We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asia Hotel
Ranked #126 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Arrived at 7pm without my luggage which the airline had missed loading. The hotel did not have room ready despite check-in time being 2pm. Reception informed that they had only 1 room left which was bewildering since I had booked and paid in advance...

Though the room was excellent and well furnished. Airline delivered my luggage sometime at night but no one informed me. In the morning when I checked my luggage was sent to my room. Staff speaks very little English and at times it is difficult to get information from them.

However, to be fair, apart from these 'special situation' issues, stay was very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajiv_pune27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    117
    41
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
19
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed there on business Nov 1st 2011, the rooms are OK ,a little bit tired but comfortable enough.There are several good restaurants not far away, went to a very good Teppanyaki restaurant a couple of blocks away.
Breakfast is passable as far as Westerners go, Chinese fare is good, but limited options for westerners, settled for croissants and coffee, however these were a ordinary.
Two issues , when settling my account and you use the minibar and advise what you have used they insist on checking the minbar. The was when being checked out by reception there was one rude Chinese lady who decided she was more important than me and insisted on getting served while I was still being attended to, and the reception person did the transaction.???Not impressed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This hotel is located next to the Swisotel (Hong Kong Macau centre) and is a small notch below the Swisotel in decor. However, I find it to be adequate for my needs. A Starbuck is near by and across the street (Gongti Beilu) are a number of restaurants, mainly for the locals. The more famous one, Morel, is there and within walking distance. It is one of the restaurants frequented by foreigners, but with reasonable pricing. So if you don't want to eat in the hotel and want to shy away from Chinese food, Morel will be a good choice.

Service of this older hotel is good. It has a gym and a very large swimming pool. My room was fairly large and clean. Taxis are available at the hotel entrance most of the time. A subway stop is a 5-10 minute walk away.

It is not a plush hotel but I enjoyed my stay (in Sept 2011) and have no issue with coming back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We were put up in this hotel by some well placed friends on their expense account.

They were charged over 2000 yuan a night , must be corporate "govt /buisness pays-so who cares" rate. But nothing like what is currently available .

Rooms comfortable but maybe not 5 star.

Everything worked except the air conditioning.....the rooms overly hot and you could only open a small window to reduce the temperature......still in low teens(c) outside,,,,but downside...the noise of city aircon outside negated the" fresh" air.

Buffet breakfast more suited to asian palate but you could get by with cereals fruit etc eggs bacon and good coffee.....but the toaster did not work or only intended to warm the bread,

Service a bit vague but picked up on ehe last days.....maybe due to a change of staff.

Overall comfortable, convenient location, short work to subway, resturants, banks and Australian embassy . Very cosmopoltian feel in the area with many westeners walking the streets.

Bottom like, nice hotel but overpriced

Room Tip: check the aircon first before you settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlcapris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I stayed at the hotel because it was a conference venue. Billed as 5 star, I would rate it as Chinese 4 star at most. The room is spacious, clean, with all proper amenities, coffee/tea making facilities, hairdryer, crt tv, slippers, robe etc. Nothing to complain about for the price u pay.

The nicest surprise was getting free internet access and not too bad access at that. The nastiest part is - the ongoing renovations which start at 8am and ends at 6pm and the cigarette smoke that invades your non-smoking room no matter what!

I dined at the hotel's F&B outlets more times than I desired due to work commitments. The Cherry Tree Cafe is nothing to yell about. The breakfast is typical oily fare with an egg station, noodle station, usual continental and asian breakfast stuff. I had room service: nasi goreng - pls give it a miss, too oily, bland and American portioned! and wanton noodles (if you come from Spore/Msia, it's not the kind of yellow noodles you might expect). But all in all, I'd say the food is decent at the 3rd floor Xinjiang restaurant (we were hosted to 10 course meal) and the Little Boat House. The Little Boat House has these little boats docked and floating on water. It was just odd to sit in a rocking boat having a meal. I suppose it's a novelty for the lao wai but really, it's quite annoying cos it rocks left right everytime a service staff comes up to serve you. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the mei2 cai4 kou4 rou4 (mustard greens with belly pork) with porridge.

Hotel health club (again, testament to how much time I'd spent in this hotel!!) - give it a miss unless u really need to have that massage. It's expensive and not that great for service.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkkgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Very nice location. in heart of cbd. supermarket, shopping mall very near by. Indian restraunt 5 mins from taxi. only problem is that the rooms and bathrooms are a bit small. (superior rooms). the furniture is typical old style hotel furniture. old crt tv....not an issue but could be better.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amitksaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2009

The Asia hotel is a top quality hotel. Everything from the bathroom to bedding is clean and comfortable. the water pressure is good and they provide bath salts to relax in. the bathroom is marble except the tub (standard). they provide slippers, robes and so on. would definitely return and recommend.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable beds
  • Disliked — nothing, although the hotel was paid through a tour so exact payment is unknown, may be pricey
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beverlee329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Oriental Garden Hotel
Oriental Garden Hotel
#203 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#98 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Baifuyi Hotel
#205 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
CHAO Sanlitun Beijing
#38 of 6,463 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel

Property: Asia Hotel
Address: No.8 Xinzhong West Street, Gongti Beilu, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#111 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing