We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service apartment concsidering the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing
Ranked #1,955 of 6,463 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing
1 review
“Worst service apartment concsidering the price”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is one of the worst places I've stayed considering the price I payed per month. The Rooms are very old and not well maintained, the windows are badly maintained thus wind and bad smell blows through the apartment.
The swimming pool is very tiny and dirty, we got skin problems after taking bath, maybe the PH is not well.
The worst came at the end when we moved out. The hotel was not able to return the deposite within 5 weeks to my bank account. I'm still fighting with the Somerset to get the money returned.

at the bottom line, I would not suggest this Somerset Grand Fortune Garden. There are better places around, like the Kempinsky or Oakwood Residence.

Room Tip: Kempinski, or Oakwood residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuanyuan-monica, Manager at Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing, responded to this review, 6 April 2013
Dear Mr Bjoern,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Grand Fortune Garden. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us on 27th Mar.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

We have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to the apartment & swing poor issues and deposit return. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. We seek your patience and understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
2
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and the location is grear -- just a block away from the Lufthansa centre and underground station, although taxi drivers seem to have real problems finding the place even when given the address and Chinese name. If it is desperate tell them it's near the 'yansha zhongxin', which is the Lufthansa centre and a landmark -- in the worst case scenario you can always walk back.

As for the property itself, they are serviced apartments, and there is a long-stay community of expat families wandering around. We got a 2-room apartment, and it is massive, with 2 bathrooms, a big room with a washing machine/dryer and sink, and also a good-sized kitchen with large fridge, cutlery and utensils. This is where things start going a little off-track. The kettle provided was leaky, and tripped the power supply in half the flat. We called reception to say we had no power, and as we waited for the next 15 mins, tried to locate the fuse box. It was locked, and there was no maintenance man. We called again to chase, were given the reassurance that they were on the way, and again it was another 15-20 min wait before we picked up the phone again. Same reassurance, and eventually 10 mins later, the maintenance man finally turns up and switches the power back on for us. We tell him we suspect it was the kettle, and he calls housekeeping for another one. To his credit he was very polite and well-spoken and we had no problems with him whatsoever. (and of course the replacement kettle takes upwards of 20 mins to appear).

And as for the standard of the place itself, they are clean enough, but it has probably some of the worst quality workmanship I have ever seen (in multiple trips to china). The floor tiles in the bathrooms have smears of cement/sealant (?) between them, the shower cubicles aren't sealed off properly (so one ends up flooding the whole bathroom floor if unaware to point the shower head away -- although the best I could do is to prevent a huge pond from forming and instead having a couple of rivers of water on the floor), and it generally feels as if the contractor was hired to build a 'luxury' property but decided to apply the budget to other uses instead. Definitely not something one would expect from the Somerset brand, which we have stayed in other cities around the world.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuanyuan-monica, Manager at Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure having you stay at Somerset Grand Fortune Garden. Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay experience with us on 04th Nov.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

we have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to the service and apartment. Please be assured that we will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. We seek your patience and understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented, we will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our guests.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed in a three bedroom unit (three adults and two kids). The apartment was HUGE and it was great to spread out. The fittings are a bit dated, but you can tell it was an extremely well furnished apartment with quality fixtures.
The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is good as an inclusive. We'd recommend this to anyone.
The location is in the embassy district and there are lots of "foreign" restaurants around if you need them. There's also a larger modern supermarket around the corner

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luey9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom (2 bathroom) apartment!
The accommodation is of a good standard, air con in rooms, large lounge, spacious dinning room, kitchen with hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine and 3 satelite televisions!
Complex has a breakfast room, kids play area, gym, sauna (steam room & jacuzzi both out of order)swimming pool, kids pool, internet access, table tennis, mini market & hairdressers.
Plenty of restaurants at back of complex (lucky street) with the Solana shopping cente at the end!
10 minute stroll to the subway, which TFL could learn alot from, 2 yen gets you anwhere (20p).
Lady street market is a 15 minute stroll (cross the main busy road, heading towards the marriot) which has numerous stalls and food - kebabs from 4 yen (40p) bottled coke from 3 yen, (much cheaper than supermarkets etc).
Taxis are cheap, 20 minute journey appox 20 yen (£2) eg T square!, make sure they put the meters on, didn't come across a cabby who spoke English, destination in Chinese works well, eg business card.
Be carefull crossing roads, the drivers are mental, zebra crossings mean nothing to them!
if you don't get on with the food, Mcdonalds is your answer (Big Mac 13 yen - meal 22 yen) one close by Workers stadium.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammerMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tugun, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Our entry into Beijing was late at night on the last day of Spring festival with everywhere firework explosions startling us. The booked accommodation was the Somerset Grand Fortune Garden in the Chaoyang district of Beijing. The 2 bedroom apartment was very roomy and the 17th floor district views pleasant, even great on a clear day. The carpet was a bit crumpled and the furniture a bit tatty. If management updated the interior they would make great appartments. The kitchen was great; huge fridge, dishwasher etc. however the utensils and crockery were both sparse and an eclectic mix. The baby cots and highchair were flimsy and rickety and the included breakfast buffet uninspiring (instant coffee, stale toast) and bewildering ( we are getting used to the more exotic things that are getting served for breakfast over here.)

On the plus side, it is in a good location, there is a little bakery and a convenience store in the building and lot's of restaurants within walking distance. The gym is spacious, modern and well equipped and the pool is great. To top it all off for parents with young children the designated playroom is fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walvisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2006

stayed here for 4 nights. i travelled to several cities in china and this was the best hotel / apartment we stayed in.

We initially booked a 2 bedroom apartment but was upgraded to 3 bedroom. the apartment was quite impressive. it had excellent interior and expensive looking furnitures. the tv had about 100 channels and also had washing machine. we were able to wash all our clothes we used in shanghai.

the location was not that good as it was bit far from the major sights and there was no close metro station. But as the taxi fares are very cheap in china, it wasn't too much of a concern.

the hotel does not have a working internet in contrary to what it said on the hotel brochure.

the hotel had a nice little bakery on the ground floor which sold freshly baked breads.

overall i highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting beijing.

  • Liked — the quality of the aprtments
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank blakcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
New Grand Dynasty
New Grand Dynasty
#3,495 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Yansha
Corea Hotel
Corea Hotel
#2,772 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Yansha
Guangming Hotel
Guangming Hotel
#167 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
#824 of 6,463 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Kunlun
Hotel Kunlun
#75 of 6,463 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing

Property: Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing
Address: No.46 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100125, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#284 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Grand Fortune Garden is centrally located within the CBD zone in Chaoyang district. It puts you at the doorstep of many business, finance, shopping and entertainment facilities like the Friendship Store – a popular local shopping mall, the Beijing International Clinic, international schools and embassies. A mere 20-minute drive away is China World Trade Center and Beijing International Airport. Somerset Grand Fortune Garden offers you a warm and stylish home with many recreational facilities and business support services. Its range of cosy one-bedroom apartments to generous penthouses feature a spacious living and dining room, fully-equipped kitchen, home entertainment system and high speed broadband internet access. Somerset Grand Fortune Garden’s balanced and enriching lifestyle is ideal for utives and their families. Indulge in a refreshing and rejuvenating dip at the indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and spa, or stay in shape at the gym. A spacious lounge offers you relaxation and respite while our daily maid service promises a clean and tidy haven. Business dealings are pleasant affairs with our efficient, 24-hour Business Centre. With Somerset’s signature Heartware service, your stay will always be tailored to your individual needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Fortune Garden Beijing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing