We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First choice business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
1 review
“First choice business hotel”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our company is a Economic Research Foundation, for years, our people who were world class international scholars, visited Beijing many times for international collaboration study. And always stayed at the China World Hotel. We hold number of meetings at the Business Center of the hotel. We'd like to acknowledge the hospitality and professional services provided by the team...The meeting package is good value with meal arrangement at the cafe.. We'd like to highly recommend it ...

Room Tip: The club room is a good deal with breakfast and evening breaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear susan s, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. And thank you for highlighting our Business Center service. At China World Hotel we have a number of special meeting packages for all business travellers, and i am glad you were able to experience this value. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    455
    89
    22
    20
See reviews for
211
162
72
1,094
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

As always a great place to stay in Beijing. The Horizon Club managers and staff (Nancy and Philip, also Tracy, Bill, Tony, Katherine, and Gladys) are better than just superb, the same goes for Dirk at the concierge desk--you can always tell a Shangri-la Hotel by it's exceptional management and personnel! The staff always remember you. We have come here frequently over the years and CWH never loses it's appeal for comfort, great service and convenience located in the CBD heart of Beijing, steps from the subway, and Beijing's World Trade Center.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear SimoneShanghai, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our Horizon Club room and lounge facilities. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. Our Horizon Lounge team strive to continuously provide the best service in the city to all of our guests. I will share your comments with the Horizon team and Concierge Dirk, i know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I have stayed many times, as it is near my company's Beijing office. It is dependably good. Everything works and the staff is attentive and helpful. The breakfast buffet is good, with diverse selections.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank BigGeorge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear BigGeorge79, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a conference and I am very pleased with the service. I was extremely well attended by the lobby personnel and my request to eventually change the room was granted immediately with great flexibility by the hostess Jenny, who then checked that my requests were taken care of on a daily base.
Although the room was partly worn out, it was clean and well kept.
Breakfast for the non-executive floors was abundant, diversified and good quality.
Overall, I am satisfied and I would go back for the same rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlisseNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear UlisseNemo, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular Scene a Cafe Breakfasts; I will let Jenny know, she will be delighted. We unveiled our renovated lobby in July 2013, and all of our guest rooms are going to be progressively refreshed creating a new look. We do have a great location in the CBD, subway, shopping malls and this is convenient for our guests, and our banquet/event areas are some of most popular in the city. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The lobby area is fantastic, very ornate and there is often live local music. Rooms are very nice and comfortable, showers are especially nice.

The bar is quite expensive compared to the price of the rooms. The buffet style restaurant is ok but the other one is really really expensive for not that great Chinese food.

Pool is nice, but you must wear a swimming hat - this is not written anywhere until you get right in there.

On top of a mall, which is air conditioned- nice in the summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear jIh34, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular lobby ambience and buffet in Scene a Cafe. And thank you for highlighting the swimming cap issue, we appreciate you advice and we will look at putting this advice in a more visible area. Our prices are consistent with similar establishments in Beijing, but we aim to offer a great guest experience and value. China World Hotel is very well located in the CBD. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a business convention. The overall impression was good, but the facility is aged, and needs upgrade in some areas. Also, the service attitude of the staff is no better than other 5-star hotels in Beijing,

The room is okay and quite, but like other Shangri-La hotels, it really needs a weight scale in room. I always liked the sufficient cloth hangers though. Nowadays I don't even turn on TV anymore, and I found the wireless Internet connection was quite slow most of the time.

I was surprised to see the breakfast is not up to Shangri-La standard. This was reflected in both the regular restaurant for breakfast, as well as the Horizon Club which I could access as a Diamond Golden Circle member. The variety of food is limited, and doesn't reflect local flavour. The fruit is also limited which is not appropriate in Beijing as the dry climate calls for more fruit intake.

The meeting facility and catering is good, however, and lunch is among the best in all the event lunches I have ever tasted. Did not have chance to use the gym and other facilities though.

I was expecting a high standard on service attitude on the Shangri-La brand, However, I found that I had to discount it as the hotel is in Beijing. In other words, it's on a typical level of 5-star hotels in Beijing. Comparing to hotels in Shenzhen or Shanghai, you could feel the real difference on how the staff communicate with you and whether they are passionate to help you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear GGLl, thank you for your feedback, and glad to note you enjoyed your stay at China World Hotel. I am sorry some aspects of your stay were not up to expectation, your points on the breakfast and WIFI were noted, these are areas we will look into – it is always helpful to get this type of feedback. We unveiled our renovated lobby in July 2013, and all of our guest rooms are going to be progressively refreshed creating a new look. We do have a great location in the CBD, subway, shopping malls and this is convenient for our guests, and our banquet /event areas are some of most popular in the city. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Second time in a month at a Shangri-La and second deception. I used to really like the Shangri-Las but they seem to have faded, in service, room appearance, even the characteristic smell has faded. Dubai and Beijing are off my list, if not all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GGDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear GGDD, thank you for your review, we appreciate your support of China World Hotel. We unveiled our renovated lobby in July 2013, and all of our guest rooms are going to be progressively refreshed creating a new look. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#121 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing