We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre cruise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #19 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our cruise ship selected this hotel and we were very happy with location, room, service and a remarkably fabulous buffet restaurant . My husband and I ate at the Chinese restaurant our first night and we were not impressed by either the service or the food, very mediocre . The concierge recommendations for private tour guide ( grey line tour guides) and pvt. driver were excellent as well as reasonable. Much better than the exorbitant prices quoted by some of the recommended tour guides on trip advisor. The hotel is well located , but considering traffic in Beijing nothing is truly well located these days. There is a fabulous gourmet grocery in the underground shopping mall- worth a look at all the beautiful produce and packaging! Walking distance to Silk market .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ataman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear ataman2, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable and enjoyed buffet in Scene a Cafe. Appreciate the points on Summer Palace – we will look into these issues. Thank you for highlighting a cake and bread shop in the mall located near the subway entrance, that’s the “Sweet Spot” it is famous in Beijing. We look forward to seeing you when you next visit Beijing. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,300)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's China World Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

My occupation has me traveling all over the world and I have to say this is the finest hotel I have ever stayed in. The property itself is top quality and the staff is very friendly and outgoing. I had messed up the code on my safe and they had a staff of four that showed up to unlock the safe after I had described to them the safe's contents. VERY PROFESSIONAL! The breakfast was superb as well. The evening hours are complete with traditional live musicians in the lobby. The hotel is attached to a very large underground mall which has easy access to subway lines 1 and 10. Check-in was swift and uneventful. During check-out they anticipated all my needs and ordered a taxi for me at the beginning of the check-out process. Two staff members walked with me out of the hotel and stayed with me until the taxi arrived. I give this hotel my highest recommendations and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear Cagun, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us, and enjoyed the hospitality and service from our Front Office team. I will share your comments with all of them and I know they will be delighted with the recognition. Thank you for highlighting our lobby ambience and Breakfast service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

this is the best hotel of china. the team in 20 floor is the best team in hotel. all the persons like kindly and smile when you met them. no matter what do you want and need , they will help you immediately . when you come in it , you will fill you come back your home . the music in lobby is amazing chinese traditional music ,making you release and wecome . the food of hotel also delicious and safe. and there is a club ,beautiful and you could smoke in it with nice singer .i love this hotel very much . i wish the whole team is lucy everyday and everynight.

Room Tip: higher floors have lessA/C unit noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear lily l, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our Horizon Club. And thank you for highlighting our lobby music and Aria bar. Next time try the high tea in our Lobby Lounge, it’s a great way to spend the afternoon. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Ihave been the second time in this hotel and it will be certainly my hotel of choice in Beijing's Chaoyang Business District.

Location: The hotel sits right on top of a big underground shopping mall, which offers just about every brand and every shop one would need. Also, most of the offices & busiensses in CHayang can be reached by foot. At the same time, being on the Eastern side of Beijing, the airport is till within an acceptable reach (30 - 60 minutes, depending on the traffic.) For those who ocme as tourists, it will take 10 minutes by cab to the forbidden city. You can walk as well, it's around 3 km along the big street. (Actually, this is not the nicest of all walks, that street has at least 8 lanes...)

Hotel rooms: The rooms are really spacious and in excellent condition. Every little detail is taken care of. Certainly payng for the upgrade to a clubroom is only worth it, if your eally want to use the Horizon lounge extensively. besides this, i ahven't found a big differnece between a standard room and a club room.

Service: Service is something the Shangri-La brand is very proud about. So - you know what to expect and indeed you won't be disappointed. All services are just outstanding and whetehr you need a shirt pressed in the middle of thenight or a good restaurant booked nearby - they will always help you out.

Compared with most other Asian cities - staying in the Shangri-La Hotel is really a great value for money. A true 5-star ++ experience in the heart of Beijing where you will miss absolutely nothing.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast!! This is the best part of all!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asianexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Asianexpert, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our Horizon Club room and lounge facilities. And thank you for highlighting the breakfast experience. China World Hotel is well located in the CBD and accessible to all areas of Beijing with convenient public transport on our door step. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to a cruise, and found the hotel to be just a perfect. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous, and looked exactly like an upscale hotel in China should look like.exotic, but not overstated. The rooms were large, and very well appointed, with a great view of the CBD.

The restaurants were great, and overall service was incredible...from the desk, to the elevator attendants to the smiling pretty girls which seemed to be everywhere, and wanting to do everything possible to help you.

Only negative is location.....but only if you want to be able to walk out the door, and immediately be able to walk the streets of 'old China' with family owned shops and restaurants, and food being cooked on the streets. This is the upscale area of town...virtually every high end women's clothing and jewelry brand in the world is located in the mall under the hotel...but the hotel's being surrounded by major streets, malls and office buildings means that the environment is a bit sanitized.

Room Tip: Higher the better
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Gatorgolfer, thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you have wonderful memories of your time with us. And thank you for highlighting our lobby ambience and restaurant service. Our elevator greeters have been with us for many years, and thoroughly enjoy engaging with our guests. China World Hotel is conveniently located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. The hutong and Wangfujing areas are just twenty minutes away, and walking tours can be arranged through our Concierge desk. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just had a fantastic 5 night stay at this hotel. Could not find fault with anything. Most memorable thing was the friendliness of the staff. The rooms are spacious and well maintained and the hotel is well positioned close to the centre of Beijing and Tianaman Square. The luxury of Horizon Club Level is well worth the extra cost. I will certainly return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Graeme Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Graeme Y, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the hospitality and service from our team and in particular the Horizon Club. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent room and unbeleivably friendly service. Hotel and rooms are artistically decorated in traditional tones to provide a great ambience. Club room eats and drinks are worth upgrading to with lot of great treats including delicious custom made chocolates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Sunny678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Sunny678, thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed our Horizon Club room and lounge facilities. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. China World Hotel is well located and has great facilities for both business and leisure travelers. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,478 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,841 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#2 of 6,531 in Beijing
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,447 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#12 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#18 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#112 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £109 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing