We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #23 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 20 December 2011

If you need to be in Chaoyang the hotel is very conveniently located and has a grand touch to it in particular to the lobby and a good buffet options. The rooms are big and well designed for business traveller. It is more for the traditional taste.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aumbricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,181 - 1,187 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2011

Security is high because you are in communist China. Also, this hotel gets a large number of foreign visitors and dignataries, plus there are many business conferences held there. I am a member of the Hotel Shangri-la chain and this is one of their hotels. There is free Internet in the room, good TV and movie channels, and the in-room dining is actually quite good. I prefer to go out to the many restaurants around the area, and the Silk Market is a 10-minute walk away. The concierge is very helpful with arranging trips to the Great Wall, the Forbidden Palace, and can assist you in getting around by using the metro. The hotel is attached to a mall, so there is high-end shopping if you want to spend the money. This is my first choice whenever I stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlaw50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Mediocre food and service. Offputtingly large lobby with security staff watching your every move. Good gym with full weight training options.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Brilliant spa facilities - cleanest swimming pool we've seen, friendly people all around made for a very pleasant experience.I would like to say a big thank you to Danica and her team,it was beyond expectations.Anna,Hill also helped me a lot during my stay.To conclude, China World Hotel is a fantastic for business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

2 nights in this lovely chinese hotel was a sheer delight. Staff could not do enough for you and the Aria bar was very comfortable and both the breakfast and all food we had was of a very high standard.
Fantastic lobby area with very chinese decoration.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillypops55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Although the China World hotel is not the newest in Beijing by any rate, nor one of the most lively, there are several characteristics that make it a fantastic choice to stay in the city.

I booked as part of a large group for a business meeting and, despite the size of the meeting (1000+), the hotel never felt crowded, disorganized or clumsy. All the contrary, not only was check-in fast and accurate, but the overall stay and services were just perfect.

The rooms are a bit on the small side for what one would expect after visiting the grand lobby, which is very sumptuous and luxurious. However, the quality of the appointments are good. I wish that the hotel offered an on-demand movie service, which is very useful when juggling with 12+ time zone differences having to wait for calls/meetings at the middle of the night. The TV services are a bit outdated and so is the fact that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only a for-charge Ethernet access (cable included).

Rooms on both sides offer great views of Beijing. Get a high room and you will be impressed (if pollution permits the view, of course, which can be a challenge nowadays)

I really enjoyed many advantages of this hotel, which I will list in order of my preference:

- Fantastic wine bar / cigar bar / fine dining restaurant with live music (jazz) at night. A true meeting place. I went there four nights an every night met new people.

- Direct connection to the mall and the rest of the China World buildings. Not only is the hotel connected via an underground stair to one of Beijing's nicest malls, but also to great restaurants, the ice-skating rink and to the adjacent Shangri-La hotels, which is a true advantage in the very hot summer, the very cold winter and the very polluted everyday.

- Very well appointed fitness center. The pool is very large and perfect for lap trainers and all the fitness equipment is in optimal condition. The staff is not only helpful but also cleans the equipment after every guest has used it! The aerobic equipment also has multi-channel TVs with new headphones every time. If you like working out, this will be a place for you! I visited the tennis courts and the spa, which are certainly an added bonus for some!

- The breakfast buffett. One of the best in Beijing for sure. This buffett has a very large selection of western and Asian food. Everything from waffles to dim-sum. Soy milk to grapefruit juice.

- The lobby cafe. Another true meeting place for a relaxed conversation, great coffee and great wine.

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and believe that my Beijing experience was enhanced by staying here.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor for great views of Beijing. Elevators are VERY quick, so don't mind t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ultraplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Attending my firm's conference, we stayed for a full week at the China World. At first glance, it seems "governmental" or "institutional", but is really a wonderful hotel. The lobby bar is great, the lobby is perfumed, the staff are attentive, with a friendly "monk" greeting you at the elevators. The rooms are very comfortable, bathrooms, ditto. Restaurants are great, especially Aria restaurant and bar, off the lobby. It is a Shangri-La hotel. The hotel is connected to miles of underground high end shopping, and is also a 5-10 minute walk from the super-fun Silk Street market building, where you can bargain for anything -- Chinese silk items, cashmere sweaters, knockoff Paul Smith, Polo or tommy hilfinger golf shirts, jewellry of all sorts. I would highly recommend the China World, and gladly go back a third time, and not look for anything better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#16 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,549 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Yuanda Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
Shangri-La Hotel, Beijing
#12 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,912 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#15 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#117 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £92 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing