We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #20 of 6,550 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is the best hotel i've stayed in thus far, and i must say I've travelled a lot and seen many hotels. First thing that catches your attention once you enter is the grand expansive lobby. you can actually sit back and relax in the beautiful lobby listening to the live music.
Rooms are just ok in terms of space and clean but the best thing about the rooms is the beds: so sodt and comfy that I literally slept like a baby. From the front desk to the cleaning staff all of them are friendly and willing to help, despite the language difficulty.
Another delight is the restaurants and the buffet breakfast.I must say its one of the most wholesome and exhaustive buffet you'll get anywhere. Thumbs up China World Hotel. I'll come back whenever in Beijing.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galvanizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

Dear Galvanizers,

Greetings from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 28th June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you've given us a "thumbs up" about our pride and joy - our colleagues who served you, our majestic lobby with a 10-piece orchestra playing on weekends, our restaurants and our bed in which you had slept soundly.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride welcoming our guests, and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have a delightful experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director Of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

Hotel is very nice. Room size is really good. Conveniently located close to the subway station. It is a stop away from the Silk Market (Hint: Pay for 10% of their asking price at the Silk Market). About 15 minutes by train to Tiananmen Square.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

Dear Matthew,

Greetings from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 24th June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us, and happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel with convenient location and our guest room.

We do value your feedback as one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and take care of our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever,

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Wow, what an amazing lobby, over the top Chinese modern but a delight to the eyes. Relax in the lobby lounge listening to the daily performances of a quartet or even opera, with light flooding in from the huge sky light above.

From the service of the front desk staff to the excellent cuisine, comfortable beds and large bathrooms, staying at China World Beijing is a pleasant escape from the many international hotels without soul.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Starfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2010

"Dear 5Starfriend,

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 22nd June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a fabulous stay with us, and that you found your time at China World Hotel a “…pleasant escape from the many international hotels without soul”. Indeed, our lobby's environment evokes living in majestic Chinese splendour, alongside such contemporaries as the skylights and the orchestra. We are also happy that our bed and bathrooms, our culinary offerings and my colleagues at the front office met with your discerning expectations.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and care for our guests, and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at all..

Best regards,


Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I stay at this hotel 2 times a year typically for 3 nights, with the last stay in May 2010. It is consistently a good hotel with nice, spacious rooms.
The location is very good and the Chinese and Japanese restauarants are wonderful.
Usually for our meeting we are always in the lobby area thoughout the enitre day - so my only complaint is that the lobby is a smoking area and gets incredibly smokey during the afternoons it is a little busier - wish it was smoke free. May try the Hyatt next door if this doesn't change.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I stayed at the China World hotel for one night on my way out of China (stopover in Beijing to catch my flight home). I actually booked here by mistake - I thought I was booking the Kerry Centre Shangri-La, where I visited the bar about a week earlier with some friends - but I enjoyed the stay nonetheless. The rooms are well-appointed and quiet, the mini-bar wasn't too over-priced (40 RMB for a beer isn't horrible), and the breakfast buffet was excellent.

I'm not sure if I'd stay here again on a leisure trip, but it is very convenient to the subway to/from the airport so for my purpose it was perfect. There is a mall beneath the hotel which has entrances to two subway lines, and the line which runs to the airport express train is just a short walk outside from the front of the hotel.

They also have free wireless, which is a plus for me.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Dear Guest

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 17th May 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us, that our location offered you convenient access to the subway station, and transfers to and from the airport. We are equally pleased to learn that you found your room to be well-appointed and serene, and that our breakfast was to your satisfaction.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and take care of our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future. Please do contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever,

Best regards,


Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and it was a great experience. Although the carpet had some stains, all in all the room was very good. The lighting was great and the bed was very comfortable. The turn down service was phenomenal as was the service. Everything you requested happened in a split second. The location was great for the metro and the restaurant was perfection. The mall and the ice rink below it was wild! There was no view to speak of but that was ok by the time we hit beijing. I'm not sure there would have been a view of note in any room. We recommend this hotel highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Director of Rooms at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Dear Madam

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 17th April 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our service(s) “phenomenal”. We are also happy to know that our culinary offerings and CBD centered location met with your approval.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and take care of our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and we are thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever,

Best regards,
Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed here for leisure, but it is clearly a business oriented hotel. Rooms are great and it is located on top of a mall. First class amenities in the rooms and a large bathroom. No views to the hotel as it is just in a business district. The food we had was outstanding. The staff were helpful and courteous. As expected, communication was at times difficult, but that was ok. I don't speak chinese and I don't expect everyone to speak perfect english everywhere in the world.

Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
Thank worldup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,514 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,869 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#12 of 6,550 in Beijing
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#4 of 6,550 in Beijing
781 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,550 in Beijing
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#13 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#19 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#111 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £104 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing