We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Comfort in a Safe and Quiet Haven in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
Ranked #39 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First is location. location, location. This hotel is located in the International Club area of Beijing in the midst of the foreign embassy area. This area used to be Beijing’s original diplomatic district. The hotel is a solid 5 star property with 5 star service (with 5 star being the best rating available).The staff is excellent, their English is very good, the service and welcome feeling is one of the best business hotel experiences that I have had in Asia. The hotel property is elegant if not a little dated. The rooms are spacious and the location is in a quiet area so that even when there is traffic on the street the rooms are quiet, whether on the street side or other areas of the hotel. There are Western and Asian/Chinese restaurants within easy walking distance and Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City are close enough if you would like to take a long walk but easily within a 5 minutes taxi ride. The Great wall is within a 1.5 to 2 hour drive. The International Club area is an area of low rise buildings and embassies and wide tree lined streets conducive to a comfortable and safe feeling when walking or even a run in the morning or evening. The Garden Court casual dining al a coffee shop is very nice and the morning breakfast buffet is excellent. I enjoyed a great rate which included butler service as well as breakfast and club lounge privileges. There is a Starbucks across the street and a reasonably good Tex Mex restaurant next door. I definitely plan to return the next time I am in Beijing whether on business or pleasure.

Room Tip: The location is within a quiet area and while my room was on the street side I heard no street noise...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bizaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Bizaviator,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was a very nice option in Beijing especially given its affordability in terms of the St. Regis brand. It's quite convenient to the subway and only a few stops from the Forbidden City. Everything was very nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful on every occasion. However, the "service without even having to ask" nature of luxury brand hotels such as the St. Regis, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton, etc., seemed to be missing. With most of these types of hotels, it seems I never have to seek out answers to my questions -- front doors are magically opened, luggage is whisked away, someone is always pointing in the right direction, an umbrella is placed in my hand if it's raining. Things are simply thought of for me -- service is effortless. That wasn't the case here. I found myself walking around looking lost on a couple of occasions, was oddly greeted upon arrival only by housekeeping vacuuming the entrance to the albeit beautiful lobby, and had to wait quite awhile before a valet appeared to call a taxi. All in all it was quite a pleasant stay, and we really enjoyed the hotel and visiting Beijing. I just don't think I would put an "extra special" tag on this particular Starwood property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedevildoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Bluedevildoll,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The decor is nice, especially in tge lobby. The rooms are ok, nothing special for a good hotel. Breakfast is really good. Good location, around 5 minute walk from subway.
They messed up our reservation and each day tried to make us pay for the breakfast which was already included in the room rate. But the overall experience is good.

Thank paweljak
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

St. Regis aims to provide “finest experiences imaginable”, “uncompromising elegance and bespoke service”. St. Regis Bejing doesn’t deliver that promise. This is a pretty standard business hotel – could as well be a Sheraton or Westin (not even a particularly good one). The rooms are average size by Beijing standards (hotels rooms in Beijing tend to be relatively spacious) and have the equipment that you would expect, but again – nothing fancy. The style is a bit old fashioned (similar to Ritz, but a bit toned down). The bed is really good, as is the bath. Breakfast is again ok, but nothing to write home about, the breakfast place is quite nice and offers the opportunity to sit outside. Staff is generally helpful, but for whatever reason unable to organize a taxi in time (getting a taxi is generally tricky in Beijing).
As Beijing is so spread out a “good location” depends on what you are going to do. The St. Regis is on the edge of the embassy quarter, that's relatively central, but nothing of interest (not even proper restaurants) within walking distance.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Limecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Limecurry,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that service issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

To be brief, i will not refer to the premises of the hotel, all of which are perfect, including location, I will however refer to the extraordinary service this hotel provides, from the door staff to the butler service available 24 hours, absolutely fantastic. Always attentive, with a positive and enthusiastic attitude, however, not intrusive, a perfect balance and a thin line that frequent travelers like me appreciate but that such few hotels can provide. When I arrived to the airport and had passed passport control in Beijing I realized that I had left my laptop at the hotel. I called the hotel to see if it was there. From the operator to the concierge, they were swift, found the laptop and immediately sent it to the airport with one of their staff so it was delivered to me right before I had to go in back for my flight. During whole process they talked to me over the phone and on a perfect, fast and efficient operation, in record time, they made it possible. Special praise to the absolutely fantastic service of the Concierge Mr. Miichael Wang and staff Mr. Clarence Wang. Absolute perfect service and client care.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the garden and park.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Rodrigo M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The St. Regis Beijing is a very nice hotel, however it is starting to show some age.

We were upgraded to a suite - it was very well appointed, comfortable and clean, but older in style.

The service was lovely - the butlers were fabulous as always, and the lounge staff was very helpful. Don't forget to use the unpacking and packing service!

Great breakfast buffet - I am not a fan of buffets, but this was impressive.

The spa and ladies locker room facilities were very dated and crowded - I would skip the spa.

Only thing to note is that it is very difficult to get a cab from the hotel at any hour - my husband and I ended up getting "private taxi's" to most places as we couldn't afford to wait 30 minutes for a taxi. The concierge or bellman can help make those arrangements.

I would recommend the St. Regis Beijing, as it is a comfortable oasis in a great location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Kor22,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for my wife's birthday earlier this month. The staff were polite and always smiling. The breakfast (which my wife never misses when we are away) was plentiful and a good variety of east & west. The spa / pool etc was clean and very spacious. Our room was on the seventh floor and was exceptionaly comfortable & spacious....yes space seems to be the obvious factor. The fact that you are Beijing a city of probably 20 million plus and at this hotel you would never have realised it. We had a meal in one of the private rooms (which are very popular in China) and it was an experience eating good chinese food in China which was a lot different to having it in your local chinese restaurant in London. A great location from which to explore everything Biejing has to offer. Well worth considering if you are ever in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy180906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia Y, MarCom Execuive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Mandy180906,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,531 in Beijing
557 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,443 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#32 of 6,531 in Beijing
839 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#71 of 6,531 in Beijing
102 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#154 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £132 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Beijing’s business, shopping and diplomatic districts, the hotel combines legendary St. Regis Traditions like the personalized Butler Service, Evening Ritual, Afternoon Tea and the famous Bloody Mary, created at The St. Regis New York. Iridium Spa with natural hot springs from 1,500 meters below the surface. A stunning glass-walled swimming pool, a 6,000-square-meter landscaped garden. Three exceptional restaurants, two signature bars presents itself as one of the finesse expressions of hotel luxury. The St. Regis Beijing has received extraordinary and consistent recognition from a wide array of prominent global lifestyle and travel publications, including Condé Nast Traveler, Travel & Leisure, Institutional Investor, and Elite Traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing