We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if smell of cegerattes is OK for you” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Ranked #410 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value if smell of cegerattes is OK for you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is at the next door to the more expensive Beichen Crown Plaza hotel, and close to the Olympic stadium. The only thing I don't like is the smell of cigerattes in elevators and in the lobby. One evening, I kept smelling cigeratte smoke in my room (possibly from the air vent or cracks in the wall). I had to open the windows.

Room Tip: You can get free wifi if you sit at the tables close to the door in the breakfast restaurant. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    173
    84
    35
    8
See reviews for
5
5
9
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Al Bayda, Libya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel two nights, attending a conference, like I think must of clients it was good hotel, very good breakfast. The hotel is Isolated from the city and the price could not be justified.The reception speak only English with difficulty, this complicate the communication with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fowad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel wasn't as bad as I feared from reading reviews before getting there.
Problems: The internet connection was the biggest issue, it was rather slow and no wireless was available in the room. Rather pricey too...
The biggest plus was the breakfast - although I stayed there for seven days, the selection was large enough not to get bored of it.
Another minus is the fact that "no speak English sorry", coming from most of the staff, can be annoying.

Positive aspects: The location is good - right next to the conference center, which is probably their main business.
No problems about cleanliness, room size or safe box. They also have a gym with a swimming pool, which were quite OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudiu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was stuck at this hotel for 7 nights. I requested a non-smoking room and my room smelled of stale smoke. I requested a different room because of the smell and the receptionist was extremely rude and the new room smelled, also! The room was clean enough but small. My colleagues on different floors complained of their toilets backing up. Luckily, I didn't have that problem During my stay, people were sitting on the floor or on the steps in the lobby to access the Wifi as there really isn't a lobby with any chairs. Most of the staff do not speak any English and seem annoyed by foreigners which seems strange since this facility hosts International Conferences. For a 4-star hotel, I was very disappointed. I was literally counting the nights until I could leave.

Room Tip: I eventually ended up with a room on the top floor and I would recommend that as my colleagues had i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Busy hotel close to olympic centre and convention centre. The rooms are fairly clean and well maintained but bathroom was very cramped. The bed and linen was good. Rooms have a fridge but it isn't stocked with anything. The main restaurant (at the back of the lobby as you enter the hotel) was excellent (strongly recommend spicy aubergine, kug po chicken, lamb in cumin), but closed at 9pm (!) There is no bar in the hotel, but you can get drinks in the cafe where breakfast and lunch are served. The breakfast buffet is pretty good (including decent coffee). Many staff have poor english, although they were smiley and tried to be helpful. There is no gym or pool. Overall, its OK, but has some irritating limitations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael_j_wooldridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel was chosen by the organizers of an important scientific conference. Actually by the local organizers, while the international ones were complaining like me.

To start with we did not get wifi. There is free wifi in the lobby but to seat on a chair you have to order something with prices that are higher than in London (4£ for an expresso.. the cheapest thing you can get). So a bunch of scientist are just sitting on the ground... and we are not even doing a protest...

Second the service tries to be helpful but 90% of the times they can just smile to you and call somebody else, till when you are surrounded by more than 4 people that are smiling to you and not understanding.

Third the room is quite small, not totally clean (the carpet in particular the rest looks to be cleaned everyday) and a bit smelly, probably nobody cares of the no-smoking.. at least.

I also got problems in some restaurants in the area using my creditcard, I was told that in Beijing there would be no problems but they look like to accept only the unioncard.

ok thats more or less all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimitri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here for a week just because it's connected to the Beijing International Conference Centre (BICC). I must say, for the 4 stars attributed to this hotel, it really doesn't seem like much. Facilities aren't great, rooms aren't really what you'd expect of a 4-star hotel. Sure, they're comfortable and clean, but definitely not worth the asking price - and I was already getting a conference discount of about 20-30% off the original price. I'd rate it 3-stars personally for what it offers. It hits rock bottom when I consider the seemingly 5-star room rates.

In terms of location, it's great if you're attending a conference in the BICC next door. But really, if you don't mind walking a couple of minutes, there are options that are better value for money (e.g. Huiyuan apartments, about 10-15 minute walk from BICC). The nearby mall offers several options for food, some of which are quite affordable (foodcourt).

On the other hand, I'd commend them for the buffet breakfast selection, which offers both western and chinese cuisines. Decent selection and pretty good food. No complaints there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jklee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Asian Games Village
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
Grand Skylight Catic Hotel
#536 of 6,437 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Asian Games Village
V- Continent Beijing Parkview Wuzhou
Asian Games Village
Celebrity International Grand Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Asian Games Village
Changbaishan International Hotel
Changbaishan International Hotel
#590 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#141 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Continental Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Continental Grand Hotel

Property: North Star Continental Grand Hotel
Address: No.8 Beichen East Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100101, China
Region: China > Beijing > Asian Games Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#247 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Star Continental Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 538
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your North Star Continental Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Grand Beijing
Hotel Continental Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing