We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Location ,and price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Ranked #81 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Location ,and price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

It was second time of mine to stay here. The place is so close to the train station is big avantage.But if you have lot of work in CBD then may be its not best suited.The rooms are clean and cost is reasonable. Im not so fussy about breakfast so it does not bother much to be for breakfast.
The place is so close to the metro station and major landmarks such as tianmen square.
I can hop up to the railway station from here.

no negative experience so everything is fine for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mathursubodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    289
    134
    37
    28
See reviews for
117
127
78
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
222 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Booked through terrific BEIJING HOLIDAY, you can't beat the location .. ..

Almost across the street from the BEIJING RAIL STATION and on top of a large underground mall, the room are standard and it was a bit tight for three people when you put a rollaway in there .. ..

Their BREAKFAST BUFFET was the best of the entire trip, and you won't be sorry about staying here just for that!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel in Beijing has. Geographically handy location;across the road from Beijing Railway station and close to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. As a hotel it is clean with fairly spacious rooms with great beds. The highlight were the buffet breakfasts and the great coffee. We enjoyed our stay here. Our only disappointment was on checkout we were stung for drinking The bottle of Evian water which we didn't touch. In fact we were so insensed at this false accusation, we took the attendants up to the room to show them the bottle of water we apparently drunk. This was an unfortunate stay on an otherwise good stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking rooms. Be aware that rooms on the fifth floor have added security doors so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTsolaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Excellent Hotel. Very good Value for money. The deluxe rooms are very roomy and the rooms were very clean. There was no smoky smell in the hotel rooms. There is a supermarket in the shopping complex below the hotel. The Metro station is also very very close. Very convenient for seeing the sights in Beijing.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
We didn't have the breakfast but you can get food at the supermarket or try out dumplings and noodles sold by vendors in the nearby alleys in the morning. Of if you want there is Starbucks and Subway across the road

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room which is larger than the standard and it was very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Where else will you get a hotel staff who would tell you after you complain about the non-working airconditioning to open the window !!!! And mind you they did not offer to replace the room.

It took them an hour to check us in. They insisted on one of our Chinese carrying passport tour group mate to write his China address. After he explained that he is an overseas Chinese citizen living in another country, the hotel check-in staff still insisted on a Chinese address! It was explained further in mandarin that he didnt have 1 as he doesnt live in China. The staff still couldnt understand and RUDELY insisted that he write a China adress.

For a hotel with a foreign sounding name, the staff looks like the are not used to giving proper service. Even the breakfast hotel staff looks frowningly at the guest. Whenever one asks a question you get a feeling that they do not want to be bothered.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinita-Manilena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Gent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located. My room was clean, but was lacking daylight. It was located at the inside corner, so direct sunlight was blocked by the construction of the building plus the windows were blinded with foils and the door to the terrace was locked. The room was only good for sleeping, during day it gave the impression of a prison...

Room Tip: ask for a room at the outside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebas380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,270 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 686 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked this hotel through Hotwire without knowing the name until it was guaranteed. I was surprised when a Howard Johnson's came up. I honestly didn't even knew Howard Johnson's Hotels still were in business. I remember them as roadside hotels growing up and haven't seen one since.
I arrived the hotel late (midnight) and found it odd that there was a bellman on duty, but he was sitting in a chair playing with his cell phone, never offered any help with the bags or to even look up at a new guest walking in the door. There were two ladies working the front desk, my check in took an exceptionally long time - almost a half hour, although I was the only guest in the lobby. I have no idea why it took so long, she kept taking documents and going into the rear office and coming out. She assured me there was no problem, but check in was painfully slow.
The halls on my floor were covered in white sheets. Why? I have no idea.
The hotel location is good, it's across from the Beijing rail station. It's also attached to a mall. Although about 50% of the shops are closed in the mall and most shops are low end, junk there is an interesting local supermarket in the mall that was interesting to walk through and explore.
My room was average size, I had a view of a tennis court. The colors were a drab beige. The room was functional, but no "wow" factor - very basic. I thought it was odd that there was a big condom display of condoms for sale in the bathroom (tacky!). Also I had a non smoking room and there were ashtrays and matches in the room. When later I asked the front desk why there were ashtrays in a nonsmoking room, I was told "In case someone wants to smoke"!
I stayed here 7 days and every day when I returned to the room my bathroom had a strong smell of chemicals. During my time in Beijing I had headaches and even a bloody nose. One day I stayed in room to take a nap and a crew of hotel employees entered my room - no knock. They were in hazmat suits and were spraying a chemical down a drain in my bathroom. This is the smell I was smelling and I am sure this is what was making ill.
The front desk staff was awful. They were rude, unfriendly and only spoke English when they wanted to speak it. When you needed help suddenly they were not understanding what you were saying.
The Wifi in my room seldom worked. It was down at least 90% of the time that I was there. There is a business center in the hotel, but it's not free. The staff in the business center was very unhelpful. The center is always empty and they pretty much jump on you when you arrive making sure you know the use of computers is NOT free. When I was there one of the staff members walked over to where I was working and starting going my papers, files and work - it was very strange.
Another situation was that we had snow and ice for several days of my stay. The front steps are marble and covered in ice. You had to hold tight to the railing to walk down without falling. It was dangerous and I can't understand why they didn't work at removing ice on their front steps.
Each morning I had wait in the lobby for a driver to show up. There is no public seating in the lobby, no place to sit, except the open cocktail lounge that has plenty of comfortable chairs and couches. In the morning (7:00am) it's empty, but the cocktail waitress on duty shoos hotel guests out of the area who want to sit and wait. I watched every morning as she did this ritual, at 7:00am she never had a cocktail customer, but her only job was to shoo hotel guests off the chairs and couches who wished to wait here - seated.
The concierge refused to help me call my car service one morning when I needed a Chinese speaker for instructions. He said because he did not book the car service he was not allowed to talk to them. I also found the hotel staff very unhelpful in simple request like getting a cab for me.
The staff was lousy. They were unfriendly and unhelpful.
One of the highlights of the hotel was the breakfast. It is served in the Atrium and is buffet, half Western and half Chinese - it was pretty good.
The craziest event of my stay came at check out. I went down and signed out. Then the woman kept asking me something I Chinese. It was so early in the morning that we were the only one in the lobby, so I could not find someone to translate. Finally my car service showed up and I started to leave, assuming that I was all checked out. Suddenly a security guard showed up. It seemed that I did not turn in that little plastic, disposal door key that hotels make for you. At check out I usually just leave them in the room, which I did at this hotel. It seems this is a big no no in China or at least at this hotel. They made a big deal over it and walked me up to the room to retrieve the plastic throw away key and return it to the desk before I left the hotel.
I would not stay here again and found that in China the better the hotel you can afford the better the service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#67 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#94 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#63 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
#93 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing

Property: Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Address: 18A Jianguomennei Avenue, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#72 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing is located on the East Chang An Street, in the heart of the golden area of the capital city, surrounded by Beijing Central Business District, tourist attractions and the Embassy area. It is right opposite to the Beijing Railway Station, just minutes away from the Wangfujing street, the Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, and is only 28km from the international airport. The hotels banquet and conference facilities provide functional solutions to meeting and event planners. The 466 square meters Ballroom and 3 multi-purpose conference rooms can accommodate cozy gatherings and groups of more than 200 persons. The 10-storey hotel boasts with 306 modern furnished guest rooms and suites, all hotel areas covered by Wi-Fi. Each room features modern facility includes high speed internet access, central air-conditioning, cable TV, mini-bar, IDD telephone, in-room safe and hair-dryer which befit a superior business-class hotel in Beijing. The Howard Johnson Executive Floor and Lounge caters to the needs of most discerning business travelers for your comfortable accommodation. For your dining, food and beverage choices abound. Wine and Dine with comfort whilst enjoying an all-day dining by our culinary experts in Rainbow Garden Chinese Restaurant and Sunshine Atrium Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Beijing
Howard Johnson Beijing
Beijing Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing