We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel next to Chongwenmen subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Ranked #69 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
UK
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent hotel next to Chongwenmen subway”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Prior to booking the Novotel Xin Qiao, I had asked on the forum about comparisons between the hotel and its sister hotel Novotel Peace. Chose Xin Qiao based on its proximity to the subway which has 2 lines running through the station.

We stayed 4 nights at the Novotel Xin Qiao. Room was fine. Wifi was ok. Concierge was helpful.

Did not eat breakfast at the hotel. Instead bought buns from bakery next door and/or local breakfast stuff like jian ping from stalls outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kawan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Beijing Xin Qiao. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    1,244
    588
    138
    81
See reviews for
497
704
312
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a very central hotel being on Lines 2 and 5 of the subway system and two stops from Tiananmen Square. For snacks, there is a good bakery next door on the corner and the rooms are big and comfortable. The café is cheap by western standards although you should go elsewhere for local prices and equal quality. The lobby is quite busy so be prepared to wait for check-out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Beijing Xin Qiao. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I don't usually write reviews and am usually skeptical about those I read. But had to comment on this hotel as it was such a pleasant experience. Stayed here first 5 days of August 2014. Immediately upgraded room to Premier level as they offered us initially a room "overlooking the restaurant" - at least that's what they claimed. Think this was a ploy to get us to upgrade; but we got a room on 11th floor, facing the back of the hotel. Quietest hotel room in Beijing! Couldn't hear a thing, really. Super king-sized bed with very nice linens and comfortable pillows. Cotton bathrobes and slippers as advertised. Air con is centralised so there is no in-room unit which keeps you awake by constantly turning on and off all night! We took the breakfast add-on and it was worth it. Full-English breakfast on offer, including baked beans (all Brits will know what this means), as well as different coffees (cappuccino, espresso, etc.) which you made yourself, fruit juices, pastries and Chinese offerings too. Eggs cooked several ways. Most hotel guests appeared to be indigenous but some foreign guests also. They obviously know how to cater to everyone and do it well. Sufficient English spoken by lobby staff and they were very helpful. If using the phone in the room to request services, press the Housekeeping button as the staff there speak more English than the other extensions. We took a day-tour booked through the tour desk in the lobby and it was a good day out. We got laundry done expertly and a huge discount was applied to that as several pieces of laundry are included in the room daily rate so would recommend you take advantage of that if you get a Premier-level room. Only problem was we could not get ice for the room. There is no ice machine. They provide ice only with a room-service order. The advertised "refrigerator and mini-bar" turns out to be one tiny mini-bar into which you can hardly fit more than two bottles of coca-cola. There is no separate fridge so don't expect to be able to store fruits and sandwiches. Underground train station was right outside hotel, as well as buses. Kiosk vendors one minute walk away where you can get bottled drinks. Small supermarket to the right outside the hotel where I got milk for my tea. Walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Old Beijing. Two train stops to Temple of Heaven and Pearl Market. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, including two large shopping malls. Cost of taxi to airport was Yuan 110 (about $17) and took about 30/40 minutes. Make sure you take a proper taxi anywhere: licence plate begins with a capital B. Would definitely stay here again on a future trip to Beijing.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a Premier-level room as they are really comfortable and spacious. We paid about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Beijing Xin Qiao. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel.
Sincerely,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

China Tours Booked this Hotel for my husband and me, with a separate room for our adult son. We had an English-speaking Chinese tour guide who picked us up from the airport and helped us check in after the long flight from Seattle and therefore had no check-in problems such as mentioned in a separate review. We had two spacious, well-appointed rooms for 3 nights. Both rooms were clean and quiet so we all got good, much needed rest before beginning to explore the City. We did try the nearby subway, which was clean and convenient.
We liked everything about the Hotel and its location, except the horrible instant coffee and except that one of our card keys did not work and we had some minor delays and difficulty getting the card key replaced. However, after staying at several other hotels over the next two weeks in other cities, we learned that it is best to order black tea, instead of black coffee, when in China.

Room Tip: We were on one of the higher floors, which may help with the quiet. I also do not mind A/C noise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Xinqiao. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel Beijing Xinqiao, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Our Front Office Manager has strengthened the regular training to Front Desk staff on work procedure and standard to ensure a professional and helpful service is provided to our guests.
We appreciate your valuable comments and it is our hope that you will give us an opportunity to be of excellent service to you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Two ladies travelling for business arrived late at 2 pm at the Airport. When we finally got a taxi that would use a meter, we got to the hotel at 3 am. The doors looked like they were closed and we panicked, but we had to use the swivel doors to get in. Everything was done swiftly for us and we were in our rooms within 10 minutes. The location is great for the Metro which we ended up using a lot because if a Taxi was called by the Hotel, they would use the meter, otherwise Taxi drivers were demanding whatever price. The Reception staff helped us every time we wanted to go somewhere, they suggested tourist sites, shopping areas, and methods of transport. We took a small room which was clean and comfortable and well serviced. Language is a problem with housekeeping, but otherwise, we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room with no window and this is the first time I ever had a room like this, but it was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildyblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Xinqiao. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the poor English skill of Housekeeping. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Novotel Beijing Xinqiao, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Regarding English skill, we have enhanced the English training frequency and scheduled other method to improve staff English skill to ensure a smooth communication with our guests.
We appreciate your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for several times during last two years. The facilities are running down and decor are getting older and older. It's probably due for a renovation. I have to give me that they have the best location which makes you so easy to access subway. Average Exp

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ja912son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christina w, General Manager at Novotel Xinqiao Beijing, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Novotel Beijing Xinqiao for your recent stay in Beijing. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation . Please allow me to express our sincerest apology to you.
I have shared your comments with our Engineering Director about the problems mentioned and instructed him to review the existed maintenance action plan to ensure it works and is well implemented. At the same time, our Engineering team is work on guestroom refurbishment work to ensure guest rooms meet the expectation of our guests
Thank you for your valuable comments and we do hope your will extend an opportunity to us to be of excellent service to you in the near future.
Regards,
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,137 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,389 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Xinqiao Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Xinqiao Beijing

Property: Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Address: No.1 Chongwenmen Xi Da Jie, Beijing 100005, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#38 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#62 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Xinqiao Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now offering FREE hi speed Wi-fi for all rooms, restaurants and lobby. Located in the heart of the city Novotel Beijing Xinqiao is a 4+ star hotel ideal for a business trip, holiday or short break in Beijing. Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the Temple of Heaven are just a short walk away and guests enjoy easy access to shopping, major businesses and government buildings. The subway station is directly in front of the hotel offering easy and inexpensive access to all parts of the city.The Novotel Beijing Xinqiao features three restaurants, a lobby bar, health centre, spa, sauna and outdoor tennis court. For business travellers, we offer the convenience of WiFi internet and conference facilities for up to 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Xinqiao Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing Hotel Beijing
Accor Xin Qiao Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing