We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Ranked #41 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2009

The service at the Grand Hyatts is unbeatable - this Beijing property is no exception. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. Nearly everyone speaks English, and the front desk and concierge staff gladly write your destination in Chinese so the cabbies can get you to and from meetings and restaurants.

The hotel itself is well maintained. Rooms are very comfortable and well-appointed, with spacious and well-equipped bath. This will be my home away from home in Beijing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgentSmithDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,463 - 1,469 of 2,897 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for four nights and I would recommend it but there were some issues. Our room was a two bedroom and it was clean and fairly large. Our stay was just fine. But, a five star hotel should make you feel much more than "just fine." We greatly enjoyed the pool. It is truly something to see. We had dinner with friends at their famous restaurant, Made in China, and they could not have been LESS accommodating. We had young children with us and they gave us a very difficult time trying to make special orders for the kids. (Plain egg fried rice was an issue and it took over 30 mins. to receive it!) For a western owned restaurant, we were quite surprised by this. The food was good but we would definitely not rave about it being the best Peking duck ever. The Grand Cafe Med. buffet was good but very expensive and they gave us a hard time about charging a child's price for my daughter who was staying in our room free because she was a child. We voiced that they should be consistent in the hotel and restaurant and they eventually gave us the child's price. I think my big beef with the hotel is that it touts itself as being 5 stars but anywhere outside China, it would be considered a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2009

The Grand Hyatt was an amazing respite from the hectic pace of Beijing. We stayed on the Club Level, and the room was very well done- all custom millwork, and the bathroom was limestone floor-to-ceiling with separate tub and shower. As an architect I appreciate that the design was minimal and tasteful. Our room was very small, however, and they were fully booked. Next time I'll make sure to ask about the size beforehand.

The pool was truly amazing. Three stories underground, the "Oasis Spa" has thirty-foot ceilings and takes up probably a third of the hotel footprint. The walls are blurred with palm trees, boulders, and waterfalls to create the feeling of a tropical island. May sound cheesy, but they really pull it off- right down to the periodic frog chirps heard from invisible speakers. Adjacent to this is a well appointed gym with trainers available.

The service is 5-star, but the wait staff lingers too much. It's one of those places where you take a sip and someone is right there to fill your glass. I definitely felt like we were always being watched, but this is China...

Overall, highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warren393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

My family and I just spent five nights at the Grand Hyatt, Beijing. As many other reviwers have vouched the hotel's location is excellent and its easy to reach all touristic attractions quickly. We booked a two bedroom club suite (we are a family of five) and were very satisfied. The suite was spacious even with an extra bed for our youngest son and the rooms were clean and very well maintained. We had access to the Club facilities on the 17th floor and there was an excellent breakfast. We also enjoyed the happy hour from 5-8pm, especially after a long day walking the sights of Beijing. Yes, the pool is fantastic and the gym was also very well-equipped (just missing a rowing machine). Overall we were very pleased with the friendliness and service of all the staff. Our only disappointment was with Made in China, the hotel's highly rated restaurant. We pre-ordered the Peking duck but found the portions to be laughably small for 5 people. If you are tired and do not wish to stray far from the hotel I would recommend dining in the basement of the Oriental Plaza below the hotel.

Overall I warmly recommend this hotel to anyone, including families.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T01Bhelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

As the owner of the China luxury travel company accesschinatours.com, I have stayed in many of China's top hotels, yet Beijing Grand Hyatt is my favorite so far. There are several things going for the Beijing Grand Hyatt (Wangfujing location is unbeatable), but foremost are the outstanding ammenities. The indoor pool must be the best in Beijing, if not all of China. The club level food and drink selection and service is superb. The English communication ability of all staff, right down to housekeeping, is truly impressive. All this at a nice value for price as well, I highly recommend the property.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chinatravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Location:
As stated, this hotel was a perfect, centrally located base for sightseeing and shopping. Close to the forbidden city, but we did not walk as it as not recommended due to our large family size and young children.

Our situation and room specifics:
We stayed in a grand two bedroom which was in a corner and had a view of the oriental fascade hospital from the master bedroom and the opposite glass building from the living room and 2nd bedroom. We were a family of 6 traveling with 4 young children, including a 6 month old and 2 year old. In our initial booking only one crib was available, but the night we arrived they brought a second crib into the room immediately upon request. In the 2nd bedroom we had there was also a fold-out wall divider (and two doors into the room) that when opened effectively created a third bedroom for us, which was perfect. Room 957, I recommend it. The bed was a standard oriental hard matress, But they had put about a 3 inch pillow top over it which made it very comfortable and plush. Master bath had a large tub and separate shower. 2nd bath had a large tub/shower combo.

The room also had a kitchen with a hot pot, microwave, double sink and refrigerator. I also noticed that there was a stove top under the wooden server, but there were no pots, pans or dishes in the kitchen. We did not ask if they were available. The living room was large enough to seat all of us comfortably, but only two chairs at the table, but it worked as the kids gathered around the coffee table. The living room was also large enough to accommodate two massage tables and the doors were thick enough to allow quiet inside each room.

Meals/restaurants: As stated elsewhere the prices were inflated at the Made in China and Grand Café compared to other restaurants around town and especially compared to the mall under/adjacent to the hotel. After a day of touring, this was the choice for all but one evening meal with McD’s, Kfc, dairy queen for the kids. (all cheaper than similar meals in the states) Made in China was good, but not spectacular, we had preordered the Peking Duck, which was good, but not much to write home about. One complaint we did have was that it was their signature dish, but they didn’t even bother to explain the best way to eat it. In addition, the meat that comes off the duck is rather meager. However, the waitress was savvy enough to suggest the right amount of additional food we needed to order though. Breakfast was included in our room and was a great way to start the day, however, the bill we received each morning to sign (but not pay because the meal was included) was inflated. That being said, there was something for everyone. Hint make your special order for pancakes or waffles as you walk to your seat and pass the kitchen…they are made somewhere else, which never made any sense.

Other services: it was odd and both of us experienced this separately, but the male concierges we dealt with were not very good compared to the female concierges we used, mainly because of English language problems. Bellhops, doormen were very helpful loading and unloading the clan and luggage. Being able to receive a massage in the room after the kids knocked off to sleep was great. As stated elsewhere, the pool was spectacular. .5m section for little ones, 1.0 and 1.4 sections elsewhere. There were also little coves, waterfalls and 3-6inch water areas that were great with entertaining my two year old. The attendants at the pool were especially helpful and great safety monitors.
Money exchange was easy at the hotel and the adjacent building had a bank with ATM. Final note, the hotel is plush and business oriented, but at no time did we ever feel out of place with 4 sometimes noisy kids, there were enough white noises everywhere with waterfalls or activity etc. Each room had its own individual climate control as well.

Overall we were very very pleased with our stay at the grand hyatt.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Location
Grand Hyatt is within walking distance to the Imperial Palace and Tiananmen. Also, it is next to an underground station. You can pretty much go to the Olympic area, and Ritan area quite easily

Pool
They have a nicely decorated pool (called the Oasis, something like the pool in Thailand with trees but is actually indoor ) which is the perfect final stop after a day of walking around the city before you are ready to go out for dinner.

Made in China
A good high end Peking Duck restaurant with open kitchen. You need to book if you fancy going there. The duck is good but you can probably have good duck at more local restaurant (with less posh settings)

Others
Be careful with booking a car to the Great Wall, our driver forced us to go to the Silk and Pearl Factory such that he can get some petrol stamps! What a waste of time!

Foot Massage Places
For those who like to go for a foot massage, below are pretty good:
Address: Opposite of West Gate, of San Li Tun 3.3 Building. 48 Yuan for one hour, good massage, the cheapest we had in this trip but don't expect the perks (i.e. TV, and super clean place) - but I do recommend it.

Another one is near the Lan Club in Choyang Area ... their number is 86 10 6515 5886 but unfortunately we don't have the English address. 100 Yuan but good service, western TV channel and very clean place.

For shopping
If you are interested in labels clothings made in China (e.g. Prada, Chanel etc) for a fraction of the price, look for Kelly at Ritan Office Building, A15 Guanghua Road, Chaoyang District, Room 2000

Lan Club
A philippe starke design restaurant which is worth visiting for its decor and the food was quite decent too. Don't expect it cheap though.

Food portions are pretty big in Beijing (compared with London) so beware.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyChow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#26 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,482 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#25 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,722 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#27 of 6,556 in Beijing
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#33 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,561 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,556 in Beijing
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Beijing

Address: 1 East Chang'an Avenue, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100738, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#29 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#146 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £133 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 825
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Beijing is one of the finest hotels in Beijing and indeed China. In the prestigious Oriental Plaza in the centre of Beijing, the hotel is just minutes' walk from Tian An Men Square, the Forbidden City, the city centre and the Wang Fu Jing shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Beijing Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Beijing
Beijing Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing