We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always reliable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #73 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
south carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 15 years or so . The Swissotel has consistently met our expectations - it is clean; the staff are helpful and friendly; the accommodations are good; the location (there is a subway entrance right in front of the hotel) is good (although if you want to be in the heart of Beijing you need to look elsewhere); and the price is fair and reasonable. We stayed on the club level and found the club room staff to be helpful. The hotel has lost some of its luster from years now past , but it is still a lovely place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    600
    239
    85
    29
See reviews for
108
192
146
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed at the Swissotel for 3 nights for a short break with my family. When I've been to Beijing on business several times before I stayed at Hotel-G which is superb, but they appear to have had a brain explosion with their pricing of late.
I picked Swissotel because it is literally next door to the tube station, so it is ultra-convenient. Booked direct because I needed a spare bed for the kiddies, so paid 960 RMB per night (including spare bed), which I later discovered was quite a long way over the odds. Disappointing.
There is no wireless internet in the hotel other than on the executive floor and the health club, and even then it is painfully slow. If I was there on business it would have been a deal-breaker for me, but I wasn't . The nice Aussie gent checking in next to me was very surprised indeed, and asked if this was really a 5 star hotel. Wired broadband is available in the rooms, but at crazy prices.
Of course, it isn't really a 5 star hotel. The room is dated: Cracked tiles in the bathroom and the carpet was reminiscent of that in a country hotel that I'd stayed in during a visit to country Zhejiang Province, and about which my hosts had told me not to step on in my bare feet! We didn't eat or drink in the hotel because, like in so many other 'luxury' hotels in China, there is a perception that westerners are happy to pay anything. The bar and restaurant on the ground floor were essentially empty every time that I looked. I do not understand the business model.
However, the service was fantastic. The bed was on the hard-side by western standards, but after living in a 'proper' Chinese apartment for a month it was luxuriously soft.
The concierge service was brilliant when arranging a private car to visit the Great Wall. They went way beyond the call of duty, especially the concierge Extra Li. When we screwed up regarding locking of the room, our mistake was dealt with efficiently and with a smile. The pool was great, and the staff were great with the kids. It was a surprise to find the staff uniforms hanging up to dry in the sauna, but it didn't bother me.
I will have no hesitation in staying here when I'm next in Beijing, but I will:
1. Book on a discount reservation website
2. Take an mobile internet dongle with me (which cost about the same price as internet access for one hour in the hotel), and
3. Make sure I go out to eat. (McDonalds in 3 mins walk away, but I rather think that I had my annual McDonalds quota in one hit).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RexyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyiv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed in our business trip at this hotel. Very good service, nice room, and view. Location is convenient. During my stay i had birthday and hotel brings me big bucket of roses. everything was very nice!! only good words about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke -on trent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed here for a week from 30th October to 6th November.
Very clean hotel, friendly staff, good food.
The free wifi is only available in the lobby and is a little bit hit and miss.
The concierge were very helpful, arranging taxis where needed, also good with information about the best way to get around and sites to see

Room Tip: Look for one at the front, far better views than at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

We booked the room thru Agoda.com at about SGD 140 per night for 5 nights. The room is clean and comfortable. We have slept well throughout our stay there, maybe due to the fact that our room is far from the lift lobby, but I also felt that the sound-proofing of the room is quite good. The hotel is just above the subway station and convenient to commute to other places. There is a famous Beijing roost duck restaurant near to the hotel (Da Dong Kao Ya Dian) which is a must try. The hotel staffs are quite friendly and try to help when asked. We have no time to try the indoor pool and the Gym though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We were here for 4 nights (Oct 1-4) and had a pleasant stay at the Swissotel. The hotel was nice for the price, but if you can avoid the Chinese National Holiday, that would be preferred. Especially when traveling to any of the tourist spots like Great Wall, Tiananmen Square, etc.

The hotel was very clean, rooms were nice and fairly spacious, and was very convenient to get around. The hotel Gym was very nice and has both free weights, machines, and tons of space to do cardio. If you walk out towards the back of the hotel, you'll find plenty of places to eat and see. WIFI is available in the lobby which was also an added plus to stay connected with your friends back home.

RECOMMENDATIONS:
- Avoid buying or getting any of the drinks /snacks in the hotel room fridge Walk around the back and hit up the 7 Eleven, where you can buy drinks and food for a fraction of the cost.
- Bring a world phone with you if possible, you can go across the walkway onto the other side of the street where there's a "Wu-Mart". You can pick up a sim card to place in the phone and get a local number. Only Pay for 50-80 RMB worth of minutes + there's a 5 RMB monthly charge. Should be around 55-85 RMB. Anymore than $100 RMB and they are ripping you off. TIP: A number with a lot of 4's is usually cheaper bc its a number people choose not to have. Incoming calls to the cell should be free while you're in the city, but will cost you money each time you dial out.
- NEVER accept RMB that is ripped. Luckily the friendly people at the hotel explained this to me, so if they ever give you change with ripped RMB, ask them kindly to give you a new bill as counterfeit money is everywhere.
- Exchange money right at the hotel, you will get a better rate than at the airports.
- No tipping is required, but if you received good service, in more modern places is acceptable.
- When Taking a TAXI, always ask them to turn on the meter. If they tell you its broken, just get out and find another. This keeps the drivers honest as they can charge you whatever they want if its not running.
- Take a taxi and visit "Hu Hai" at night (will cost you about $5 US) It's a great place to buy souvenirs, and there's lots of places to drink and see. Avoid buying souvenirs at the first place you see bc there will be about 50 other places selling the same thing. Ask for a price, and at the min, cut that in half. Otherwise, name a price you're willing to pay for an item, and if they're not willing to sell it, just walk out. They will name a few prices as you're walking out, so your starting bid at the next store for the same item should be slightly lower than that.
- There's also an area that has a bunch of street vendors serving foods and goodies. I can't recall the name of it, but the hotel concierge should be able to direct you!
- Download "Talkatone" before you go on your smartphone or ipad and be able to call your friends and family back home over WIFI. this was a great way to stay in touch. Another free download is "Tango" which allows you to send pictures, video messages, and video calls to other Tango users for free!

Overall the Swissotel was a great place to stay with a very friendly staff. The front desk folks spoke english but dont expect a lot of places outside of there to do so. :) But remember you are in another country. Beijing is a very historical place with many old traditions. If you're looking for a major city, I highly recommend Shanghai, Shenzhen, or Hong Kong. Otherwise, stay here and enjoy modern amenities and visit the sites during the day!

Room Tip: Higher Rooms were nicer indeed. We had a nice room facing the backside (not much of a view), but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jvmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed there with grown up family and our stay was quite good!
The Hotel was quite central and the room was in the 13th floor, which being slightly supersticious was not always the best! The room was quite nice and when the sky clear on the second day he view was amazing!
The restaurant wasvwry good with an amazing spread for breakfast, the dinner menu was very good with all types of food!
The little cards with the locations they give at the reception made travelling incredibly easier in a city where English is not widely spoken!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#71 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#123 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#100 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#169 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#64 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#65 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing