We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
Ranked #51 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel with flawless service. The Chinese restaurant was incredible, best duck I have eaten in Beijing and I live here.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BevinDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    423
    147
    29
    20
See reviews for
192
334
84
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

I find a Peninsula Hotel to be an Oasis. Although the Peninsula Beijing is a bit ostentatious as it is surrounded by high end retail chain stores, the hotel itself was nicely appointed and comfortable. I have stayed at the Peninsula Beverly Hills and was hoping for the same atmosphere in Beijing. Although this hotel caters to the luxury class, the feeling is a bit more homey than high brow. The staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The food above par. I would definitely recommend the Peninsula Beijing. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaineGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
177 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The hotel was a disappointment, not elegant. Having a drink in the only bar in the lobby and being surrounded with the bright lights and huge facades of luxury brands is not my idea of attractive. The rooms were okay but not special. And the hotel is a little bit off the beaten path. I would not stay there again. Try the Opposite Hotel, which looked terrific and is in a great part of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa barbara
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Room was clean and service in the room was excellent. Huang Ting restaurant for dinner was outstanding. Jing restaurant for breakfast was busy and somewhat expensive since there was
no obvious a la carte breakfast option. Servers had difficulty keeping up with beverage service at breakfast all four days of our stay. Pool and locker facilities are large and luxurious, though an awkward trek across hotel from elevators. High-end shopping mall dominates lobby of this hotel, leaving nowhere to sit outside your room other than gym or restaurants. During our entire stay, the lobby was filled with the strong smell of burning plastic coming from the construction of a Chanel store just inside the front door. On two of the days, the smell also filled the elevators. Not pleasant and not what you expect when you enter a hotel of this calibre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I love this hotel. It might not be the newest but the level of service is very high. Might not have the latest gadgets in the room (no iPhone dock or charger) but the great service makes up for the lack of gadgets.

This is our regular hotel in Beijing & will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Wangfujing Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonnyAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was a comfortable hotel, but not fabulous. The location is amazing, and the room is small but clean. We had 2 connecting rooms and one of them had a bit of rusty water coming out of the shower, and both of them had a bit of mould around the bathtubs. The breakfast buffet was good, but was exactly the food selection was the same for all 5 days we ate there -- some variety would have been welcome! Wait staff was also not very attentive at breakfast. We often had to look for a waiter to order coffee, and our plates weren't cleared often enough. The Chinese restaurant was excellent, although the portions were small. The pool was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great location, beautiful room (although disappointingly small in comparison with the huge rooms we had when we stayed in Peninsula hotels in Bangkok and Chicago). The facility is spectacular, with a great pool and spa area. Breakfasts were outstanding, with abundant good American-type food (love Chinese food but I can't eat it three meals a day - congee just doesn't cut is as a breakfast food). Staff spoke great English and were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#37 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Property: The Peninsula Beijing
Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#46 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#169 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by China's imperial architecture, exquisite art and cultural traditions, newly opened The Peninsula Beijing combines timeless Chinese artistry and craftsmanship with cutting-edge Peninsula technology and service to set spectacular new standards in design, luxury and comfort. The hotel's 230 stunning new guest rooms (including 61 suites) starts from 60 square metres, the largest luxury hotel rooms in Beijing and among the most spacious in China. As one of first hotel in Beijing to offer a 24-hour check-in and check-out service to all of its guests. We also provide a seamless check-in process personally managed in each guest room or suite without guests having to wait at a reception counter or front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing