our tour. We had limited time and wanted to fit a day in Chengdu to volunteer with the Pandas and Andy made it all happen for us. Our guides in Beijing( Kurt Luo), Chengdu( Kevin Bai) and Shanghai( Ms. Elva) were especially helpful. The drivers supplied at all our stops were great. The hotels improved at each stop. This was a trip of a lifetime and we are very happy we went with China Odyssey.

Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyOdysseyTours, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Dear John W,

Thank you for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor ! We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed a great time with our team, especially the highlight activity at the volunteer with Pandas in Chengdu . At Odyssey Tours, we do everything possible to ensure that our customers' travel experiences are satisfactory.

We look forward to your next trip with us again to our other destinations!

Best regards,

Femando Shen

You are not alone with Odyssey!


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

My experience with China Odyssey Tours was amazing. Firstly thank you to our travel consultant Mr. Andy Xie for putting the itinerary together. It was great to receive an initial itinerary and then being able to adapt it to what we wanted. Your attention to every detail Andy was impeccable.
Odyssey Tours was discovered online by my husband and it was because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor that we made the decision that Odyssey was the right tour operator for us. We were not disappointed!
Serena for the Beijing part of our tour was the perfect guide for us. Serena's knowledge of Chinese history and culture was very impressive. We learnt so much on our tour. Serena has an amazing command of the English language and she was continually adding more words to her already extensive vocabulary.
The tone was set for Beijing with our initial greeting. As soon as we completed our bullet train ride from Xi'an to Beijing, Serena was waiting to greet us. Serena also went beyond what was expected of her and had great suggestions what to do in our spare time eg. recommended an excellent restaurant to eat Peking duck. We loved everywhere we went including the Great Wall, Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City, Rickshaw Hutong Tour, Temple of Heaven, the Bird Nest and Water Cube, Summer Palace and a Tea House. One of the highlights was also visiting The Dingling Tomb (one of the 13 Ming Tombs) and the Sacred Road. We also loved the Hutong Tour and it was very special to be welcomed into a local family's home. However it was the Great Wall (Mutianyu section) which totally exceeded all my expectations. Great to ride the cable car to this part of the wall.
Serena was also very good at helping us order our dishes for lunch. There is so much to choose from and we enjoyed every meal.
It was wonderful to be looked after so well by Serena and the driver. They made our time in Beijing very enjoyable.
Likewise we had a very similar experience in Xi'an with Cathy. Cathy had in-depth knowledge of all places we visited and we had excellent communication. I loved the
Terracotta Warriors and Ancient City Walls. The highlight in Xi'an was visiting a local family for lunch. Not only did we enjoy the delicious local food but we also had a lot of laughs. I loved learning how to make dumplings and noodles.
Thank you Odyssey Tours. Your wonderful tour guides helped make our visit to China a trip of a lifetime.

Mary Ann R

Thank MaryAnnR295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyOdysseyTours, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Mary Ann R,

Thank you for letting us know that you had enjoyed a wonderful time in China with our team, especially the local guide Serena and Cathy. At China Odyssey Tours, we realize that each journey is special for every client. So we would like to do everything possible to ensure your trip of discovery to China is one of your memorable tour experiences. We hope you have another chance to visit more Countries with Odyssey one day and we can make sure your stay is even more pleasant than the last!

Best regards,

Femando Shen

You are not alone with Odyssey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile


This was my 4th booking with Odynovo(formerly My Odyssey Tours)
What a great tour company? The booking was done through Christal Yao as always.
And this China trip included Beijing ,Xian, Chongqing, Yangtze River Cruise, and Shanghai.
We were picked up promptly on arrival in every cities. The hotels included in our package were top notch. We had different tour guide at each city. They spoke excellent English. We appreciate their knowledge and enthusiasm in sharing their history and culture.
Beijing- Lily
Xian - Nancy
Guilin/Yangshuo - Shirley
Chongqing - Amber
Shanghai -Avril

All the sites that we visited and the meals included as part of the tour were excellent.
We had a great time from start to finish and we would highly recommend Odynovo.

Thank Elisalily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyOdysseyTours, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Elisalily A,

Thank you for choosing Odynovo as your 4th private tour operator and thank you for your kind feedback! As our goal is to provide satisfactory travel experiences to our customers, your positive review is a huge recognition for us. Your satisfaction is our best reward.It would be our pleasure to accompany you to other fascinating destinations!

Best regards,

Femando

You are not alone with Odynovo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Based on some other reviews here we contacted both China Odyssey and China Tours. Both responded quickly but ultimately after a couple back and forth emails we chose to go with China Odyssey. Mostly because we had very definitive ideas of hotels, locations and requirements and Odyssey responded most accurately the earliest. We did happen to meet a couple who booked with China Tours and they were happy too, so I'm guessing you can't go wrong with either. Anyway, back to Odyssey, our agent Shelly was very good at responding to our questions, we built a list of what we wanted and she put it all together for us. She arranged guides, drivers, trains and planes to get us around and all were great. Shelly checked in on us a couple times throughout our trip to make sure things were good. The one time we had an issue we emailed her and she went above and beyond to get it right. We've done lots of complicated tours in various countries and China Odyssey did what we wanted at a fair price. Exactly what you want right?

Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MyOdysseyTours, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Dave D,

Thank you for choosing Odynovo as your tour operator and thank you for your kind feedback! As our goal is to provide satisfactory travel experiences to our customers, your positive review is a huge recognition for us. It would be our pleasure to accompany you to other fascinating destinations!

Best regards,

Femando

You are not alone with Odynovo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Odyssey Tours also viewed

 

Been to China Odyssey Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing