We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #63 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I booked this hotel after recently staying in a excellent Crowne Plaza in another part of China. I was hoping to have a similar experience but alas, I was disappointed. Walking into the hotel it looks beautiful but then you check in....

First let's start with the positives. Location was GREAT and the hotel was clean, for the most part. OK, now moving on to the negatives. Service was good but didn't seem as professional as it should have been. Arriving in the room I could see time had taken its toll. The TV was pretty run down and the reception was shoddy. The beds were a little sunken in and the desk/counter running along the wall had water stains. The easy chair also had stains but I cannot attest to what they were from. The pool is small and run by the Swimming Nazi. He was always telling us to stop something (nothing to do with safety). I could not quite figure it out but I think he wanted to make sure nobody had any fun, especially my 3 kids. Be sure to note internet access is $20 USD A DAY and the breakfast buffet is almost $30 USD per person. Overall, I have had better experiences at a Super 8. This hotel needs a renovation and customer service training.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location. At the same time, we regret to learn that you had a less than a satisfactory experience for our facilities and service. We have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. We will continue to provide training, as we always do to the staff to keep improving the service standard. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    657
    274
    83
    37
See reviews for
297
360
113
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for about 4 nights on a business trip last June - was a very nice and comfortable hotel with complimentary wifi and a great buffet breakfast. Staff were very helpful especially the concierge team. Would recommend for great value as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. It’s a great pleasure to learn that the hotel impressed you deeply. We are also very happy to know that our colleagues were helpful during your stay. Thank you for your sincere comments and we will continue to provide excellent service in the future.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The people at the front Desk did not speak a lot of English but we were in CHINA! They get an A for effort. They were friendly and helpful. We booked two rooms one for our Boys and one for us, we asked that they be close together if possible, we ended up with an adjoining door it was great. We used the internet in the Lobby it was slow but it worked. The location was fantastic, right on Wangfujing St. We walked to T Square and Forbidden City. Free water 4 bottles every day (this was important at 44 C during the day. Air Con was fine. Avoided the Hotel taxi and the trips organized at the Hotel. Subway was close, we went on an adventure found everything we needed and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImGeofft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We are also very happy to know that our Concierge staffs were helpful during your stay. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location. At the same time, regarding your comments to our front desk English service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. We will continue to provide training, as we always do to the staff to keep improving the service standard. For internet service, we will find our IT engineer to maintain it. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in CROWNE PLAZA for 5 nights. The hotel's loaction is Good. Its 2 mins. walk from WANGFUJING PEDESTRIAN AREA. The area is good for Shopping and DINING. The Hotel has a Swimming Pool on Terrace with Jacuzzi. Its Good.
The Best thing about the hotel is the STAFFS... They are really great. They are always there to help you. I was searching for INDIAN restaurant, they gave me some phone number and I got my food in the ROOM..!! The food was amazing.
Also they sent a CAKE on my BIRTHDAY...!!
I'm surely gonna stay again..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnygeo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of the famous Tianamin Square, shopping centers, and restaurants and the best street food stalls that come to life in the evenings with tasty local fare and the freshest of sea-food and meats dishes.I would recommend this hotel highly. Better still if you are a Loyalty Club member of this group of hotels the evening happy hours are good value and you can also enjoy a less crowded breakfast room,

Room Tip: Chose a room on the higher floors for more quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location and service. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The Crowne plaza wangfujing did not disappoint. Well appointed rooms. Clean. Nice buffet. English speaking staff. It was walking distance to forbidden city and a long walk to tianemen square. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idesignstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our room, service, buffet and location.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When travelling we always want to be able to sleep well and breakfast well. The room and bed and bathroom were very good and breakfast was western as well as Chinese and very good.

Hotel position was super central and the staff very helpful.

One surprise was a knock on the door at 23.40 where a young woman asked to be allowed to come in and give me a massage! I explained she might have the wrong room number and that my wife was with me .

I reported the incident to the shift manager and he in turn spoke to security!

it would seem that in many hotels the business cards of similar young women are often pushed under room doors!

It was very amusing and the hotel was very good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience.
We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our room facilities, breakfast and location.
Regarding your comments to the incidents with the young women, we have taken up the matter with our hotel management team. We will enhance the management of security to ensure guest safety and comfortable stay experience.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#69 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#77 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#56 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
#82 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing