We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel with at excellent position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #74 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Hoersholm, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with at excellent position”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Swissotel in Beijing is located next to the DongZhi Shitiao subway station only one stop away from the Dong Zhi Men subway station with connection the Aitport express train directly to the airport. In the neighborhood there are plenty of good restaurants. Next to the Dong Zhi Men subway station you'll find the Raffels City shopping mall. If you want to visit the Sanlitun shopping and entertainment you can either walk or take bus no. 701 or 116. The hotel rooms are clean, well furnished but the bathroom/toilet is small but acceptable. Internet is available but not always for free. Ask for free WI-FI otherwise you can't connect with at smart phone or tablet. If you order the breakfast at check-in you get a discount. The Breakfast buffet is good and the service is very friendly. In the building you also find the Bank of China and ATMs. The Fitness center is well equipped.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive rooms with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    604
    239
    86
    29
See reviews for
109
193
146
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great choice with the price.
Good location right on top of subway station. Convenience store and great restaurants behind. The Hokkaido restaurant was really good.
Staff über friendly and helpful.
Only thing is the cold pool with swimming cap requirement (government rule they said)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Swissotel is an okay hotel, but among four star hotels it does not shine out. My room was merely okay; the bathroom fixtures were ancient. Forget a waterfall shower—it had 80s apartment equipment in the shower/tub combo. The bed was very hard. Not totally atypical for China, but it is for a Swissotel. The mattress was incredibly cheap.

I could not honestly recommend staying here. There are much better places to spend your money. The staff was great but the room was so mediocre it bordered on three star quality. It's quite possible that pricier rooms had nicer appointments, but for what I paid for a king room in Beijing, this was not up to standard, period.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I choose this hotel mainly because of its excellent location. It's just outside of the tube exit, very convenient. the room facilities are a bit old, but the bed is very comfy. and the room window can be opened a bit, which is a plus to me. The breakfast is very very pricey. Generally, it's a good, clean and safe hotel in Beijing. I give this hotel an average rating mainly because the porters are really snobbish and unhelpful. They are very attentive to foreign-faced guests but ignoring their Chinese-faced guests. How pathetic!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Fei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Good room, excellent access to travel, plethora of options to eat, value for money. One of tue few negatives could ne the room decor. It could be better. Best part was easy to foreign exchange, centrally placed and being in front of a subway metro, one is connected to the world at most cost effective manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Naivedhya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There was no discernible welcome at the door (in fact in 3 days, we were greeted as we entered the hotel just once), but we were able to check in at 12 noon without a problem, and the room was quite nice. The bathroom, however, was quite retro with very old fashioned taps, and nearly threadbare towels. One day, only one towel was cleaned, with the other left hanging on the back of the door. I’m not sure how it could have been missed.

Communication is a bit of an issue. There is no wifi in the rooms – I asked the concierge why. I had to re ask my question 3 times before he understood, then told me that the hotel was “old”. Er, that’s not a reason to not install some wireless routers in the corridor! There is free wifi in the lobby, but the reception was weak, and there was nowhere to sit. I noticed 4 dining chairs arranged near the door (out of wifi range), but no sofas to be seen.

I also asked about the swimming pool opening times, which were given. I went the next day to the pool desk to reconfirm the times (I’d forgotten) – the friendly ladies told me. I went back up to my room, got my trunks, then down again. Finally, they told me as I asked for a locker key that I needed a swimming hat. Obviously, I don’t travel with a spare swimming hat in my bag. They “helpfully” offered to sell me one for RMB 60…that’s 10% of the room rate! For a hat! Obviously there were none to borrow. Why didn’t the pool ladies or concierge mention the hat thing until I was about to swim? This was very annoying. The hotel guide in the room says that using a hat is “Beijing Govt Regulations”. I’ve previously used the pool at the Peninsula and had no problems swimming without a hat, so I doubt the existence of this regulation. And indeed if these are the regulations, please PROVIDE A FREE HAT TO BORROW. Of course, there is no mention of needing a hat on the website. I wonder if they care if you shower before hand? I’d certainly rather swim in a pool where people are forced to shower thoroughly before swimming, than one where any greasy person can swim as long as they had a (possibly clean) hat on.

Overall, I was quite disappointed with the Swissotel. The official website says it’s a “Luxury 5*”….it’s really not. It’s a tired 4* at best. With all the new hotels appearing in Beijing, the Swissotel really needs to up their game. Improve communication, and stop misrepresenting themselves on their website.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'd like to recommend this hotel
Its location is incredebie. The Metro station is 3 minutes away and has escalator. And As U know, the 2 line of Metro is good for Beijing sightseeing

Seven Eleven and Starbucks is nearby.

Hotel members are kind and room condition is good

But Free Wifi at Lobby is slow
only problem I experienced

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jae Byung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,448 in Beijing
2,501 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#120 of 6,448 in Beijing
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#59 of 6,448 in Beijing
856 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,072 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#98 of 6,448 in Beijing
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#57 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#65 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing