We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location and Service and very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Location and Service and very nice Hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel in the heart of Beijing winter with smog levels earning an orange status (one below red). Inside was awesome as you were unaware of the happenings outside. Comfortable temperatures and very helpful staff. Commendable service leaving nothing to chance and coupled with good facilities like gym, spa and restaurants. Breakfast options really good and fruit in the room styling. Only challenge is the bombardment as you check in. May want to ease on the questions, deposit demands and special offerings. You just landed and may want to be given a chance to orient yourself. Also, I left a message for a colleague who arrived later and it wasn't given. Other than that, a fab stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamedien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Kamedien, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular the breakfast selection in the Scene a Cafe, and thank you for highlighting the hospitable service from our team. My apologies for the issue you experienced on your arrival, and we will certainly look at how to communicate the check in service better to our guests. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,668
    455
    89
    22
    20
See reviews for
211
162
72
1,094
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I stayed in in October of 2012, and found it to be extremely well-run. The rooms were great - the bathrooms were state-of-the-art (the toilets alone were quite remarkable and high-tech). The view was nothing to write home about, but that's a result of the urban location. The food was great - the breakfast options were phenonomenal, and they had a lot of great options for traditional Chinese and more American / European tastes. They lobby bar was a lot of fun as well. A really great property.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Meghantown, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular the breakfast selection in the Scene a Cafe, and thank you for highlighting our Lobby Lounge. We have a great location in the heart of the CBD,with excellent shopping and accessible transportation/MTR. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed there several times over the past year because of the convenient location. It is right above China World and connected subway station. The rooms are definitely old but the lobby and common area has a nice Chinese feel to it.

Only complaint is when I stayed there with my husband once and at check in, the staff asked if I would like to pay extra to upgrade my room. I said no thanks. Then he said "oh, but the only room available is room 444" (the #4 is consider unlucky in Chinese culture) but to his surprise we are not superstitious and said it was ok. Then he told us, "I will upgrade you for free because there is in fact no more double room available." I was disappointed that he tried to sell me a more expensive room and wasn't being totally honest when in fact there is no more room available in the category that I booked in. I just feel there is too much selling at the point of check in.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear HKLouise, thank you for your review. My apologies for the issue you experienced on your arrival, and we will certainly look at how to communicate the room upselling service better to our guests. It is always our intention to create great value. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed five nights at the China World Hotel in October. The king bed was soft and dreamy, while the unique oval shower provided high-powered spray nozzles. Cleaning service included personal attention to my hand-washed running clothes and hand-written notes by the staff thanking me for my stay. The food was very good--offering both Chinese and western favorites. A fresh fruit and veggie juice bar is available for breakfast. Situated above a luxury mall and within walking distance to the silk market.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Melissa S, thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel and in particular the breakfast selection in the Scene a Cafe, the service from our Housekeeping Team. I will share your comments with all of them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
299 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed for one night at the Shangri-La World hotel and it was very nice overall. The staff were very helpful with transportation and advice. The reason it did not get five stars is the breakfast was very overpriced ($40).

Nice room, nice gym, great service.

Room Tip: get a price that includes breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallercf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear hallercf, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at China World Hotel. Our Breakfast prices are consistent with similar establishments in Beijing, but we aim to offer a great guest experience and value. We have a number of special room packages inclusive of breakfast, and i hope you were able to experience this value. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tours, France
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed at this five star hotel twice, that for business trip, I really had a wonderful staying period
at China World Hotel. The location of the hotel was convenient, big shopping mall downstairs, great hotel, spacious room, beautiful lobby and friendly staff, guest relations officer Nelly was outstanding, professional service made me impressed. Five Star Hotel, Five Star Service. I would like to stay again with my family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevillaDiaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear RevillaDiaz A, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel. We have a great location in the heart of the CBD,with excellent shopping and accessible transportation/MTR. Nelly our Guest Relations Officer will be delighted with your recognition. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.
Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I must just say that I had an excellent stay and a great room.
The staff were all friendly and competent. The reception for foreigners was great. David, at reception, welcomed me warmly and professionally. And great work from Rebecca as well. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Marom M, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed the facilities at China World Hotel. I will let David and Rebecca know you appreciated their assistance, they will be delighted. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#23 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#122 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing