We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for small prize”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Ranked #65 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect location for small prize”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for your great service provided to us. We had certainly a great time before leaving China. Wangfuijing is with the best hotel location in Beijing with many different chain and local hotels.

- Good choice of Chinese and western breakfast
- Comfort bedding & room
- helpful Concierge for special cases
- wonderful and passionate staff at Chinese Restaurant

The only negative things which came to our attention are:

1. Swimming pool area wasn't really clean
2. No hotel parking area - around the hotel only limited space for charge

Room Tip: - enjoy a drink in the Lobby bar with live- piano music - ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_ahlbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel breakfast, room facilities and concierge service. Regarding your comments to our swimming pool cleaning and car parking, we have taken up the matter with our hotel operation team. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    670
    282
    86
    39
See reviews for
303
365
115
424
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Though you're in China you wouldn't expect from a hotel chain like Crown Plaza (IHG) to have such low standards in terms of cleanliness, hygiene and maintenance! Our room was a total disappointment: hair and dust everywhere specially in the bathroom and bed sheets! Carpets very dirty, bulbs not properly fixed!
To end it when you come back after midnight to the hotel security is sleeping on the chair and concierge having his feet up on the desk!
Recommended some mystery shopper: they won't be disappointed at all!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChristianJabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing for your recent stay and sharing your experience. At the same time, we are really sorry to hear about your unhappy experience with the cleanliness and maintenance and staff performance. We have taken up the matter with the hotel management team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. We would very much appreciate if you could e-mail us your reservation details, room number and your name to info@crowneplazabj.com to contact Marketing & Communications Department, so that we can investigate more and ensure to make the right improvements on our part. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our service and facilities. We hope to welcome you again in Beijing in the near future and we promise your next stay will be a great experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just stayed in this hotel for 3 days on business in Beijing. I was upgraded to a suite, which was a good sized even by US standards. The room was decently clean, but had its rough spots (shower, toilet). The breakfast was good, and the bar service was decent as well. The neighborhood is a little touch and go, and the nearest metro stop is a 10 minute walk, which gets a little sweaty in a suit on a hot day. There are certainly nicer hotels in Beijing, but for the money, this one will do the job.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor if you're concerned about noise. The hotel has an open atrium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel room, breakfast and service. For taking the metro, you might try to take a public bus for one stop to get to the subway station. Next time, you can try booking at our websites with more than 2 days advance to enjoy our advance booking rate, -you will get 20% discount at the best flexible room rate. Besides, by being an IHG Rewards Club Member, you’ll get to enjoy exclusive benefits at all our hotel, such as free internet service, welcome drink, and so on. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to your new home in Beijing in the not too distant future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Crowne Plaza is centrally located in Beijing, right next to the major attractions and shopping areas. The hotel was clean and staff friendly. Our room was OK by most standards, no complaints. The WIFI was free once we signed up for IHG Rewards Club by simply sharing our email. The breakfast selection was average, but did have a lot of local breakfast dishes that were unfamiliar to us. One complain that I have is odd smell in some of the hallways, like a carpet that has been around for a while.

Note to travelers - we use CityMaps2Go for GPS location and the hotel was marked about 2 blocks to the east of actual location. I was not able to change it, so keep i mind.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitriy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, service and staff. Regarding your comments to the odd smell, we have taken up the matter with our hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

When both my wife and me arrived on 18 July morning, a tall concierge staff wearing black attire opened the doors very professionally, this began the great impression we have of this wonderful hotel! The day before reaching, I made a call to the concierge asking if city tours are available. When I reached, Kelvin immediately asked if I was the one that called. I said yes, and we had great service from him regarding the tours and other concerns we had. We were in fact very pleased w/ the whole concierge team, very knowledgeable and friendly. The check in was speedy, and because of IHG membership, we was given 2 complimentary vouchers to redeem drinks from the lounge, and free WiFi in our room (speed was ok). I must point out this is the 2nd time I stayed in a crowne plaza hotel, and both times they provided facilities and things in the room much more than what I needed. Very detailed, even a weighing machine was there. The pillow seems tired though, the aromatherapy (sleep advantage) provided wasn't as good as that at amsterdam south branch. Thanks for the daily newspaper in the morning. Our dinner at the chinese restaurant was great, yummy food and friendly service. Hope to try out the buffet breakfast (quite highly priced as in Beijing) on ground floor in future, and angus steak restaurant looks really good but also too pricey as compared locally, thus gave a miss first to try out others- famous chinese restaurants outside. The area around this hotel seems safe, and very near to many attractions. Normally, we will either take cab (cheap) or the train (fast + super cheap rmb2 per trip). Wangfujing street nearby is also great to walk and shop. Everything was easily accessed within/ around the hotel. The check out could be a little quicker w/ an express initiative/queue. Again, the concierge team excels-asked if need to have my luggage to be park with them first, while waiting to check out. I also requested for a taxi to airport which they got a comfortable cab for me promptly. For this overall great service, I am impressed with my IHG membership, which includes now two of my favourite hotel chains- holiday inn and now crowne plaza. Many thanks to the whole team in crowne plaza wangfujing for such great memories and service!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JasonHanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, WI
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff here are great, that is why I rated the hotel better. They are very friendly and their English was good. (I know I'm in their country, but that is why we chose Western style hotels.)

Breakfast buffet was excellent. That was another reason I rated the hotel higher.

Rooms are just average. Our first non-smoking room smelled like smoke so they switched us, no problem. Just the basics though. Nice to have a few English speaking channels on TV too. The A/C's output is minimal. It didn't matter what settings we used. I was warm every night. FYI: The beds are very firm as well. We could hear our neighbors coughing at night, but could not hear into the atrium (we had inside facing room).

Be careful when you use Wi-Fi. It is included, but only if you sign on with one of three pages. They tried to charge us the equivalent of $30 for it, but once we explained no one told us to use a specific page they waived the fee since we only used it in the lobby area.

The pool was on the cool side and the hot tub was quite hot.

The hotel location is wonderful. (The last reason I rated higher.) Close to a shopping mall that had great tourist friendly restaurants. Near the Forbidden City too. We walked around the area and discovered a hutong that was very fascinating.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Inside if you want quiet...outside if you want the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma_golfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear guest,
Greetings from Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing! We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your home away from home. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel location, staff and breakfast. At the same time, regarding your comments to swimming pool service, we have taken up the matter with the hotel operation team. Please rest assured that appropriate steps are being taken to avoid any recurrence. For internet charges, our hotel should pay for the internet service, so we need to charge some internet fees to guests, and hope you can understand the policy. And we provide free WIFI service at the lobby, and free internet service to all the IHG Rewards Club members, if you join in the Club, you could get free WIFI service, one free drink and other benefits as well. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

In beijing Central area there are quite a few hotels with the same government star rating, but given hotels have to pay money to the government to get a rating and also approval to put up foreign tourists, a lot of chinese hotels really are not what they purport to be. Don't risk a chinese hotel in Beijing, I've done it and so too have travel agents done it to me, it's not worth it. This hotel is legitimate and cheap and as you expect. Maybe the rooms are a bit small and the food expensive but there's so many eating options outside to experience so rest of the hotel is perfect and what you need in a central and perfect location for a few days business or holidays.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPBJwangfujing, Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your positive comments with regards to our hotel. At the same time, thank you for bringing some comments for the room and food price to our attention, after all it is only through comments such as yours that we can only hope to improve our services and facilities. Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#28 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,887 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,439 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#24 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#80 of 6,520 in Beijing
503 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Address: No.48 Wangfujing Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Beijing
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
#85 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on bustling Wangfujing Avenue, Crowne Plaza Beijing stands in the heart of the city s vibrant shopping and international business centers, such as Oriental Plaza, Financial Street and CBD. The hotel is Just 45 minutes drive from Beijing International Airport and 15 minutes from Beijing Railway Station with easy highway access to Shenyang, Tianjin and Shijiazhuang. Just a 10-minute stroll or taxi ride will bring you to the magnificent Forbidden City and other historical landmarks including Tiananmen Square, Great Hall of the People, Temple of Heaven and Lama Temple.At each memorable day s end, ours is a familiar, friendly face welcoming you with all the comforts of home. In Beijing, you ll agree that The Place To Meet is Crowne Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Beijing
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing