We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lusongyuan Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$176
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$497
US$333
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$215
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
39
96
33
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
96
33
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshutong areanice hotel in a great locationminute walkshopping and restaurantsrooms are cleanchinese styledrum towersubway stationeasy accessnanluoguxiangcourtyardchinacurtainstoiletplumbingkettlecons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The location is perfect. It is a few steps away from the best Hutong in the city (Nan Luo Gu Xiamg - according to my friend from Beijing). You can walk to the Forbidden City in about 30 minutes (if you're happy to enter through the exit and proceed backwards through the site), and then on to Tianamen Square. The Drum tower is a short walk in the opposite direction, and the Lama Temple & Hou Hai Lake are nearby as well.
The hotel staff were friendly and let us have an early arrival / late departure for no extra cost or hassle. We arrived on a very cold morning (-15 Celsius), so we were happy that the room had 2 heaters - a plug-in electric heater, and a wall-mounted split system which would turn itself on and off as it liked. However the room never really got 'warm' - it was comfortable enough to sleep in, with an extra blanket and thermals. The mattress was very firm. The room was tiny, but it's all we needed, as we spent all day and night site-seeing, and just needed a place to sleep. It was fairly clean, with a bit of mould on the bathroom shower tiles. We blew a fuse running both heaters an a hair dryer at the same time.
We would stay there again as it is affordable, and the location is awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitsofboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

If you are a sucker for fancy hotels, this is not for You! If you are a sucker for charming traditional Hutong hotels this one may be the one. It's situated close to the Houhai Lake area and South Luogu Alley. It's the area where young chinese people find their amusement lots of bars, shopping and restaurants. Its pretty close to Zhangzizhonglu subway station and Dongzhimen Inner Street where you can find food from all areas of china (take the metro to Beixinqiao station).

The room that I've got was a small single room nothing fancy but still ok, hot water in the shower and clean towels every day, the cleaning of the room was as usual "Chinese style" that means very basic cleaning. Green tea and a bottle was complimentary of the hotel. Just phone the reception and they will deliver hot water in no time at all.
My room was cold as hell when I arrived due to typical cold weather as for the season, but they fixed it with a effective heater.
Staff is friendly and the reception staff speaks English.
I can think that this hotel will be a hit in the warm season when you can sit outside in the Courtyards.
I have stayed at many Hotels in Beijing but this the one I will book next time because of the charm, surroundings, friendliness and price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Nice place to be. I was a little apprehensive when my boyfriend was trying to get a cab here since no one seemed to understand that we wanted to get close to where the hotel was since we knew they wouldn't drop us off in the hutong, but when we got there aside from a mild musty smell which I expected, it was a great place. The wooden tub in the bathroom was great and I even got an excellent bath while we were there. The breakfast there was decent and filling. The bed was pretty firm but we were in a farther room in a quieter location. I was really happy with the hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is a great find for those wanting to avoid sterile and overpriced tourist hotels and see what is left of Beijing hutong life. If you're a Little Princess who is horrified at stains on the carpets and expects to be pampered by staff, then spend much more money and stay elsewhere with your ilk. If you want a decent, but not luxurious hotel, with character, this is it. My wife has stayed there twice, I and just spend 3 nights there, and we will definitely use it again.

A few tips:
* Taxi drivers will not know where it is. Be sure you have the hotel phone number with you, so the drivers can call for directions. I had prepared a set of maps in Chinese for taxi drivers (starting with the map on the hotel website), but they had no interest in looking at maps. All they wanted was the phone number.

* A Google search on the address takes you to a location about 10 miles to the northwest (another street of the same name perhaps??). The map on the hotel website shows the correct location.

* Lusongyuan is a short walk (10-15 min) from the Zhangzizhonglu subway stop. However, I would not take the subway to find the hotel for the first time (e.g., upon arrive from the airport), because it might be hard to find on the first try (especially at night). After you orient yourself, the subway gives you great access to the rest of the city.

* The hotel is a 30 min walk to TianAnMen, less to the Back Lakes, YongHeGong, and other areas of interest, so it's a great central location for site seeing (if you're a good walker, or via the subway to many locations).

* Go out the front door and to the left and you'll find good restaurants and night markets along Nan Luo Gu Xiang, a few minutes walk.

* The front desk staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The breakfasts are adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

There are many hutong courtyard places to choose from, in many different price levels in Beijing so it can be difficult to choose one without knowing what you want from the place. We stayed three nights here, and I decided on this one for it's location adjacent to Nan Luo Gu Xiang and it's size, being a larger place with multiple courtyards and almost 50 rooms. It has a grand entrance, very much traditional to the age of the buiding, and a lovely large courtyard to take breakfast in every morning.

Our room opened to a smaller courtyard in front, and the large window set in the bathroom overlooked another smaller courtyard in the rear. The room itself, on the small side, had beautiful detailed woodwork, and period furniture. The bathroom had an oversized wooden tub with detachable shower head, ideal for soaking in and beautiful to look at.

The easiest way to reach it is to have a taxi drop you off at street to the east; it is a two minute walk from there, and there is no need to attempt to tell them the hutong alley, which they won't want to drive down anyhow; 15 minutes to a subway. 2 minutes to Nan Luo Gu Xiang.

Excellent water pressure, plenty of hot water, and no sewage smell from the toliet due to it's larger size. From what I understand, this was the first courtyard hotel to open in this hutong, and it remains a favorite of many. It is a bit long in the tooth in some areas and can benefit from some repainting, but for the price it was great for us.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews