We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it very much”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Hotel Beijing
Ranked #151 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Liked it very much”
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Stayed for three nights as part of a tour.

Had two room keys so it was handy if two of you needed to come back at different times or to leave one in the room so that the air con stayed on. Rooms were very warm even with air con (think some one moved rooms because of this). A thick duvet on the bed, as with most of the Chinese hotels we stayed at. Room not particularly big but clean. Kettle and tea/coffee sachets provided. Lighting quite dark, various spotlights, no main ceiling light. Slippers even replaced. Fun to watch the ten lanes of traffic or so if you’re on that side. Had a massage card put under the door!

Didn’t see many shops of interest, but there was a handy petrol station - turn right up the same side of the road - selling a few basics. The off-licence the other way seemed to want to rip tourists off - told us bottled water was about 4 times the usual going rate. Go to the petrol station instead, fixed prices and they sell beer! KFC right outside the hotel.

Breakfast room was very busy, food was nice - excellent banana bread/cake.

Can send postcards via the concierge by the front desk, although always dubious when you hand over the money and they say they’ll put the stamps on, most arrived but one didn’t.

Had a few goes at trying to change travellers’ cheques at reception as the person who dealt with the exchange was away from the desk on other business, but managed to do so in the end - but thought a £2 sterling charge on a £50 cheque a bit steep.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayForUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    94
    41
    9
    2
See reviews for
13
24
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

As a frequent traveller I was very pleasantly surprised by just how good the hotel is. The room was quiet, pleasant, well equipped and clean and the staff most friendly and helpful. In the UK I have spent many years having to stay in upper range hotels for work and finding a quiet room where one stood a chance of a good night's sleep was, in cities, very difficult. The 6.30 a.m. start for breakfast was spot on (unlike many UK hotels where they are never ready on time). I was the only foreigner who dined in the Chinese restaurant and the food and the service was just superb. Although not in the very centre of town it is only a short and very cheap taxi ride (considerably less than a bus fare for a comparable journey in the UK) took me to where I wanted to go. I would be pleased to stay there again.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SeymoreNonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

The hotel is very high standard - staff are very friendly and have good english. Hotel is spotless and all amenties are excellent. rooms have all facilities and are really good.

  • Liked — classy establishment - very clean and good facilities
  • Disliked — guess the location isn't the best but taxis are cheap and nothings that far away
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma2714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I have stayed in this hotel a few times.

Pro: The rooms are very nice and modern. Staff is friendly. It's is quiet. The breakfast buffet is great. At below RMB 600 is. a steal.

Con: The location is a bit inconvenient and it's a long long walk to the subway station.

I will stay there again on my next rip!

  • Liked — Large rooms, quiet, great value
  • Disliked — Location is a little off, but no big deal.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Lovely hotel, great room, pleasant staff, free bottled water in room every day, but breakfast times were chaotic to say the least. Staff unable to cope at breakfast time on both days we stayed, They ran out of cutlery, plates, glasses, food on both mornings, staff were running around like headless chickens, lack of any managment seem to be the problem.

  • Liked — Great rooms and public areas,
  • Disliked — Chaotic, breakfasts
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackimag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALES
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

The hotel itself is great, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, with a fridge and good size bathroom (with bath). Previous reviews have mentioned hard beds, our beds were fine, but our bed at home is hard anyway. We had an additional bed for our 14 year old son, this was fine, better that a lot of 'put ups'. They also give you a bottle of water for each person each day. Breakfast was plentiful and good, both Chinese and Western. Although the tea was luke warm, coffee was fine. The only complaint is the location of the hotel, there is nowhere to actually walk to. There are a few shops, mainly mobile phone shops and curio antiques. Also like all the other hotels it is on the side of the main roads. The dinner in the hotel was one of the worse we had throughout the holiday, we ate there twice. There is a cafe on site where you can buy cakes, which we did and they were quite nice. But salavation is at hand, there is KFC next door, and although they don't speak much English, they do have a menu you can point at! The only reason I would not stay there again is due to the location, nothing wrong with the hotel itself.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly.
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank iceburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2007

Very modern hotel, plenty of facilities, very good food!!!

Hotel has got cards printed for taxi drivers so you can "show" them what you'd like to see in Beijing..There's too much to see!!!!

Apart from climbing the Great wall, taking thousands of pictures in Forbidden city, Summer Palace, Tiananmen Square, walking down the Sacred way to Ming Tombrs with stone animals and statues on both sides...it is much recommended to hurry up and see the old Beinjing on rickshaws..before it's all destroyed for the Olympics..

if you like your bargains..should go to many excellent markets, so much better than Turkish ones! (it's wrong but they're such a good quality it makes me wonder whether they're not stolen!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spacamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Fangzhuang
Super House International
Super House International
#1,531 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Fangzhuang
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
Jiangxi Grand Hotel
#173 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panjiayuan
Beijing Guangxi Plaza
Beijing Guangxi Plaza
#195 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel Beijing

Property: Plaza Hotel Beijing
Address: No.100 Dongsanhuan South Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100021, China
Region: China > Beijing > Panjiayuan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#121 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Plaza Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing