We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but old facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Ranked #34 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Good service but old facilities.”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

I believe that your service and your staff are second to none. However, I found that the facilities and room are quite old such as the tap of bath tube in the bathroom is leaking whenever I turn on the tap. I don't want to flood the floor, so I used the shower instead.

Anyway, it'll be better if you place the complimentary water beside the Evian on the glass tray. May be it's your marketing method but customer make a mistake easily, and I did! When I wanted to take water in a hurry, I open the charged on while thinking that it's a complimntary one!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nothingfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    671
    133
    20
    15
See reviews for
94
131
65
497
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NONE
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2010

This is an excellent option to stay in Beijing and have relax. Service at this hotel is highly qualified. Kind people, excellent cuisine, it worths every cent you pay for it

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIPELUCHECEROUNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Location: In my opinion, the location of the hotel is really not very good for a tourist. Even if you have transportation to all the major tourist spots, the fact that we can't just walk outside to a major dining area or at least to a metro stop is not convenient. Of course, taxi is always available, but it's still a 20-30+ minutes ride to CBD, and you have to deal with taxis. I always prefer to either walk or use metro so that affects my opinion. The closest metro station is a 20 minute BRISK walk from the lobby. You want to use the National Library of China stop on Line 4. You can cut through the Zizhuyuan Park to make the walk more interesting (there are people dancing all times of the day) but you most likely have to rely on taxis for the majority of the travel within the city.

Service: Very good and professional. The staff in the breakfast dining area were very good. Check-in/out was quick and professional.

Food: The breakfast buffet was really nice, though weaker on the Chinese food. The variety and quality of the western breakfast was above average.

Gym/Pool: Very nice pool (big and good for lap swimming, though a bit warm) and the gym is complete. There are very nice sauna/steam/jacuzzi in the locker room.

Room: The room in the old garden wing is...old. It's a nice size but the carpeting is old and a bit off-putting. The bed is comfortable, and the room a nice size, about 30 sqm (?). We had friends in the new Valley wing and they reported that those rooms are a lot nicer.

The hotel does have free wifi so that's a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank so_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I mostly liked this hotel. When we first arrived, the doorman promptly unloaded our bags from the taxi and brought them into the lobby where the concierge took them to the check-in lobby for our wing (there are 2 wings), which was a little bit of a walk. Check in was a breeze (as was check out), the reception desk was fully staffed. There was even an employee who stands by the elevator and pushes the up button for you. Our rate included breakfast which was a fairly large buffet with a lot of choices. Service at breakfast was also good and prompt. There is a garden in the back that was very nice for a stroll. Our room was in the garden wing, which some trip advisor reviewers had said was run down. We did not find that to be the case. It looked like it had been recently updated and was very comfortable and quiet. I interacted with the concierge on a number of occasions and found him to be very helpful. I used the fitness center which was big and clean with lots of cardio equipment. I had a massage at the hotel spa and again, the level of service was like nothing else I have ever encountered.

There were 2 things that I didn't like about this hotel. First, it was out of the main city center and not very close to a subway stop. Cabs are plentiful and inexpensive, so this drawback is somewhat muted. Second, when it came to ordering drinks, it was difficult. All of the great service we encountered at breakfast and check-in is absent from the lobby bar. Although there seemed to be many servers, you needed to make an extra effort to get any attention. When you did, if you were trying to order something that was not listed on the menu, like a regular, non flavored martini, it was impossible (the menu had a martini section, which was full of the lemondrop and cosmopolitan varieties). We experienced the liquor problem again in the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Unless it was listed on the menu, it was not going to come as ordered. At the table next to us, we listened to someone try to order a bourbon and 7. I don't think they understood either one of those ingredients. The drinks that were difficult to order also came with a very high price tag.

Those two issues aside, I did like this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyE2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This hotel is out by Ringway 3, which is a considerable distance away from the centre of town and there is very little of interest in the local area. You have to take taxis everywhere (not a major cost in terms of money, just in terms of time) - the subway is 20 minutes' walk away, at least, and also not very convenient.

Of course, this isn't a problem if you are at an event at the hotel, and the hotel is very professionally set up with great staff and service to make your stay as easy as possible. The rooms in the older Garden Wing are starting to show their age, unfortunately, with bathroom grime and scratches on woodwork, very small safe, and noisy air conditioning. But despite this the rooms are very quiet and comfortable and led to great sleeps. The beds are huge, with big soft down pillows and duvets. Finally, the breakfasts are comprehensive, high quality, and welcoming to both western and Asian tastes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

The service at the Shangri-La Beijing is simply the best service I have experienced in my life. The rooms were large, very clean and up-to-date and outfitted to Western standards. The brunch in the cafe is outstanding; never have I found this level of food quality and range of options covering American, European and Asian selections. Everything about this hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcfergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We used the Shangri La Beijing as a venue for an international conference with delegates coming in from all over the world.
The welcome we received on arrival (and after long flights) was efficient and friendly. All requests thereafter were met efficiently and pleasantly. A couple of delegates had problems with noise in their rooms but they were moved immediately.
The location is somewhat out of the city centre which in view of the Beijing traffic may be seen as a disadvantage, but was not problem for a conference.
The free wireless and hardwired Internet connections worked perfectly and it was very easy to connect.
Having previously arranged similar meetings in many other worldwide locations I would rate the hotel highly for the way we were looked after.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_hibbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,423 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,788 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Address: No.29 Zizhuyuan Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100089, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yuanda Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#23 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#24 Business Hotel in Beijing
#32 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Family Hotel in Beijing
#86 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 670
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the west of Beijing at the heart of the financial and technological district and within close proximity to some of China’s most magnificent historical sites, the Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing is only 30 minutes from the Capital Airport, providing an ideal location for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel has a total of 670 well-appointed guestrooms and 7 exceptional restaurants and bars. Well-equipped health club is welcomed by the health conscious and fitness-motivated guests. Shangri-La’s exclusive spa, CHI offers some of the largest and most luxurious private treatment suites to the city. For grand or intimate events, hotels’ two ballrooms and 28 function rooms are perfect choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Hotel Beijing
Shangri La Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing