We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4+ star breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beijing International Hotel
Ranked #98 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel boasts 5 stars, however the room which we received was equipped with old stained furniture not worth more than 3 stars as well as toiletries.. Bed was good. View facing the Jianguomennei street was good. Bottle of water in the room was pricetagged 69 Yuan (Supermarket Price 3 Yuan). Drinks and coffe in bar 5 star prices - no chocolate, peanuts....
Breakfast - Super! Staff English skills..on scale to ten...3?. Location Tianmen Square 40 min.
Wangfujing pedestrian street 20 minutes. Sofa area in reception few seats and a disgrace, worn down would suit a 1 star resort hotel. The hotel was a part of a tour.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Beijing International Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

As part of our small tour by China, we spent two nights in this hotel. We were upgraded to an executive room and we had a great stay. It is very well located, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby (Beijing Central Station is also very close) and breakfast is stunning, with plenty of oriental and western options.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos_Gonzalez2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and our friends stayed at this hotel for three days while on a bespoke trip of China organised by Trailfinders. The choice of hotels for the whole holiday was out of our hands, but we certainly couldn’t fault this hotel in terms of the overall standard – it was listed as a four star but realistically would have a been a three (or three and a half!) by western standards.
The hotel itself was located on a busy main road, which led up to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, so we were well-placed for the items on our tour. However, the location wasn’t close to any local restaurants that we could see, so our evening meals were somewhat restricted to the hotel or be faced with blindly taking a taxi to somewhere a mile or two away. A few years ago this wouldn’t have bothered me too much but as we are all in our fifties, and my wife is currently suffering from arthritis in one of her knees, we were keen to relax in the evening, after having done a full day on our feet sight-seeing, so we were at the mercy of the hotel. Not only that, our friends were a little wary of going for local food, because we were getting a substantial amount of this at lunchtimes, so they wanted a change in the evenings (I must admit that halfway through the week I was beginning to sympathise!!).
The hotel itself looks very modern from the outside, and this image is maintained as you enter the spacious foyer. The hotel also has a conference centre annexed to the side of the building, and the both the hotel and conference centre are linked in the foyer. I haven’t confirmed this but we guessed that the hotel was probably built at the time of the Olympics, hence the modern feel. However, despite the modern, luxurious image, the carpets up in the halls were very worn, almost to the point of looking dirty.
We were checked into our rooms, and our luggage was taken up by the bell boy. We went up separately in the very fast lifts. The rooms were very clean; lovely king size bed (and comfortable) lovely marbled toilet area, bath and wet-room. The bath had spa heads inside so it looked as if we could have had a mini-jacuzzi if we so desired! Strangely for a hotel, there was a clear glass partition between this are and the bedroom – now this may be fine for letting lots of daylight through, but perhaps not the best thing to have your partner watching you shower, or using the toilet! Luckily there was a blind fitted.
Eating and drinking in the hotel was a bit of an issue. We were able to relax in the afternoons and early evenings after a long day out, and even allowed to smoke, in a large open bar area. However, drinks were very expensive for China – it was approximately five English pounds for a pint of lager, and about the same for any other drink which the wives had. There was then a 15% service charge added to the bill. This service charge was also added to any meals that we had in the hotel.
Now onto the meals. The hotel has five different eating areas, but we only used three. One was Chinese food, but looked a little too exotic (and pricey!) for the average person. Most meals were set and came in at around £25 on average. The other restaurant was similar, but less exotic, but still at almost the same price level. Then there was the “revolving restautant” on the top floor which catered for western tastes – at £75 for s steak we decided to give that a miss!
On our first night we decided to eat in what was also the breakfast area. This was a large buffet restaurant with a fixed price of about £25 (plus the 15% service charge of course!). The food looked great, and generally tasted fine, except that no matter what dish we had, they were all cold. Even the plates in the hot receptor were cold. It seemed that even if the food was hot when first served up, it wasn’t being kept warm on the serving counters, which actually marred the whole meal. We assumed this might have been because we went in too early, so with the absence of anywhere better the second night, we gave it another try but went in an hour later – no different!! Still cold. However, on the third and final night we found the fifth restaurant was a bit of an inbetweener, and you could also choose different dishes a la carte to suit personal tastes. Prices of dished here ranged from a few pounds up to around £15, so we had several different dishes which worked out at about the same price that we’d paid for the buffet on the previous evenings, except that this time the food was hot and very nice!
Breakfast was quite good – they had basically anything you’d expect from a top class hotel, ranging from continental style, or good old full English, and I had the full English three days running and can’t really fault it. The only downside was the usual catering toaster which seems to take forever to deliver a slice of toast!
There’s not much more to say about the hotel but I will mention one particular thing. There was complimentary water in the rooms, but there was also bottles of water which had to be paid for. It wasn’t situated with the mini bar but it did have a price tag on it. The price was about £6.80..........! One of our two friends decided that she wanted the extra water, so casually accepted that she’d have to pay that price, if that indeed was what it was. However, she only took a mouthful or two from the bottle, and when she came back from out trip the next day, the bottle had been cleared and a fresh one put in its place. Once again she had the water, and as one would expect when it came to check out she got charged around £13.60 for two bottled of water, out of which she’d probably had about three mouthfuls.
I have no idea how much the room rate is, but although it is a very nice hotel, I wouldn’t go there again by choice. Rooms were great, but the meals (and prices) were disappointing. It’s almost as if they know that the location puts their guests out of easy reach of local restaurants, making it more convenient for weary guests to stop and eat in the hotel, so they do tend to exploit their captive audience.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel, and there was a lot of traffic noise until the early hours. Our f...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My son booked this hotel, the moment he and my daughter arrived the service was extremely outstanding. The bell boy took their bags and waited for my adult children to check in. The service and facilities were incredible, modern and very clean. They enjoyed the buffet. Location was convenient. Thank you for taking great care of my adult children, you made their stay one to remember!! I will be using this hotel when my husband and I visit in August 2014.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Booked this hotel through ebookers and got a good discount. We arrived in Beijing around 10am and even though we were told we couldn't check in until 2pm they found us a room and told us we could wait for it to be cleaned which we did. We had been up since 4.30 that morning so were really grateful.

The hotel is in a decent location being on the main road so convenient for buses and taxis and was only a 20 min walk from the forbidden city. On entering the hotel it did have a 1960s feel to it. We we're put on the 12th floor which had good views. One morning because of an early start we decided to have breakfast room service. Don't do it. We seem to pay a lot for what in effect was coffee, a Danish pastry and a slice of toast.

We tried to get a hotel one day from outside the hotel using the concierge and we were told this particular taxi driver didn't take 'foreigners'! Fortunately my daughter can speak Chinese so could understand everything the driver was saying which wasn't pleasant! Anyway he eventually said he would take us but wasn't happy about it!

Felt really safe in the area. The major shopping areas were around 15 mins walk away. Really enjoyed Beijing and it was an easy city to get around using public transport. It was also very cheap in my view. Would definitely come back to Beijing again.

Room Tip: Take a taxi in your direction of travel as taxi drivers don't like turning around! Starbucks jus...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MandyandSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A serviceable modern hotel with a good location and ATM and hairdresser on the premises.The hotel has views of glittering Beijing below and is walkable to a number of key sites.
Not charming but comfortable and serviceable. I'd go back again..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed there 3 nights, the bathtub was a little bit dirty but was not a big deal. The hotel is located in a main street and is steps away from the subway wich cost 1 Yuan (U$0.16 cents). and the bus stop also wich is 2 Yuans (U$ 0.32) Both of then are really clean, You just need a little bit of orientation to experience the city. the staff in the hotel were very friendly and good service.

They have a good selection of food in the breakfast buffet for western people, also you can try their food also.

In front of the hotel is a tunnel to cross the main road and you will get to a supermarket, food court and shops with reasonable prices.

The hotel is also located in a great location near to some tourist spots and malls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemarlin93926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jianguo Garden Hotel
Jianguo Garden Hotel
#150 of 6,531 in Beijing
337 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,468 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,531 in Beijing
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing International Hotel

Address: No.9 Jiangguo Mennei Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100005, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beijing International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 916
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beijing International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing