We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel with fantastic facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Ranked #39 of 6,492 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel with fantastic facilities”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The stay was really nice and a wonderful experience.

The HSBC ATM at the reception came very handy, as it is not that easy to exchange currency in China.

We were all vegetarians and were looking out for some veg foods. One Mr.Jackie was there in the restaurant, which didn't have any veg foods. He understood our requirements and took to the other restaurant in the same hotel, where we had good breads, soup and pasta. It was like heaven, when we had the veg food. The breakfast is really good.

The people were very friendly.

Coming to the rooms, it was neatly done and you get all you want! You will never feel that you are away from home. Am not sure about the locational benefits, as we hired cabs to roam around.

The amenities were good, especially the gym, steam bath etc.,

I could not use the Swimming pool.

The check in and check out process were really fast, like the room service. One thing I would like to suggest to have more International TV channels (sports & kids).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopal_Ramanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    670
    133
    20
    15
See reviews for
87
129
63
485
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The hotel staff and quality of accommondation, service and food is very good indeed and consistently reliable. One slight emerging issue may be odours from sanitation in bathroom (which seem to be greater than I recall on a previous visit) and smokeyness in corridors (outside non-smoking rooms). Thanks to all the staff for making the stay special again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

It was a fantastic stay. The staff were unwaveringly helpful and pleasant to deal with. They had excellent dinner suggestions, helped us out with a much needed late check out and brought up a cake for my birthday, sang the song and promised to email some pictures. Loved it.

It is a little far from the usual tourist spots, but we had no problem finding eating places and getting to sites wasnt really an issue. Great stay would recommend to those looking for a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaqubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2010

There should be more variety from the India cuisine. There should be more Indian Ala-carte menu.

Your staff in the "Cha" were extremely patient and courteous with all of us.

One suggestion: Every fornight, you can have ALL INDIAN CUISINE MENU on a Friday night or Saturday night (this I saw in one of the Shanghai Hotel - the chef was Australian).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev_Kulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel in October 2009 and while I remembered the hotel being nice and the service ordinary, I had to write a review of my stay this year. The service is stellar, and I dont recall having a bad experience last year--it makes it enjoyable to come back to your hotel room. The rooms are large, beds comfortable (a bit on the hard side like I prefer), the bathrooms have separate marble bath and shower stall. There is free internet (cable and wireless) which I remember was not included last year, and the breakfast (free for us but I believe its because we are in a packaged rate) is buffet style with many many items to choose from, both Chinese and Western style.
I can't say enough how much I really appreciate the great service they have here, from the check-in to laying out my toiletries and providing a mouse pad when they saw I was using a book to rest my mouse upon, the customer service is one of the best I've ever had! And I am Chinese American, so I know that Chinese people are usually not this friendly! I believe that the manager is French and they are really encouraging staff to speak English courteously, kindly and professionally and it is really paying off. I will definitely definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We had a fabulous time at the Shagri-La. The breakfast was superb, there was a wonderful choice; the room was excellent; we particularly enjoyed eating outside in the garden - first class!
The hotel is very well situated, there was never a wait for the inexpensive taxis. The metro station was 15 minutes walk away.
The stay was made even more memorable by a surprise delivery of a cake for my wife whose birthday it was. The hotel staff took a photograph of us with the cake, which they e-mailed to us for when we returned home. Thank you Shangri-La.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Great value. Would definitely stay there again. Doesn't look like much driving up to the hotel but very nice once you get in. The new tower is nicer than the old tower but rooms were very good nonetheless. Included breakfast is very good. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldironsides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,396 reviews
Guomao
Grand Millennium Beijing
Grand Millennium Beijing
#32 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,761 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,492 in Beijing
1,388 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#100 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing