We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Ranked #683 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed here for a conference in November and expected better for the price and for the hotel attached to the conference centre. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet and the food was fine, but I would expect a business hotel to have both better facilities and more helpful staff. The internet connection was pretty poor, even through the wire in the room, and although it wasn't too expensive I would have expected it to be free in a business hotel charging as much as this one. I was also surprised that more of the staff didn't speak English given the make-up of the guests; at times no one on the desk or nearby was able to communicate even though nearly all the guests at that time were from abroad. I thought maybe English speaking staff were hard to recruit until we went through the nearby mall one night and the staff in the shops all spoke very good English. The one guy on the concierge desk we did find who spoke English was very helpful, but completely overrun with translating for his colleagues. If I attended another conference there I would probably book another hotel and walk a little further.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is close (by Beijing standards) to the Olympic village but not close to any other attraction. The room (a suite) was very spacious, decorated in Asian style but looking a bit tired. Comfortable beds, decent bathrooms (two in my suite) and all amenities as expected. Free Wifi is available in the lobby but with not much place to sit or work. In the rooms, there is a cabled connection (0.20 RMB/min with daily max of 30 RMB) although it took me while to discover the port (w/o) cable.
There was a marked difference in the street noise ( a busy main road) between two rooms - possibly some gaps around windows in one room but generally on par with busy cities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I stayed at the Continental Grand Hotel for 5 nights in December for a conference in the Beijing International Convention Centre. The hotel was okay for the conference stay, but no more than that. Don't expect too much of the rooms, which are simple and have no wireless internet (even though it is a business hotel), and of the breakfast, which misses basic things. Some of the personnel speaks a bit of English and some do not. In general, I was a bit disappointed about the hotel given the high room rate. In fact, I arrived in Beijing a week before and stayed in a different hotel that week (I won't name it here). That hotel was much cheaper, had much friendlier and English speaking personnel, much better rooms with better beds, better breakfast, wifi in rooms, and a more central location.
The only advantage of the location of this hotel is the vicinity of the BICC, and this advantage seems to be exploited by the hotel. But even if you're here for the purpose of a conference, I would suggest to search for a better hotel nearby and go for a healthy 5-10 min walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bartme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel is very average and generally overpriced. It's not near anything except the International Convention Center and the Olympic Park. No restaurants or pubs nearby, so every such outing requires a taxi or subway ride. Lobby is small. Rooms are OK. Beds and pillows good. Front desk staff were very friendly but very, very slow. Overall, this is not a hotel you'd choose to stay at if aren't attending an event at the Convention Center.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I spent a week here as I was attending a conference at the International Convention Centre. It was very convenient (with an inside connection between the hotel and convention centre), clean (although smelling of smoke) and comfortable, but unless I was again going to be at the convention centreI would look for alternatives before I stayed here again. Little things. The inexpensive restaurant was, on at least two nights that I was there, filled with what smelled like glue fumes. Room service was friendly, but the food was cold. I had reserved a non-smoking room and when I complained about the smell of smoke (and was told that no more non-smoking rooms were available), they did little to correct the situation. Someone did come up, but sniffed as if I was imagining the smell, put the ashtray in the drawer and left. Luckilly there was a breeze and I could keep the window open (and door as often as I could) and by the time I left a week later the smell of smoke had cleared.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullMoon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 9 nights, attending a conference at the attached conference centre. A very large deposit was requested at the beginning of the stay (larger than 9 nights accommodation). The rooms were comfortable and clean. The fridge was locked, so we couldn't keep any drinks cold. The corridors and lifts often smelt of cigarette smoke. The meals provided by the hotel as part of the conference hosting were unimpressive. The nearby shopping centre was useful. The walk to the Huixinxijie Beikou subway station was more pleasant than the Olympic Sports Centre station, for those intending to use the public transit system.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equanimitee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here because I attended a conference at a conference center attached to this hotel. The checkin was disorganized and terrible. It took 3 times as long as at any other hotel in China. Breakfast, which was served in the second floor ballroom was ridiculous. Unless you got there when it first opened, you were lucky to get silverware, coffee or fruit. They ran out of all of it after 20 minutes. For some peculiar reason, breakfast was served on the second floor until 8:30 and then moved to the first floor. The food did not come close to the standards of a 5 star hotel.. The room was adequate for a 3 star and not a 5 star hotel. The shower had minimal pressure so it is difficult to take a shower. The hotel staff was inefficient. The hotel seems to be understaffed and unprepared for a large conference, even though it is supposed to be the congress hotel. For a conference hotel, where people must attend lectures at specific times, it was not ready to accommodate large numbers. We tried to move next door to the Crowne Plaza but no rooms were available. We had a group dinner at the “fancy” hotel restaurant. The food was barely passable and the cost was outrageous.
Avoid this hotel at all cost.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happywanderer11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#835 of 6,568 in Beijing
164 reviews
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Continental Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Address: No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Region: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#357 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £72 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Star Continental Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Star Continental Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Grand Beijing
Hotel Continental Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing