We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Concierge in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Beijing Peace
Ranked #63 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Concierge in the world”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Although the hotel has an excellent location, rooms could be a bit better. We stayed in the old building so rooms were very old. Over all it wasn't a bad experience, but do not expect a good service. The concierge was completely useless, he not only didn't know anything but he was not happy to do his job.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    1,091
    423
    137
    54
See reviews for
531
733
201
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 for 18 nights. We booked two rooms directly on the Novotel website and requested the manager for two connecting rooms and a pickup from the airport. We were received by the Novotel representative at the Arrivals and escorted to the hotel in their Van for which they charged a reasonable price. We were given the rooms what we had asked for. The breakfast and the room service are excellent and reasonably priced. We were able to connect the free internet easily and its speed was good. The hotel has an excellent location and the nearby Wangfuging street has plenty of fast food and local restuarants. There are shops and supermarkets within 5 minutes of walk. The Union Hospital is about 300 metres away, which has emergency services and a clinic with English speaking staff. Two tube stations are within walking distance (one is just around the corner of the block). The Novotel provided excellent city maps with English and Chinese labels. The Novotel cards with names of key places in chinese are excellent to communicate with taxi drivers. The hotel has a good service to book trips to places of interest and shows. The rooms are well heated even when outside temperature was -10 Celcius. The cleaning and room service staff are good. This is an excellent hotel for visiting families, especially the first time visitors.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raza_Yasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 December 2010

The rooms are not too big but just good enough for leisure traveller. There is no direct elevator going to your assigned floor. The location is perfect for shopaholics. However, the room cleaner assigned to our room is not so good that he/she failed to pick-up the used towels, this might just be minor, but I am very particular on cleanliness especially for an Accor Hotel like Novotel. Food selection for breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We have heard good reviews about this hotel in Beijing and decided to check it out for ourselves when we embarked on our short getaway to China's capital; and we were not disappointed.

I know it looks as if we are a bit too generious with the rating, but we have stayed in many hotels in China, and we know when a hotel is genuinely good. "Firm" beds are a norm in China's hotels (good for the back though), but as long as the room & toilet is clean, free of odour, air conditioner or heater functioning properly, cable/tv channels with English programmes, we have no complaints.

Centrally located and really within walking distance of the Wangfujing shopping district (something like our Orchard Road), Novotel Peace is like a comfortable inn in Beijing for the weary traveller after he/she has taken in all the sights and sounds of this cultural city. It is not the best hotel in China, but it is good enought for us.

On a personal note, transportation can be tricky with the MRT as the most affordable mode of transportation. Not that it is difficult to catch a cab, but we would advise people to do some homework first before doing free-and-easy in Beijing.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We booked this hotel for 5d4n stay. Upon check-in, we were given an upgrade to a superior room free of charge since we arrived around past midnight. The room was very clean and classy, fresh linen, the window was overlooking the peninsula hotel. The heater was working fine. The bathroom was large and clean. Free internet with cable hook-up to my laptop. It is close to the Wangfujing shopping street, 1 block away. It is about 30min walk to the Fobidden City but we didn't walk because it was bitter cold and windy.
Breakfast buffet-style was included each day. Good choices with asian and american dishes. the executive chef was present each day to greet the guests. This morning, they served fried noodles instead of fried rice. The chef was there and I asked if they were still serving any fried rice. He was so nice and accomodating that he cooked a plate of fried rice with chicken and shrimp and brought it to our table, for free! Great service! Front desk allowed us to check out late and we left our luggage with the concierge the entire afternoon for last minute shopping at Wangfujing. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayct13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,541 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#69 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#60 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Property: Novotel Beijing Peace
Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#51 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#55 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#66 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing