We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
London, Uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I can't fault it”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I've really enjoyed my brief stay in this hotel. The service has been excellent (and English language skills very good too - lucky me as I don't speak Chinese!). The basic rooms are a good size, excellent bathrooms, good internet. The gym is as big as my own in London with excellent amenities (in fact, better than some London gyms). I would absolutely stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear alexsw1, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World in particular the Gym and our WiFi which is complimentary throughout the hotel. I will share your comments with our team and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We hope to see you again if you visit Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,669
    455
    89
    22
    20
See reviews for
211
162
72
1,094
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

"Forgot" to pick us up at the airport, and could not find our reservations! OK, they had rooms and they were good. But, the Horizon Club was crowded and nowhere near as good as the club in Hong Kong and Shanghai. I pretty much always stay with Shangri La but this hotel will make me think again, at least as far as Beijing is concerned. Maybe they should send their staff to Pudong (Shanghai) to see how it should e done!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear David W, thank you for your review, and we are sorry you had a disappointing stay. We were not able to locate the travel agent pick up request and have tried to contact you for more details on the issues to help us with follow up. If I can be of further assistance please contact me on john.rice@shangri-la.com. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards. John Rice. Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Nicely located hotel with great comfort, in walking distance (indoor!) to lots of shopping and restaurants, also connected to China World Office which is convenient when having business meetings with one of the there located enterprises. Service is excellent and caring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 294265Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear 294265Singapore, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the hotel. China World Hotel has great conference and meeting facilities to help make your business activities a success. When it comes to CBD hotels, China World has a central location, fantastic shopping in the complex and is easily accessible to all areas of Beijing with the MTR right on our door step. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

have to depart one n half hours earlier bcoz there are major construction works underway blocking the way before hotel's exit gate.
I spend 30 mins on hotel limousine at rush hour before reaching the main road., recommend to take subway.

Room Tip: nothing much change about the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrapangawira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Hendra K, thank you for your review. Sorry about the inconvenience with traffic delays on departure. We will look at an alternate route within the Complex which will alleviate delays. Next time we will assist with a fast departure. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This is large hotel that still manages to provide what appears to be quite a personal service. Rooms are of a good size and lack for nothing. Service levels are high and the hotel has quite a grand reception and the bars and restaurants all are good as is room service. Will use it again

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PJRHolbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear PJRHolbrook, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and the personalized services. Thank you for highlighting the Aria Bar and Restaurant. During the Christmas/New Year period our restaurants and bars are featuring lots of festive touches. I will share your positive comments with the team. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

3 nights at the China World Hotel and I did not want to leave. Bountiful fresh flowers in the lobby, warm elevator "greeter" ready to direct weary travelers to the right floor, helping with the key card if needed - his genuie enthusiasm for his job symbolized the level of service we experienced consistently with this hotel from start to finish. One day I came home from a long day and had a hand written note from the room attendant telling me that it was dry and I should make sure and keep hydrated, and that I should also take care and keep warm since it will be chilly this week. Wow. The wake up service is a live person calling, and if you like, they will arrange to have a pot of hot coffee or tea outside your door just prior to the call so you can wake up and find it on a little wooden stand. The final message they sent about how much they truly wanted to "take care of us" was on the trip to the airport. We arranged for the car service as we did upon arrival, but what's worth noting is the "team" approach of inside and outside the airport. On arrival we were met and assisted to the car waiting right outside the airport- they get the timing PERFECT. But that's not all. On the way home, after you check out, you are also greeted at the airport once you arrive in the car. In our case by a young woman who had a cart ready to roll for our luggage. She made sure we got checked in - at the right area- which I am sure we would have figured out , but how nice to not have to! Then she escorted us all the way to security and waved goodbye. I think I know what it's like to be a celebrity now, in an airport anyway. If I ever make it back to Beijing I can't imagine staying anywhere lese.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Alice W, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. We are truly committed to consistently high standards of service and facilities, and creating memorable experiences for our guests and happy that it has been achieved on this occasion. Our elevator greeters have been with us for many years, and thoroughly enjoy engaging with our guests. I will share your positive comments with the team. Thank you for highlighting your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was excited to see several of Bejjing's outdoor tourism historic sites,
but due to DANGEROUS and thick smog I cut my trip short and left as soon as I could not seeing them.
I wore a mask my entire time, and my taxi was forced to take the back roads
due to the highway being closed to zero visibility due to SMOG.

The China World Hotel is beautiful, and the staff is amazing.
It's just too bad its surrounded by solid smog outside. GROSS.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Sandhei J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Sandhei J, thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay at China World Hotel. The city is implementing initiatives to assist the environment. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,464 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,464 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#118 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing