We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The team at conceige and in-room dining are very friendly, passionate to help and agile to customer's requests or needs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #34 of 6,517 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“The team at conceige and in-room dining are very friendly, passionate to help and agile to customer's requests or needs.”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I had dinner for two days at Cafe Cha. It could be because we people from Hong Kong are spoiled by the excellent service level here, I found the waitresses in the cafe are not quick enough to respond to diners' requests, some even gave inappropriate reply. For instance, a Japanese lady asked a waitress for coffee which should has been served 20 mins ago nicely, the waitress' response was 'you scared me! (in mandarin)' because the Japanese lady greeted her from her back. From my point of view, the Japanese was ver nice, patient and good mannered, your colleague's response actually scared me!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviskwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    671
    133
    20
    15
See reviews for
92
131
64
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

the okay..

We spent almost a week in Beijing in July 2011, and stayed at the Shangri-la. While the location isnt the best (not horrible location either, silk market is walking distance as well as many restaurants) the rooms are great. There was construction that started at 8am everyday during our stay due to the renovation and the main entrance was also closed because of this...

the bad..,

DO NOT exchange currency at this property. We exchanged some on our first day there and headed over to the silk market by cab. First, the cabbie refused to take any of the yuans and then while shopping our money was rejected by the salespeople, not knowing much chinese we did not understand why, until a fellow american overheard and told us they are are saying the money is FAKE, thats right, FAKE! we rushed back to the hotel and explained what had happened only to be told by the manager that its impossible the money would have came from this hotel and basically did not believe us. Anyway, the police showed up, filed a report bla bla bla,.. this incident left a bad taste in my mouth for the remainder of our stay. we learned the hard way that a bank is the safest bet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amahmood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

+ Best service ever
+ Nice, cute and friendly front desk staff
+ Very smooth ambiance
+ Nice and interesting persons in the lobby
+ Very luxurious
+ Big and very clean bathroom
+ Near the BIg silkmarket
+ Pretty Good asian restaurant
+ Good internet connection
+ Nothing bad to say about this hotel

Room Tip: Show ya money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billypaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I would take full advantage of the concierge's as we did. Justin and Cage were extremely helpful and I would recommend hiring a guide to obtain as much history as possible at each of the sights. The food was delicious, the help efficient and friendly and the workout area and pool clean. We also enjoyed the garden view outside the restaurant. We were very pleased with the Shangri-la.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Shangri-la hotels have on average the best service. People go out of their way to make sure you are fine and all your needs are fulfilled (sometimes this is borderline to annoying).

This hotel is excellent as any other Shangri-la hotel I stayed in the past and the breakfast area is breath taking. My biggest disappointment was the location. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. Unless you have a car, you may end up having dinner at a Pizza Hut is you go for a walk.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Shangri-la is a huge hotel, but despite it's size it keeps the personal touch where staff is friendly and does remember ones face. While I was staying at the hotel it just so happened it was my birthday on the checkout day, so the evening before when I was packing up I got a surprise knock at the door and two staff stood there with a little cake wishing me a happy birthday, so whilst completely unexpected it was a very nice touch. For the rest of the hotel it is a typical 5 star hotel, nice, clean with the normally expected luxuries such as spa, restaurants and shops.

The only thing to know before staying there is that location wise it's a bit off the centre, so not great for getting into the main attractions like the forbidden city. But if you're on business nearby then it's perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabaLjuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Have stayed at many Shangri-La hotels, however the downtown location was good, however the hotel seemed very old, and the service was not as good as other Shangri-La's. Just stayed a couple of nighs.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodSport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,418 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,783 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,517 in Beijing
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#86 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing