We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #103 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is located in one of the best areas of Beijing in terms of access to the Forbidden City. The area is also very peaceful and there are good shops nearby. The hotel has a lovely collection of art displayed very tastefully all around. Service was excellent and the rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Forbidden City. The view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMouse2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

I spend the weekend in the Grand Hotel Beijing. Initially I wanted to have a room with the view over the forbidden city, but as they didn't had one available I got upgraded to a suite which was absolutely massive. Let me get a couple of points straight, as this is a Chinese Hotel people are allowed to smoke in the rooms which means they could smell a little, the interior is in some areas from the 80's nevertheless the rooms are comfy and clean and the service is excellent. Location is also great with most of the main attractions in walking distance.
I really liked the place which had a certain quirkiness which nicely set this Hotel apart from the standard business Hotels I normally stay in. So for me 4/5 and I'm happy to stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firestarter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had a large group of students doing volunteer work and the Grand Hotel Beijing was to be their reward. In terms of economy we went to great lengths (and additional cost) to book three students to a room, paying a nightly rate for extra beds. When we arrived, the rooms weren't ready, despite having rung ahead 6 hours previous to confirm our flights and arrival times and the manager was going to put the students together in double beds!! I patiently explained that we had paid a considerable amount to have three students per room in separate beds and were told that they didn't even stock rollaway beds. They refused to refund the extra money taken and the teachers had to squeeze in together to allow students separate beds. Dirty rooms, disinterested staff and filthy public toilets left me wondering which part of this hotel is apparently five star. Will never stay there again, advise against any groups booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Fabulous hotel and I would highly recommend this to any overseas visitor. We had a room overlooking the forbidden city. The room was well equipped, the hotel location was perfect and all facilities were very clean. The bed was comfortable and was turned down each evening. There was no road noise from traffic outside and the air con was also very good, particularly that it very hot outside. Taxis were easy to get at short notice and of course very cheap. The indoor pool was great and the Gym was OK although a little small. Some communication was difficult although there were staff that spoke better english than others. The business centre was a little expensive at around 40RMB per 15 minutes or so for internet. The restaurants were a little expensive but the food was OK. It did cost 50RMB for a coffee to your room.

Room Tip: The view is worth the little extra so pick a room with views over tye forbidden city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edweldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

First, the location is phenomenal. Directly down the road from the Tienanmen Square and one side of the building looks out toward the Forbidden City.
However, the hotel needs a renovation. The carpeting in my room was lumpy and was not attached to the floor. It also was not cut to the correct size and there were seams everywhere. Made me feel uncomfortable in the room.
Also, I found the breakfast buffet in red wall cafe to be far below average, when compared to other breakfasts I had at hotels in two other cities on the same trip. The food is not heated and cooled properly and also strange taste. They Red Wall Cafe also offers a buffet dinner, which is horribly overpriced and also questionable food quality.
To be honest I might not stay here again just because I did not enjoy the food aspect and I need a reliable food source when I travel for business.
The room cleaning staff was very friendly. The Concierge tried to be helpful but they really didn't offer much of anything in terms of service. Also, complete lack of information about historical, tourist, and cultural sights. Just research it on your own.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _Mundo_Traveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I had an excellent and very relaxing stay at the Grand Hotel. Our huge room with beautifully carved furniture overlooked the Forbidden City. The service was excellent, as should be expected from a 5 star hotel. We also ate at 3 of the restaurants on site and all of the food was excellent. Wine selection was decent for being in China. But honestly, we didn't spend that much time in the hotel, because there was so much to see and do around it, even just within walking distance. The location really cannot be beat. I couldn't believe how affordable the rooms were either. I highly recommend the Grand Hotel Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncnativegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

For a five star hotel, this is quite affordable. Rooms are very spacious. Ask for a view overlooking the Forbidden Palace. Location is excellent with subway, National Museum, Tiananmen Square, and Forbidden Palace all within walking distance. Drawbacks- many people still smoke in Beijing so make sure to ask to change your room if your's smells like smoke.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmalan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#28 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,741 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel
Beijing Hotel
#219 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,196 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#44 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Renaissance Beijing Wangfujing Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,570 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beijing

Address: No.35 East Chang'an Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Beijing
#93 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#94 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £75 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing