We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beijing Minzu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$176
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$223
US$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$497
US$349
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$272
US$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
US$198
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$113
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$564
US$361
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
68
183
43
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
183
43
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenience storebed was comfortableroom servicetiananmen squarehairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel. Rooms were very clean. Would recommend. I stayed there for about three nights and then went onto another city. The food is lovely. Friendly staff. As i am not much into meat, there was always a wide variety of fresh fruits available.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
4  Thank FirstLadyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed in a 10th floor room for 10 days. This was one of the higher level rooms with private check in service on the 9th floor. Hotel fronts on Chang'an Avenue, the main ave that runs east-west in front of The Forbidden City. We opted for a room that faced away from the avenue and found the room very quiet. Closest subway is Xidan (about a 5 minute walk). I found that the buses were the best option.

Quality of room was similar to a Hyatt. We had a king platform foam mattress bed. Bed was very comfortable. Room had a refrigerator, safe, and was stocked with bottled water and fruit each day (free). Room also had a minibar. There were two robes and two slippers for our use. Hair dryer, shampoo, etc were also in the room. Room also had a day bed. The room only had 2 draws which made organized unpacking difficult. Room had good air conditioning that was quiet. Bath room had both a tub and separate shower.

The room had wired broadband internet (no wifi) for free. I brought a portable wifi hotspot device that could be plugged into the connection and gave me an Internet connection on my cellphone. You will not be able to access Facebook, Twitter or Google, including Gmail.

There were only 3 accessible outlets in the room, which made charging multiple cellphones difficult. The outlet in the bathroom did not work. In case you don’t know, most chargers will work on 220 (Chinese power standard) and 110 (US standard) without a converter. The hotel outlets accommodated 2 prong US style plugs. Room uses a smart card key to open the door and to activate all power in the room. When you enter the room, you insert the card in a slot and all electric power in the room becomes active.

We found the room clean and well maintained. Maid service was prompt. I suspect that the card key system signals maid when the room is empty. Other reviews mention the “adult entertainment” cards that get slipped under the door each day. This does happen, however the pictures are discreet. I’d rather have this than have them slapped in my face like Las Vegas. Only English TV channels are CCTV4, CNN international, HBO, Showtime and ESPN. All seem to be versions designed for Chinese market.

Room included one breakfast and afternoon tea. It costs 70RMB for a second breakfast. Hotel has at least 2 restaurants, but you can find better and more reasonable priced restaurants if you walk to the street behind the hotel. One with the English phrase “Hot and Tasty” was a very good one. The crab dish was delicious. Further down the road are many more restaurants.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces away from Chang'an Avenue and opt for the private checkin rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Code39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

I went with my husband in this very pleasant hotel. very kind all maids and receptionists, we have a lovely suite. the bathroom was very large and we have drinking water to wash (!). at the first floor there were a lot of good restaurants, we tryed the classical chinese, anc I can say we never eat so much and so good! in the hall was possible to rent bicicles to go around beijng and the officers were very kind to explain with a map the interesting points. if you need a taxi they call it for you and explain where you want to go. moverover they organize interesting trips to Great wall and ming tombs ( 2 different) every week...it is few steps from the forbidden city and commercil quartier ( try it, itis very funny!) and on the day of my birthday they left a bunch of flowers and a basket of fruits with compliments on our room. very very pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel closed to seven times in the past 10 years when I visit Beijing. The most recent stay was three nights in early June 2011.

This hotel was a popular choice when Chinese officials host overseas guests. It could have been state-own in the past, thus the counter service reflects relatively of that level, the service standard is at time rude, even to the staff of the host organisation that did the booking. It is typical and do not expect drastic improvement. To me a decade has passed and the service standard remains relatively unchanged. Fortunately too, is that tipping is not expected.

I observed that the hotel is ageing and although it is building a new wing, not sure how existing rooms would be make new. The rooms are quite spacey, probably because it was built in the 70s and space was not an issue, ceiling was relatively tall, although lighting is generally not satisfactory for reading and working. During my last three stays, I also noticed that security of the hotel has dropped a little, allowing "special service" cards with images of western ladies to be pushed through the door. But good thing is that there was no knocking on the door yet.

There are several plus points of staying this hotel: the breakfast is quite good in terms of selection of both Chinese and Western dishes, including fruits. In fact, guests could pick up fresh fruits (usually apples, pears and peaches) outside the lift area for the floor they stayed - but that also depends on one's luck (and timing).

The other major plus point of this hotel is its location to Xidan shopping area; a major bookstore (XinHua); a small hutung residential area (just opposite the hotel) and it is almost next to a underground station that connect you to different part of the city and places of attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road offer good view of the city, esp those higher up (10th floor and above)
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night for business. Upon check-in I was asked to check in on level 9 (if I remember correctly) which looked like an upgrade of some sort. At check in, the receptionist had really bad attitude, basically made my colleague look stupid.

Went into the room which looked nicely done up. A few minutes later as I was getting comfortable, someone slipped a business card down my room door - it was an invitation to 'extra services' for men. I went to the bathroom to find a bin for the card, only to find other adult 'accessories' readily displayed for sale. The room was comfortable enough, good-sized, and clean. The sleep was good except for the occasional noise from outside, obviously from people who had too much to drink.

Met my colleague for breakfast the next morning, and she also had the business card under her door. She went down for something to eat the night before and she saw some women who did not look like they belong there, and some vomit on the floor.

Seriously, this is a hotel that is only suitable for single men who are out there to look for fun. Don't bring your family or kids there.

Room Tip: Don't bother
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pandai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews