We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more impressed with the gym” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“more impressed with the gym”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

have been there for dinner twice and stay overnight on a weekend , the room is normal standard with nothing really special to mention , hotel gym , on the contrary is something worth to exprience , good pool with nice inner relaxation area . buffet dinner is good but need to pay extra for the drinks , breakfast bit weird as they provided sushi - little cold for morning stomach I am gonna say

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakunamatata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear kakunamatata,thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the gym, it is one of the city’s best equipment, and Scene a Café is a real buffet destination. We appreciate your support of China World Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,639
    444
    87
    21
    19
See reviews for
203
150
69
1,076
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this property in April 2014. the staff could not have been better. The hotel was as clean as any I have ever seen. There was staff 24/7 in the lobby offering assistance at all times.
the hotel is connected to a mall type of structure that contained shopping, restaurants and even a grocery & drug store. This was all a big plus as the city (I am sorry to say) has the foulest air that I have ever encountered. The pollution is not a myth at all. There is a constant pall over the city that inhibits all exploration. This is a place to which I shall never return. It is poitively unhealthy. As a side note, Shanghai was slightly better but still far more polluted than any city that I ever ever visited in any other country the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear sleeplessknight7, thank you for your review and nice to see you enjoyed China World Hotel. The city is implementing initiatives to assist a better environment. Our location is convenient to all major attractions and the CBD. So we hope this was of assistance. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stopped by Beijing on a business trip. Sending an email out to the travel desk before my departure from the US got everything organized before I arrived. They were helpful and ready for me as I walked in the door. The room was very nice with a reasonable view, and comfortable beds. The bathroom was roomy and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneKampsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear JaneKampsten, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at China World Hotel.And thank you for highlighting our Concierge tour service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing.Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

China World Horizon Club level is my hotel of choice whenever I'm in Beijing on business and for pleasure. The staff is always friendly, thoughtful and accommodating. It's a joy to stay there whether I'm alone on business or with my husband.
The rooms are always clean, large and the rest of the staff is very friendly.

Joan

Room Tip: reserve for the Horizon Club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPC513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Joann P,thank you for your review. We are glad to know you have wonderful memories of your time with us. The Horizon Club is enjoyed by many of our regular guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards. John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed 5 days at the China World Hotel. The location is good. But I was expecting much more from the ranking. Main reason: The hotel is comming into his years.
The good thing: it is next to a subway station


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoSwitzeralnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear MarcoSwitzeralnd, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at China World Hotel. Our guest rooms and Horizon Lounge will be progressively refreshed this year. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The quality of this hotel is extraordinary in every way. I have stayed in a number of five star hotels in Asia and this one is superior to all of them, particularly when value for money is taken into consideration. During this past visit, and during previous visits, the service, the room itself, and the food were all exceptionally good. When asked for suggestions for improvement, I could not think of any (and this is rare for me).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Donald K,thank you for your review. We glad you enjoyed China World Hotel. And thank you for highlighting our service and food quality. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Shangri la world

- luxury lobby
- comfort bed
- express service
- nice location but not the best to reach attraction by walking. You may try Westin hotel area hotels
- Business oriented hotel

Dislike
- unfriendly staff
- late Check out due to inexperience staff (30 min)
- difficult to get Taxi

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mustantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-ChinaWorldHotel, General Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mustantm, thank you for your review, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at China World Hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Beijing. Regards, John Rice, Area General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,435 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#123 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing