We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #72 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it again. Location is great (easy from airport with taxi) and metro is just on the spot (if you use, I did not).
Been here now three times and I have to say, that soon it is time to renovate the rooms. Not bad now, but getting there for a 5* hotel.... Lobby, breakfast restaurant etc are in excellent condition anyway.
Internet is totally unworking, at least in the rooms. It costs, but breaks all the time. Can loose the connection fopr 5 mins and then back again.
Free internet in the lobby bar, but did not check this time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinMicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    615
    243
    87
    30
See reviews for
111
198
147
540
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week on our first visit to Beijing. We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is ideally located literally right outside the metro stop Dongsi Shitao.......10 steps walk which is ideal for using the metro to get around the whole city. This hotel is excellent value for money without doubt.

The rooms were of a good size, very clean and had a good range of facilities and everything you could need. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as this was expensive as was the coffee shop however the dim sum lunch was reasonable and very nice.

We used the gym facilities which were excellent for a hotel. The service all round was very good despite the occasional language barrier but everyone was extremely friendly and keen to help us with any advice.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and would recommend to anyone staying in Beijing. A fantastic hotel all round.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here- at around the same time of year. Although the price is reasonable the 'extras' mount up quickly. But that is not the problem. as before the little things rankle- the automatic tips on the bill, the expensive in room internet.
The good things - the staff, very friendly, especially the bar/tea room staff.
the average things- the swiss cafe- the buffet is just so-so.By the way , for an "environmentally" inclined hotel why do you use New zealand butter and Lethbridge Alberta Canada margarine ( I am from Alberta so I know how much fossil fuels were used shipping them to you!

Room Tip: choose high rooms away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffyyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Writing this on my penultimate night in Beijing. It is in a great location: the metro is right outside (remember take exit C when coming back to hotel) along the road you have a 711 and on the other side a McDonalds.

Hotel has a pool and a decent restaurant called Swiss Cafe which is pretty good. I am writing this review in the Lobby Bar which is quite cool, and shares the menu and drinks prices with the Swiss cafe.

I didn't go to the Cantonese restaurant. It would imagine it is pretty decent.

The metro is about 10-15 mins from Forbidden City, so it is very central.

The room is pretty good, though I was spoiled by the Radisson Blu in Shanghai!

Swissotels are pretty cool, I loved the one in Bondi Beach, Sydney. The Beijing one isn't quite up to the same standard as the Sydney one, but I would imagine compared to other Beijing hotels this is the best.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcus9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I booked a stay at the Swissotel after scoring a very competitive rate after doing extensive research on TripAdvisor. The hotel is elegant, classy and sufficient but it is starting to show its age and needs a major overhaul. Here are the pluses and minuses:
Pluses: good location, nice bars and restaurants (although expensive and the Japanese restaurant is a rip off price-wise, and totally empty at all hours). the exec floor is a nice space and a cozy area to hold meetings. Service is good and the hotel is geared towards westerners. Across the street are multiple restaurants, a Starbucks, a metro station,etc.. good location accessible to many areas in Beijing.
Minuses: furniture and decor is dated and showing signs of wear and tear, the gym needs an overhaul and in general the whole place is a bit tired. The biggest drawback is the HVAC system. I was there in the Spring and the hotel and rooms are unacceptably HOT and uncomfortable, depending on the season you may be uncomfortable and miserable. During my stay there was a hot spell in Beijing and my room was an oven and the individual heat/air unit did nothing to cool off -- the staff gave me a fan but when you stay at a hotel of this calibre one expects a better HVAC system.

my advice in any Beijing hotel is to find something new (there are many) -- unless you can score a great rate you may find better options but again my stay was in general pleasant but expect the hotel to be old and dated. If I returned to Beijing I would seek other options.

Room Tip: away from elevators in a quiet area. HVAC a problem in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFFfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

we (with my husband) stayed at swissotel,Beijing and we really enjoyed our 3 days stay. The hotel was clean,decent and comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. The hotel's location is so accessible to subway . Of course, I will recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

daisy carol tan
Philippines

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed March 2012. Good rate from Expedia. Older hotel but well maintained. Helpful staff. Free Wifii in the lobby.

Best part is the location. No. 2 Line Subway at the door which will take you to all the Beijing attractions. This is a BIG bonus since the traffic jams in Beijing are getting worse and worse. Across the quieter street to the right of the entrance is a shopping centre with a 7-Eleven, 2 good restaurants with Hong Kong style food, a Starbucks and Congen massage (a chain specializing in traditional Chinese massage and much cheaper than the hotel. English speaking).

Note about the pool: hotel require you to purchase a swim cap for health reasons. If you don't want to pay 40 RMB bring your own.

Note about the heating: It was very cold in Beijing during our stay and the heat in the room defaulted to sauna like. Adjusting the controls did not appear to help. Finally we just opened up the windows to let the air in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#55 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#126 of 6,474 in Beijing
234 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,474 in Beijing
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#39 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#47 Family Hotel in Beijing
#64 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#79 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing