We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Ranked #40 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed in the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights. The hotel is very clean, staff helpful even at 3am...
The pools is very large with 3 jacuzzis and a constant air temperature of 27C, perfect to relax.

As mentioned in the others reviews, the hotel is 20 min away from the forbidden city and 90min from the great wall (by taxi or bus)

I am unsure of the value for the money as I did not see the bill, but the bar and services are on the expensive side.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zike_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing!

Thank you for your review of the hotel, overall is was very complimentary and goes a long way in promoting the hotel on a Global basis for which we are sincerely grateful. Thank You!

We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

Walking distance to some major sightseeing (Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square), the Grand Hyatt Beijing is a well maintained and efficiently staffed hotel. The rooms are comfortable with nice bedding and well appointed bathrooms. The staff speaks limited English but were always extremely helpful and attentive. Breakfast was included in the rate and it was a generous buffet supplying both Eastern and Western fare.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay in Grand Hyatt Beijing. Indeed the hotel's location is very convenient to many of the key attractions in Beijing and I was very happy to read that overall you enjoyed our hospitality.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Grand Hyatt Beijing is located within walking distance of Tiananmen Square/Forbidden city, shopping and attractions.

The rooms are small but well appointed with all you can expect at a Grand Hyatt: fluffy pillows, nice towels and bedding. The bed was on the hard side, targeting the Asia clientele. Marble bathroom had shower and separate bathtub and nice counterpace. I had a nice view from my room to the fountain at the hotel's front.

Internet at lower speed was included (nice feature for a Hyatt, others should follow this). The speed was good for skype calls and casual browsing.

The indoor pool was awesome. I’ve been in many hotels and this one has to been my favorite. Tropical setting, lounge chairs, hot tubs. Great place to relax after a day walking in Beijing or the Great Wall.

Service attentive and cordial.

The Made in China restaurant serves a succulent roasted duck that is rated one of the best in Beijing.

Overall a great place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smertios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing!

I was very happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and rate us so highly. Thank you for all the comments and for high lighting many of the features of our hotel..... indeed the Peking duck at our "Made in China" restuarant is quite special.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I would like to say that the best thing about the grand hyatt Beijing is the swimming pool. It is just simply amazing. It has 2 hot tubs and a grand pool. My only complaint is the wifi here. It does not work very well in the rooms. I suggest that you only use it for Facebook and emailing and that kind of stuff. Overall I give it a 10/10 rating :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanwalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

Indeed the pool is very special and a truly unique feature of the hotel and to have you rate us 10 out of 10 is truly humbling, Thank You!

Your comments of the complimnetary Wi-Fi are correct that it is aimed at basic email, web browsing, updating facebook and that type of thing. We do however have a Premium service available for a nominal charge, which is for higher bandwidth activities like movie streaming, uploading large files, etc.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This was a great hotel . We arrived late at night and found the kids room ( we had interconnecting rooms) with three beautiful toy pandas waiting for them. The staff were multi- lingual which is great . The hotel is within walking distance of Tianamin square and the forbidden square . Plenty of restaurants in the nearby surrounds as well as loads in the shopping mall underneath the hotel.
Like many hotels in China the beds were somewhat harder than I would normally like.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marbelemclaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor, your comments and ratings really do go a long way to promote the hotel, for which we are very grateful.

I hope the kids loved their Pandas!!!

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here one night when we went home via Beijing. We wanted to make the best use of the time, and this hotel was the perfect choice.

It is about 5 minutes walk to Wangfujing. We ate Beijing Duck at Quanjude, walked around a little bit. Then we decided to walk to the forbidden city, and it took about 20 minutes. Isn't it very nice that everything is within the walking distance? The hotel is right at city center, but in a quiet street.

Our room is clean. The concierge service is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Owner at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Grand Hyatt Beijing on Trip Advisor. Indeed our location is fantastic and a simple stroll away to many of the key attractions in the city.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The Grand Hyatt Hotel in Beijing has an excellent location - it is in a shopping mall, it is next to Tiananmen Square, close to forbidden city and right opposite MOFCOM. It is best for people travelling for business, if the meetings are in the main city. Even silk street is very close, just a 5-10 mins by taxi. The food is good and Cafe at the lobby has good options for snacks. Concierge was very helpful as well with all translation requirements for directions.

The room has been designed very well, with all the possible client requirements addressed. I felt the room was little smaller than other comparable hotels. Overall, a great hotel and a must repeat one too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snazzy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PWrightHyatt, Manager at Grand Hyatt Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Reviewer

Greetings from Grand Hyatt Beijing

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel on Trip Advisor. Overall it was a very complimentary and positive review which goes a long way in promoting the hotel, for which we are sincerely grateful.

Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Paul Wright
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,479 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,722 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#27 of 6,556 in Beijing
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#33 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,560 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,556 in Beijing
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#145 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £130 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing