We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #157 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Berkeley
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“elegant problems”
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This hotel has a personality split. From outside and inside it looks elegant, indeed opulent. I had a spacious suite very well appointed with good amenities (tea, fridge, a lot of electrical outlets with US plugs). However, at night when wind picked up the whole outside wall started to make very loud creaking, rattling noise as if it was about to fall apart. The noise was loud enough to me clearly heard by other party when talking on a cell phone. Impossible to sleep.
Similar duality with food and service. The checking staff was grumpy, unfriendly and inefficient. It took two days and two requests to have a specially advertised 100% feather pillow to be delivered to the room. The maid brought it in at 9:30 pm entering the room and the bedroom without any knock, just opening the door with her own key and walking in. I was already in bed. The feathers in the pillow must have been turkey since it was as hard as stone. On the other hand, when checking out I forgot my cell phone in the room and a busboy came running down with it to bring it too me - very nice.
The Chinese restaurant had exquisite service and very good food (mostly Cantonese?) while at breakfast there was a large selection of mediocre quality. Even Chinese food was much worse that expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    83
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
5
4
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel in mid October 2012 (6 nights, Business Suite, breakfast not included, Wi-Fi/Internet not included). Our check-in was quick and the reception staff were friendly and efficient. When we came to our room we found out that the room air-conditioning system was not functioning (according to the staff, this was a known issue and the air conditioning for the rooms of that section of the floor was not functioning!). We informed the housekeeping and they came up with the solution providing us with a fan! As there is a big difference between the function of a fan and air conditioning, (and we have paid for a room with air conditioning!) we didn’t agree with the solution. Then they re-allocated us to another suite in 12th floor. I couldn’t understand why they didn’t think about this before allocating us to the first room and later providing us with a small fan!! One night we also had a problem with hot/cold water supply to the bathroom but it was fixed next day morning.

The suite (including the bathroom) was very clean (except some stains on the carpet in the living area), spacious and equipped with all the necessities. Room air-conditioning system was very quite and effective.The view from the room was not great but was not bad. We didn’t use the hotel restaurant as local restaurants and super markets (Wal-Mart and North Star - our preference was North Star Shopping Center - just opposite of the hotel) are very close to the hotel. They had everything what you needed, including food.

Hotel personal (including reception, bell boy etc.) were very friendly, polite and helpful. Most of them spoke adequate English. The hotel lobby area and the restaurant were very impressive. Hotel is situated very close to the 2008 Olympic venue (15-20 minutes walk to Birds Nest, Water Cube) and also to the Beijing Subway (Olympic Green station).

Most of the hotels we stayed in China had at least free Wi-Fi in the lobby area. This service was available for hotel guests (including wired internet service in room) for a fee (around 1 Yuan per minute). Hotel management should consider introducing Free Wi-Fi in the lobby area.

Room Tip: During the check-in ask reception whether room is fully functional. Room on a higher floor should gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you for your kind patronage of our Hotel during your last visit in Beijing, China. Definitely, your time and efforts are highly appreciated especially in sharing with us your personal feedbacks of the hotel, in particular the services and facilities that we offered. And also, in behalf of the Management, i would like to extend our sincerest apology for the shortcomings that happened especially with the air conditioning problem of your room that was allloted when you arrived at the Hotel, and as well the supply interruption of the Hot and Cold Water in your room. Definitely, i agree with you that most Hotels in Beijing are offering Free Wi-Fi to their guests mostly in Public Areas, as long as you are a registered guests or paying customers at their restaurants, lounge or bar. And with this respect, we already made proposals to consider that Wi-Fi be made FREE not only in the public areas but as well in the guest room by next year to our paying guests in the Hotel! Certainly, we will not tolerate that our staff will be asked by guest if our room facilities are functioning well or not upon check-in. As always, it was a standard that all rooms released to vacant/clean by our Housekeepers are all good for guest use. We still hope that we can have you as our guest in the coming future and make your stay an enjoyable and pleasant one as it should be, looking forward!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

2 adults and three kids shared a two room suite for two nights which is not easy to find. This hotel is not far from the Olympic village and very easy to drive to the great wall. But it is really dated five star hotel but the price is still five star price in the terms of dinning, spa, and the room.

The lobby was grand which is the best part of this hotel. The room was spacious for 5 of us. Both rooms had TVs for kids. The furniture,TV,the carpet, and the lights looked like from twenty years ago. The bath room needed a remodel for sure. I saw quite a few cracks on the wall and the floor.

The service was great especially the Spa but you do pay for the price.

It was a short walk for us to the restaurants and shopping malls across the street. It is not close to a subway. We booked a car for two days so we visited the Great wall and the Olympic stadium, the water cube. The technology mesuem is not far neither and my kids loved it when it was raining one day.

If you want to stay in this area and you don't need a suite for your family as I do, pick another newer hotel which was built for 2008 Olympic game. I really liked the national conference center hotel not far away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjkittycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful support. As one of the early 5 Star Hotels around the vicinity of the Asian Games Village (Olympic Village) since year 2000, we already started doing refurbishment works of our facilities especially of our guest room areas. At this moment, there are 9 guestrooms floors that we already completed these works. However, we regret that the room assigned during your last stay was still the old room. And also, thank you very much for the brief description of our Hotel, especially the proximity of different places around us, that include transportations around the area. And for this reason, we remain as one of the best choice and located Hotel around the areas of the Asian Games Village especially for guests who wants to see the the Olympic Park and attends conferences at the China National Convention Centre (CNCC) and the Beijing International Convention Centre (BICC).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riedisheim, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I was there for 5 nights at the end of july and beginning of august 2011. It was my first visit to China and to this huge city. The name of the hotels incited me to dream about this. Well I m not a celebrity and I can understand celebrities probably don't stay there when they visit China. However this, for me, 4-star hotel, for french standards, was very well located, close to the olympic stadium and all the new area that was built for the olympic games in 2008. Rooms are good, quite a bit small, furniture should be renewed and most important the bathroom merits a high level of equipment.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We highly appreciated your kind patronage of the Hotel. Your detailed description of our facilities represents how well travelled and observant you are.We are delighted to know that the word "Celebrity" incited you to dream of becoming one! However, you're right that most celebrities don't stay in our Hotel, but only few ones! As for the improvement of our guest room facilities, we are actually doing this at present and to be continued as well this coming year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
92 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stayed for 6 nights in August. The lobby was pretty impressive but unfortunately the room I stayed in needs renovation. The location is near the Olympic Village and not near the centre of Beijing. Traffic in Beijing was absolutely terrible and I wouldn't recommend if your activities are not around that area. The room was adequated and dated with stains in the carpet. Bathroom was OK.
I think this hotel has potential to become a better one if they could pay more attention to details and service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Our sincerest thanks and appreciation for your kind patronage of our Hotel.As always, we highly valued all the feedbacks that we received from our guests, especially those that will helps us to do more for our clients. We regret that the room assigned during your last stay was not the newly refurbished one's that we have on the lower floors of our guest rooms area. Definitely, the potential that you mentioned to become better always remain as one of our primary obsessions in order to provide the best services and facilities to our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for a medical conference, and found it a good choice. Attractive lobby, quiet, and helpful staff who understand at least some English. The rooms were well furnished with many amenities and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The hotel could use some updating, which is in progress but unlike other reviewers I didn't find the renovations to be noisy or obtrusive. Hard to get a non-smoking room, but that is typical in China. Free WiFi in the lobby would be a good idea, as would alarm clocks in the rooms. Probably not a 5-star hotel by American standards but certainly a 4-star in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzfam51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
First of all, we would like to extend our sincerest thanks and appreciation for your kind patronage of the Hotel during your last visit in Beijing while attending a medical conference. And also, we highly appreciated your time and efforts in giving us your feedbacks regarding the services and facilities of our Hotel. All your comments and suggestions will be considered for discussions for the benefit of the Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My father and I stayed here for six nights while attending a world medical conference. The room was clean and the bed not as hard as I thought it would be. The amenies provided were great and the staff tried hard to meet your needs. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby and second floor if you can get someone from the office to give you passwords, they change them periodically. Breakfast a plus. Adored the ladies in the beauty salon, the manager Alex was very nice, the bellboys polite and the consierge knowledgeable. Loved that a WalMart was on one side of the hotel (get extra water and goodies for snacks) and a shopping center on the other side. Be sure and ask for non-smoking rooms. Only problem is they showed discounts for services posted in elevator yet personnel were not aware of discounts.... should not post if not offering. Felt very safe. Beware that we found China is a little rasist toward Europeans and Americans.... i.e. cabs would often only take Chinese. We ordered a cab for a meeting and were there to watched 4 Chinese men served first without an reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yang F, Manager at Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
First of all, thank you very much for the time and effort that you have given us in relaying your personal feedback regarding the sorrounding environment and services that we have in the Hotel. We are very much delighted to know that you have great experiences while here in Beijing, China. Regarding the promotions within especially discounts offered by the Hotel for in-house guest, thank you very much for calling our attention into this matter so that we can improve the communications skills of our service staff to avoid confusion for guest satisfaction. Regarding your perception about Taxi Driver being racist to foreigner when getting Taxi, maybe it's about communication problem or the distance of travel, as the latter mostly is the main reason for the driver to refused not only the international guest but the local as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#522 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#131 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Olympic Village
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Asian Games Village
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing

Property: Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Address: No.99 Anli Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Region: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Beijing
#62 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#125 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#135 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing 4.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity International Grand Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing