We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Beijing North
Ranked #78 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Attended a meeting with many international visitors. Staff were great in attending to all our requests, however unusual to them. The Internet was slower and more restricted than I expected - but this was not due to the hotel. Front desk staff and IT support optimised what they could. The food was great - plenty of choice and quality - and two staff in particular (Jeffrey Yu and Jack Zhang) went the extra mile to help me find and wrap some porcelain tea cups to survive the long trip home. The hotel is quite far from the city center - but a very short drive to the train station. Great location for an international meeting.

Room Tip: Try to find a Chinese host or friend to secure a good rate. Everything is negotiable!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Beijing North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

The only complaint about this hotel is its location: midway between downtown Beijin and the Great Wall. Great if you plan a trip to the Wall and the Ming Dynasty's Tombs. A bit far from the centre of Beijin, although taxis are very cheap: less than 100 yuan from town and 120 or so from A/P.
I was impressed with their concierge: Jeffrey Yu. By a first look, you can tell him he is sharp. I don't know when he takes rests; he seems to be there all the time. Good English and fast thinker. He knew exactly what we wanted and accommodated our rather unusual requests.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Food was also very good. I understand that their main Chinese dining room is locally well known as well.
If you are going to visit the Great Wall, it is much better to stay here since you can avoid the terrible traffic jam during rush hours (which seem to be permanently in place).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

the room was spacious, always clean, they respected DND, i did not like the food, and none of the staff spoke English. we had to wait for one manager, a European lady who was very helpful in terms of communication.i loved the structure, and the breakfast restaurant which had a lot of sun light with an atrium above.

i recommend, but hope they speak more english.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilton_Beirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed at the Loong Palace for 3 weeks. Found the hotel to be excellent in almost every category that you can think of.
The breakfast was a great buffet that was very comprehensive and the staff very attentative and friendly.
The gym/spa was very well equipped.
The room was a larger room, which provided everything for a very comfortable stay and was well serviced. There were some problems with the air conditioning which required a change of room, but this was quickly dealt with and the new room was a blessing in disguise as it was on the garden side of the hotel, which was a tad quieter than the main road side.
Yes, the hotel is not in the centre of Beijing, but there is a bus stop outside of the hotel main entrance, at which several buses that stop there will go directly to Longze Subway metro station. Or the Life Science Park metro station is within walking distance.
I only tried the Japanese restaurant and lounge bar, both were good and the service provided excellent.
The concierge were always very helpful in the arranging of a morning taxi to the factory.
The only negative about the hotel was the speed of the Wi-Fi internet, which considering everything else about the hotel was really sub-standard.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side of the hotel are quieter, as you don't hear the main road.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Stayed here in January for the first part of my trip to China. As mentioned by other reviewers, it is not very centrally located for Beijing but great for heading to the Badaling Gate at the Great Wall. We found that the best solution was getting a taxi to the metro and using the metro system - which was incredibly simple to navigate and were able to visit all the main sites in downtown Beijing. We got a taxi back one day and the traffic in the City was like nothing I have ever experienced before. So we stuck with the Metro, except when heading to the Wall. The rooms were nice, clean and the majority of service was efficient. There were definite communication issues and check in & check out were a complete nightmare - 2 of us checking in at the same time - 8 people behind the desk - 25 minutes to check in and no other guests around! Would recommend you check your bill thoroughly as all 3 of us had other peoples charges on our bills. Found there was a great choice of restaurants but the food wasn't great quality. Over all I would stay again if I was there for a specific event, like this time but if I wanted to experience all the sites of Beijing, I would probably stay down town for the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fijura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Just stayed at Loong Palace and had a horrible stay. Tried to use the IDD for calling and it didn't connect a bunch of times. For the times that it didn't connect, the hotel charged me! I asked the front desk to remove them. Finally after yelling at me like a child and giving me a Chinese history lesson, the manager did. The restaurant was terrible. The waitress cut the Peking Duck, not a chef, and couldn't cut it at all! She left 25% of the meat on the duck and walked away! The tv's in the room are not HD and are the big, 2' deep kind from when I was a child. Definitely not 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckasis625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

our 3 night stay in this hotel was organised through a tour group in hong kong so the slightly lengthier distance between it and the city was not an issue as we travelled on a tourbus.
it fulfilled its functions of being a comfortable place to sleep.
the lobby and foyer area is very 'grand', typical of mainland china hotels, though the service is of a five-star hotel, which it is advertised as.
the location is a bit of a downer if you wanted to do any exploring, and its probably even a bit risky to go out on your own, especially at night (this is even though i have a chinese face, and speak mandarin) ; and the buffet breakfast is uninspiring.
the hotel has a spa and recreation centre, which seem to be run quite well. although i wouldn't call the spa luxurious, i did pop in for some reflexology a couple of times and that was quite relaxing as well as being relatively good value.
the rooms are large, clean and well-appointed although lacking in personality. as with many chinese hotels, there is a smell of cigarette smoking permeating the entire hotel, even in non-smoking hotels.
because we got a good price with the package tour we were on, we were pretty happy with our stay here but if i were to return to beijing on my own, i'ld probably pay a little more and stay closer to the city in a hotel with a bit more spunk.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank rose_nostalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,165 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Olympic Village
Ramada Beijing North
Ramada Beijing North
#133 of 6,531 in Beijing
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#73 of 6,531 in Beijing
313 reviews
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#92 of 6,531 in Beijing
898 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#94 of 6,531 in Beijing
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Beijing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Beijing North

Address: No.317 Changping Road, Beijing 102208, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel North Beijing)
Region: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#41 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#69 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Beijing North 4.5*
Number of rooms: 571
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Beijing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loong Palace Hotel Beijing
Loong Palace Hotel And Resort
Loong Palace Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing