We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the normal hotel experience - Watch for CNN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #1,870 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 21 November 2007

The location of this hotel is great, though Beijing is so large and has so much I guess no matter where you stayed you'd be close to everything you needed!
Guests are greeted at the door by friendly doormen and then you enter the foyer/car show room/travel agents./bank/cafe. I list all of these because it's difficult to discern at first where you actually are!
Once you get checked in the rooms are fine and the health spa on the top floor is great. The hotel is clean and the staff, whilst still showing signs fo the communist ear, do their best. I can imagine some visitors will find this frustrating, particularly those from the part of the world where fake hotel greetings and friendliness is common. But if you can accept you're not at home and have a little patience, you'll be fine.
Breakfast is served in the cafe in the foyer and is great. There is a good selection of Western and Asian foods.
Overall a nice hotel in a good location at a good price.

Just one thing, if in the cafe, keep an eye on CNN on the large TV. Every time China is mentioned (whether good or bad!), the TV automatically switches off :-). A subtle reminder that big brother is still watching!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2007

I stayed 5 nights (October 2007) at the Beijing Comfort Inn, locally known as the KAIFU. I found the hotel to be very precisely as described by our fellow traveller in her excellent review called "Location, location, location". However I did think the rooms were in need of redecoration (carpeting, walls, furniture...) All the little things were there (slippers, coffee making, hair dryer) but still, I didn't get the touch and feel of a luxury hotel.
I did like the large pool on the 14th floor (7 am - 10 pm). The buffet breakfast (7-9:30) was adequate, not great. They open the business center on request, even at night if you want to surf on the internet (1 RMB per min.) but you have a better deal at the local internet cafe (10 RMB for 2.5 hrs) - take a left on exit, go left under the hotel building into what looks like a parking lot but is really a hutong (side street), go straight until just after the second intersection (past the salsa disco), the internet cafe is on the right, you have to go upstairs.
For money exchange at the hotel, you get Bank of China rate, no commission.
My corporate rate was 700 RMB breakfast included, so I think I got reasonable value for money, considering the good location.

Stayed: October 2007
3  Thank Mike75011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2005

This hotel consists of 3 floors only in a 13 story office building, 96 rooms in total. You share the elevators with the office workers.

The lobby is car sales showroom and the small "cafe" tucked into the corner serves as the breakfast restaurant, seems strange that when you have 96 rooms the "cafe" only seats 30 persons.
But don't worry, even if you can get a seat, the breakfast is not worth going downstairs for. Very poor.

Rooms are large and clean, but the general appearance has the feeling that this hotel will slip very quickly into the 3 star catagory.
Carpet is stained and the furniture is chipped already, a generally drab appearance overall.
I,m trying to find some good points and the only two I can come up with is. 1. Free broadband access and 2. You can open the wiindows to get some fresh air.
Overall not a good choice, but for 92 USD for a "business room" this is acceptable in Beijing.
Investigate all your options in this price range before you book this Comfort Inn, if you do book it, do not expect 4 star service, it is 3 star at best.

8  Thank allanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2004

At the hotel’s entrance you are greeted by uniformed door attendants. Their outfits are similar to those you encounter at top rated properties in North America and Europe. You are wowed from the start. Is this the Paris Ritz? Then you enter the Hotel Lobby, and you ask yourself - Am I in the hotel? or Did I take a wrong turn into a car dealership? The answer is both. A major Korean car manufacturer has taken over a large part of the lobby, and converted it into their showroom. If you look carefully you will notice that the car dealership’s office sits in a location of the lobby that the building’s architect probably intended to serve as a Piano Bar. It is a real pity that they have given this area to a car dealership. Take out the two display cars, and place two sitting areas with comfortable sofas and couches instead, then turn the dealership office into a piano bar area, and they would have an impressive hotel lobby.

Nevertheless, the dealership does not take away from the hotel’s nice features. These features are what make the Comfort Suites a good choice to stay in Beijing.

Beautifully shined marmol flooring covers the ground floor lobby throughout. Check in was relatively efficient (although we had to clarify some of the prearrangements of our reservation). The registration staff was friendly and their English skills although not perfect worked (hey more than I can say for my mandarin!). Since I had requested a nonsmoking room and none were available when I checked in, they upgraded me to a suite. I feared that the upgrade would be temporary but was pleasantly surprised when I was told it would be my room for the duration of my stay (nice touch since I was staying for nine nights!).

The room was excellent. In par to what you find at five star properties in North America and European hotels. As you enter the suite you encounter a living room area where you have a couch, two chairs and decent sized TV. A doorway separates the living room and the bedroom. Once in the bedroom I found two very comfortable full sized beds with nice comforters (much better than the cheap covers found in US hotels). The bedroom has another nice sized television that counted CNN, HBO Asia, Cinemax Asia, and MTV among in their English lineup. There was a full line up of Chinese channels as well, but I had little use for them with the exception of ESPN in Chinese (I watch a soccer match in the mute mode). My only regret in the TV lineup was the lack of CNBC or Bloomberg which in my book is a must for a hotel that wants my business. In addition to the two beds the room had a nice sized desk with a comfortable office chair. On the desk you can set up your notebook PC and hook up to free broadband internet connection. (great to stay in touch with family and the office). There was a nice comfortable Lay-Z-Boy type chair, and a mini bar fully stocked with beer, sodas and juices at reasonable prices.

The bathroom was as good. Amenities included hard soap, soft soap, conditioner/shampoo, shaving kit, tooth brushes, etc. The shower pressure was good and it had ample hot water. Inside the shower/bath area there was one of those retractable ropes were you can hang wet items (I like this very much as a hand wash my workout shirt and shorts after work outs during trips). But why do hotels place the rope at the outer edge of the bath? If they would install the rope closer to the inner wall, the water from the wet clothes would drain in the tub and keep the bathroom floor dry! Oh well. I am sure one day they will get it.

The room rate included one breakfast. It was served at the Lobby Café from 7am to 9am (One thing that I would suggest is for the Hotel to extend Breakfast until 11:00am on Saturday and Sundays). Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruits, juices, hot items, breads and eggs made to order. Definitely superior to the very bad breakfasts I have had at Comfort Hotels in North America.

One of the biggest problems that one encounters when traveling to Asia from North America is the dreadful Jetlag. Jetlag means that you will be fully awake at midnight fully awake at 4:00am, and dead tired at 3:00pm. To help you deal with the Jetlag the Hotel has an agreement with the Kaifu Health Club which is located in the 13 and 14 floors. At the Kaifu you can take advantage of Full Body Massage, Foot Massages. On the 14th Floor the Kaifu Club offers a very nice gym stocked with the latest in exercise equipment (Precor steppers, recumbent bicycles, treadmills, two Stairmasters, Cybex weight equipment, and free weights). On the various days that I worked out (always at 6:30am Jet Lag ahhh!), I was the only guest in sight. There were a number of large flat screens TVs to entertain you while you work out (They would improve the place if the offer a few English channels for the foreign hotel guests). The best part of the gym was the covered roof top pool. Although the pool was a bit chilly, I have seen fewer pools that are as clear and clean as this one. The Kaifu Club is not part of the Hotel but they offer a discounted rate of approximately 40RMB (aprox. US$ 5). Included in this price is use of the gym. Locker room and sauna. The hotel has elevators at both ends. One goes to 14th floor the other takes you only to 13th floor. To reach the gym you will need to take the elevator to the 14th floor. On the 13th floor you will find the Spa treatments (massages, etc).

Now to the best part the Comfort Suites Hotel location, location, location. As you step out of the hotel’s front door and take a right you have the Pacific Shopping Center. In addition to the fancy department store it holds you find a Starbucks, and a Schotzky’s Deli (Believe me after five days of local Chinese food nothing beat a comfort meal like you get back home). As to nightlife you are in the middle of it. Sanlitum or Bar Street is just steps away slightly left and across the street from hotel. But skip this section across the street and head instead towards the left (on same side of the hotel) to find the cool places. Don’t be afraid to venture on the side streets. Beijing is a very safe city. A good bar alternative is a bar called The Den. If you walk five minutes after taking a left exit from the hotel you will find The Den - a nice place that cater to locals and foreigner a like. At Happy hours they had ½ price drinks US$ 1.50 for a huge pint of draft beer, and ½ price pizzas. And the staff speaks excellent English. On Thursday and weekend nights climb the stair to find one of Beijing happening discos.

Shopping can be an interesting endeavor. Take a left as you exit the Hotel walk until you see the pedestrian overpass, cross the street and head into the building on the other size. The building host Silk Market, a five floor shopping extravaganza where you can buy branded items for cents on the dollar. Remember negotiate hard. If they offer it at 400 then offer 80. You will likely walk away with it at your price.

I happily recommend the Beijing Comfort Suites.

25  Thank Goilo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Battarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pcadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kokor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Zhaolong Hotel
Zhaolong Hotel
#182 of 6,568 in Beijing
344 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ritan International Hotel
Ritan International Hotel
#167 of 6,568 in Beijing
204 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
A-hotel Workers Stadium Beijing
A-hotel Workers Stadium Beijing
#3,292 of 6,568 in Beijing
121 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Opposite House
The Opposite House
#2 of 6,568 in Beijing
994 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: No.6 Gongti North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,870 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £63 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Beijing
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Beijing
Beijing Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing