We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not for the next visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Ranked #18 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Novosibirsk
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good, but not for the next visit”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We held a conference in this hotel, and from that point of view it's perfect. It has a fantastic lobby, pretty good conference-halls with all possible facilities. But I would never choose this hotel for leasure. Firstly, it's rather far from touristic centre (always consider an awful traffic). Secondly, too many construction works around. Thirdly, rooms are rather small and too modest. Overall I was very much surprised to see Shangri-La sign, because I'm used to much more stylish Shangri-La hotels. Though they they that a real Shangri-La hotel in terms of luxury is their second hotel wnich is not far in the park.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibvaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    460
    92
    21
    20
See reviews for
218
169
72
1,108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Where to start? The staff was incredibly polite, yet unintrusive. The hotel itself is lovely and tastefully done. I have back problems and almost always have difficulty sleeping, but slept like a baby at the China World Hotel. If I tried hard, I might find something that wasn't perfect, but I'd have to work pretty hard to do it! Better than any other hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere at any time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2010
Dear Blipman,

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 6th September 2010, and for recommending our hotel to their audiences and to all your friends.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found our service colleagues was incredibly polite, we are equally glad that you have vert comfortable sleep in guestroom. We are motivated by your positive feedback - the best hotel I have ever stayed in, and will continually strive to improve our standards of service that you have come to enjoy and expect at our hotel.

Thank you once again for your post. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2010

It's my first time staying this hotel but I wiil recomend this hotel to all my friends. The room rate is value for money.This hotel have a good location.It's comfinence for shopping and having meals. From airport to hotel just need 30 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Dear Vanessa,

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 27th August 2010, and for recommending our hotel to their audiences and to all your friends.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable first stay with us, and that you found great value - for your room rate - in our offerings. We are equally glad that our location, in the commercial heart of this metropolis, had provided you convenient access to key shopping and dining venues, and to the airport.

Thank you once again for your post. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I stayed at the China World Hotel for 3 nights. It is a very good business hotel with nice rooms. The breakfast was outstanding. The staff were helpful and courteous!
The location is in the middle of financial center in Beijing. It is very convenient to the subway to/from the airport.
I will recommend this hotel highly and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENJOE2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Dear Weissfrucht ,

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to the audiences of Tripadvisor on 15th July 2010.

We are delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us, from the convenient access offered you by our location in the heart of the central business district, to the easy accessibility to the subway, financial centre and airport, and to our guest room. we are also happy that you found our breakfast outstanding, and our service colleagues helpful and courteous.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in welcome our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and we are thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,


Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This is the best hotel i've stayed in thus far, and i must say I've travelled a lot and seen many hotels. First thing that catches your attention once you enter is the grand expansive lobby. you can actually sit back and relax in the beautiful lobby listening to the live music.
Rooms are just ok in terms of space and clean but the best thing about the rooms is the beds: so sodt and comfy that I literally slept like a baby. From the front desk to the cleaning staff all of them are friendly and willing to help, despite the language difficulty.
Another delight is the restaurants and the buffet breakfast.I must say its one of the most wholesome and exhaustive buffet you'll get anywhere. Thumbs up China World Hotel. I'll come back whenever in Beijing.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galvanizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
Dear Galvanizers,

Greetings from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 28th June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to learn that you've given us a "thumbs up" about our pride and joy - our colleagues who served you, our majestic lobby with a 10-piece orchestra playing on weekends, our restaurants and our bed in which you had slept soundly.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride welcoming our guests, and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have a delightful experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director Of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Hotel is very nice. Room size is really good. Conveniently located close to the subway station. It is a stop away from the Silk Market (Hint: Pay for 10% of their asking price at the Silk Market). About 15 minutes by train to Tiananmen Square.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
Dear Matthew,

Greetings from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 24th June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a good stay with us, and happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel with convenient location and our guest room.

We do value your feedback as one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and take care of our guests and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to China World Hotel, Beijing in the near future, and do please contact us if we can be of any further assistance whatsoever,

Best regards,

Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Wow, what an amazing lobby, over the top Chinese modern but a delight to the eyes. Relax in the lobby lounge listening to the daily performances of a quartet or even opera, with light flooding in from the huge sky light above.

From the service of the front desk staff to the excellent cuisine, comfortable beds and large bathrooms, staying at China World Beijing is a pleasant escape from the many international hotels without soul.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Starfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenZhong, Manager at Shangri-La's China World Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2010
"Dear 5Starfriend,

Greeting’s from China World Hotel, Beijing.

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor on 22nd June 2010, in regards to your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a fabulous stay with us, and that you found your time at China World Hotel a “…pleasant escape from the many international hotels without soul”. Indeed, our lobby's environment evokes living in majestic Chinese splendour, alongside such contemporaries as the skylights and the orchestra. We are also happy that our bed and bathrooms, our culinary offerings and my colleagues at the front office met with your discerning expectations.

Your feedback really is one of the best ways we have to reward and motivate our staff to achieve the highest possible standards. We take great pride in trying to welcome and care for our guests, and genuinely make them feel at home during their stay, and I am thrilled that we succeeded in helping you have an enjoyable experience.

Thank you once again. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China World Hotel in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance at all..

Best regards,


Stephen Zhong
Director of Rooms
China World Hotel, Beijng"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,420 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,785 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,516 in Beijing
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,406 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's China World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's China World Hotel

Property: Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue | Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Beijing
#7 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#17 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#19 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#110 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's China World Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 716
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Beijing's diplomatic and central business district, China World Hotel, Beijing is a major component of the China World Trade Center complex, which includes two other Shangri-La hotels, two 38-storey office towers, two international residential apartment buildings, an array of restaurants and a highly prestigious shopping mall. Evoking the grandeur of Imperial China, China World Hotel, Beijing's lobby is welcoming and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La's China World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Beijing
China World Beijing
China World Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing