We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Good RoomTremendous Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Ranked #86 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Place Good RoomTremendous Breakfast”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Had a top level 10 room and I was well looked after. My room was close to being excellent. Breakfast at the level 5 Garden Restaurant couldn't be bettered. Only less than three minute walk to line 2 subway. Only is negative is the level 2 private club with steady stream of unfriendly and smoking undesirables walking across otherwise okay welcoming hotel foyer.

Room Tip: Best to enter foyer of Hotel through Henderson Building. Also down escalator is the Henderson Yansha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    302
    138
    40
    30
See reviews for
120
135
83
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Location of the hotel has to be major upside.
You have a McDonalds almost every corner but better yet is the subway station under hotel. The hotel is also part of a medium size shopping centre, a little more expensive than silk market.

Service at the hotel was fair although we did find staff reserved. English is not their strong point and this seems to make them shy away from engaging. Language was a challenge but you can easily manage.

Breakfast was fair and had a balance between Asian and Western style.
We also had dinner one night, a buffet service which was great value at their Atrium restaurant.

Beware of the goodies in the bathroom, it's NOT FREE.

The highlight for us was climbing the Great Wall and access to this from the hotel was an easy drive as well as other sites.
The downside to the location is the railway station as the clock sounds every hour, make sure u get a room on the opposite side.

Overall the Hotel is a definite upper 4 star and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Reception staff were ok but need to improve on their English communication. The foreign staff was helpful to show us the nearest hotpot restaurant. We were lucky to get a room not facing the Beijing Station. However one night, I could hear a very loud Chinese man somewhere on my floor but I was trying to sleep after a long day flight. The housekeeping could improve as they were not consistent in replacing the towels and free drinking water for the room; trash not emptied after tidying room. Heating in winter was sufficient...toasty at times. There was a good range of food for the buffet breakfast served.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayImm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Can't actually really comment on the price, since the hotel was booked through a travel agent - did not receive details of the hotel price. But think it was probably reasonable by European standards, but relatively expensive by Chinese standards. The entrance lobby is very fancy, modern and flashy, but the rooms are acceptable but nothing fancy. Our room looked out onto the hotel roof - which also seemed to be a partial construction site. Great view of the ventilation shaft conduits, etc. Lovely....!

For a hotel of this standard - and especially one which clearly has a great many foreign guests, the command of English by the hotel staff was absolutely pathetic. At check-in, none of the unsmiling, unfriendly staff could manage much more than bark out a few key words like "PASSPORT", "CREDIT CARD" - never accompanied by a "please" or "thank you". Check-in was VERY LONG despite over rooms having been pre-booked and also having our Chinese Guide present with us for Check-in. We dined both nights of our stay in Beijing in the hotel restaurant - mainly for convenience, but also because (in all fairness) hygiene standards seemed to be acceptable. Despite the fact that many of the diners were clearly Westerners, there only appeared to be one waitress (a very young lady) who could speak a smattering of English. It was she who was called upon every time we needed something explained - although it actually did not help very much since she had insufficient vocabulary and her grammar was nonexistent..

As seems to be common in China, the staff at the Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel, Beijing, generally regard Westerners with suspicion and assume that by default we are all dishonest. Upon check-in one has to pay a 500 RMB deposit (in our similar standard accommodation in Shanghai it was only a 300 RMB deposit). Okay, so I can accept that - it is common practice to demand a credit card guarantee when checking into European hotels. Although we did find the amount to be a bit steep, given that our room had been pre-paid in full.

First dinner in the hotel restaurant, tried to charge the meal (which only came to about 160 RMB - far less than our room deposit) to the room - this too is common practice in Europe. The waitress accepted that we charge the meal to the room, we signed and left. Waiting for the elevator outside the restaurant entrance when the waitress (the one with the smattering of English) comes running after us, calling out loudly and gesturing wildly (thereby attracting the attention of the entire restaurant clientele), there was a problem, we must come back. Don't particularly enjoy being treated as a criminal in front of a restaurant full of diners...! Once back at the cashier's desk, we get informed that the front desk has refused to accept that we charge the meal to the room. Impossible to get anyone to understand that we have given a 500 RMB deposit which is more than sufficient to cover the cost of the meal since we have already paid for the room. No, not acceptable, we must pay for the meal immediately. Heartily sick of this, we give up and pay for the meal using a credit card. Very angry and concerned, we head down to Reception for an explanation. Further delay while they find someone else with a smattering of English. The upshot is that someone made a mistake, yes of course our room has been prepaid, no problem - we should have been able to charge the meal to the room. At least we THINK that is what they were trying to say. The following evening, did not even try to charge a meal to the room, but used a credit card straight away. This works, credit card accepted, I enter my PIN code and then also sign the receipt. Everything okay so far. Then we see the waitress (the same, "English-speaking" one) swipe my card through a credit card reader - we immediately query this, knowing that we have just done the PIN code thing. Great confusion, at first no-one understands anything. At last it dawns on someone that I am querying whether my card has not been charged twice for the meal. Turns out - we THINK - they have to check that you have paid for your meal with the SAME card that you used for your room deposit! Why....? Give up....!

Check-out procedures even less friendly than check-in procedures. We get ordered to sit and asked whether we used the minibar (okay - reasonable enough question - the answer was "no"). Are ordered to wait. She picks up a phone and makes a call. Although neither of us speaks any Mandarin, it is apparent that she is instructing someone to go to our room to check that we had indeed not used the minibar, had not stolen the towels, etc. Several very long minutes later - during which time the staff ignore us completely - the lady's phone rings, and she then informs us "its okay, you can go". It is really agreable to be treated like potential thieves....

One plus - breakfast is served in a large open space that they call the "Atrium" - very nice setting. Very large breakfast choice catering for both Western and Oriental tastes. Likewise, there was a large choice on the menu in the hotel restaurant and the portions were generous.

This hotel is I think supposedly a four star hotel - would hate to know how cheaper hotels treat their foreign guests....! I definitely do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel. But if you are forced to stay there, ask for a room with a real view - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Front desk and restaurant staff were slow and unfriendly, quite poor compared to service at other hotels in Beijing. The hotel is opposite Beijing railway station, so it gets very noisy, I was woken up at 4am by car horns and people shouting. While they can t do much about outside, the windows could bebrtter insulated. Rooms are nice though, would only stay there again for a room rate less than 500a night and requiring easy access to Beijing railway station.

Room Tip: Close to Beijing railway and downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jianzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in October and in two different rooms. The first room was on the floor above the breakfast room and our only window looked out at the people eating. A very strange view however the glass had been mostly frosted to prevent the people eating from having a view of you. The second room was somewhat better with a view over the rooftops to the street but it was not anything special although I should point out that both rooms were very comfortable clean and well maintained.
A wedding was held in the breakfast room one afternoon when we trying to catch up on some sleep however the noise from it made that impossable.
Breakfast was very good with a great variety of tasty food on offer and there was a large shopping centre within the hotel complex which also contained numerous restaurants and souvenir shops.
The general appearance of the hotel was good and was clean.
The location was perfect for us as we were taking the Trans-Siberian train which leaves from Beijing Railway Station just across the street.

This is not our first trip to non-English speaking countries, but we found this hotel didn’t seem particularly interested in catering to tourists. There are no tourist pamphlets in the foyer area like most hotels have other than information on how to get to the Forbidden City. There must be something else to look at in this huge city. The front desk had very little understanding of English which also surprised us being an International Hotel. This made very simple requests a stressful time and we tried to avoid it as much as possible. In fact most of Beijing seemed to be like this and we got the impression that the majority of the people had never seen westerners before. Fortunately we had a tour guide organised and she helped us enormously when it came to sightseeing.
We would stay here again if we needed access to the train station however other than that we would look elsewhere.
STEVE and BARB,
AUSTRALIA.

Room Tip: The higher the better. Ask for a room that faces the street and not into the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveokAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

front of Hotel was hopeless for getting taxis etc,people just standing around smoking and acting dumb, staff inside were as bad, did not speak English (or just chose not to)always a hassle to change currency,better to go to the bank behind Starbucks,i would have slept better if i had layed on the floor and used a brick for a pillow, will never return, spoilt the whole Beijing exsperience

Room Tip: i would not advise any one to pick a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pops46Kiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#100 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#82 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#60 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing

Property: Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Address: 18A Jianguomennei Avenue, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#76 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing is located on the East Chang An Street, in the heart of the golden area of the capital city, surrounded by Beijing Central Business District, tourist attractions and the Embassy area. It is right opposite to the Beijing Railway Station, just minutes away from the Wangfujing street, the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, and is only 28km from the international airport. The hotels banquet and conference facilities provide functional solutions to meeting and event planners. The 466 square meters Ballroom and 3 multi-purpose conference rooms can accommodate cozy gatherings and groups of more than 200 persons. The 10-storey hotel boasts with 306 modern furnished guest rooms and suites, all hotel areas covered by Wi-Fi. Each room features modern facility includes high speed internet access, central air-conditioning, cable TV, mini-bar, IDD telephone, in-room safe and hair-dryer which befit a superior business-class hotel in Beijing. The Howard Johnson Executive Floor and Lounge caters to the needs of most discerning business travelers for your comfortable accommodation. For your dining, food and beverage choices abound. Wine and Dine with comfort whilst enjoying an all-day dining by our culinary experts in Rainbow Garden Chinese Restaurant and Sunshine Atrium Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Beijing
Howard Johnson Beijing
Beijing Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing