We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service of the hotel is excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
1 review
“The service of the hotel is excellent”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The service of the hotel is excellent and everyone is friendly to me especially the beautiful manager named Madeline.She introduced the hotel information patiently .Thanks for her kindness and hospitality.The room is clean and tidy which makes me feel comfortable just as at home in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear mary T,thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the hospitality and service from our team and in particular the Housekeeping service. Madeline, was really happy with the recognition,she loves working in the lobby. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    460
    92
    21
    20
See reviews for
218
169
72
1,108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent experience during my stay at this hotel - very convenient location, fantastic and helpful staff at check-in and at the cafe. I would definitely choose to stay here for my next business trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Ella W,thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed China World Hotel. And thank you for highlighting our service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is amazing - very Western. Everyone who works there is friendly. It is attached to a very high end mall with great shops and restaurants. We were expecting a regular hotel room and were very pleasantly surprised with the size of our room. In addition to the large bedroom, we also had a living room, dressing/makeup table and 2 bathrooms! The hotel is within walking distance to additional shopping and restaurants and is not too far away from Forbidden City.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mary M,thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our Suite room and facilities comfortable. Yes, we have a great location - transport, shopping and all right in the CBD. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is clean and neat, good health centre, prompt service. Breakfast is more oriental than continental and could have a more international appeal. Located in the middle of the central business district which is an advantage when travelling on business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiranPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear KiranPrasad, thank you for your review.We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable and enjoyed the service from our team and in particular the Health Club.Your points on the breakfast was noted, this area we will look into.We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Shane's China World is one of the older but still one of the best in Beijing. Reliable, great service at front, desk,h/k and r/s. No problems with wireless internet. Very comfortable bed and bedding, good lighting, spacious, grove everywhere bathroom. Most important for me this last week after two hotel changes, A/C works --you can set it down to 18c. or anything above . It is not a fake thermostat, there is no governor, as at many 4* and 5* hotels that limits you to going down only as low as 22 or 23 c. If coolness when you sleep is important to you (in what in the summer is a very hot, dirty, air polluted city), the right to adjust you A/C should be important.

One final item, carpeting in my room was visibly worn -- such a simple fix!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestEastOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear WestEastOne, thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable, and enjoyed the service from our team. And thank you for highlighting the room air con system to make staying comfortable; our rooms will be progressively refreshed in 2014. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed twice at this hotel more than ten years ago. Was forced into China World as no room at Traders or Kerry (stayed 7 nights). Very sad decline in level of service. Cafe hostess refused to allow me to sit at window; pushed around on subsequent days to tables I did not want; eventually stopped having breakfast at Cafe even though it was included in my rate. Woman at Travel desk refused to reconfirm my flight; assistant manager eventually stepped in and graciously did so. Had to twice ask housekeeping to vacuum my room; otherwise would not have been cleaned for full 7-night stay! Rooms Need complete refurbishment. Kerry is much better choice; even Traders over China World.

Room Tip: Rooms need complete refurbishment, including mouldy shower stalls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank EdwardL435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear EdwardL435, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry some aspects of your stay were not up to expectation, your points on the breakfast and Travel desk service were noted, these are areas we will look into. We do have a great location in the CBD, subway, shopping malls and this is convenient for our guests. Please contact me on john.rice@shangri-la.com if you want to share other aspects of your stay, or if I can be of further assistance. Please let me know when you next visit Beijing I would be pleased to assist with the reservations. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The environment clean and tidy, fitness facilities, thoughtful service. The gym has a lot professional coach could help member training. A wide variety of courses to meet the needs of members, such as yoga, Pilates. Suitable for fitness music always let members relax a variety of fitness exercise. The front desk is provided free drinks and fruit. The staff are friendly and give accurate help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tina L, thank you for your review and for offering to share the pictures. We are delighted to hear you found our rooms and facilities comfortable and enjoyed the service from our team and in particular the Fitness Center. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,428 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,788 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,520 in Beijing
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,408 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#109 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing