We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills, decent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beijing Scitech Hotel
Ranked #3,447 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“No frills, decent place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

Stayed at the SciTech Hotel in Beijing for 5 nights in April. For the price I paid (560 RMB), I don't have too many complaints. Check-in was easy and quick; the rooms are comfortable and clean (though the bathroom is a bit small/cramped). The breakfast buffet was good and the location is quite convenient to restaurants, shops and Starbucks! My only disappoints were the fact that the gym opens at 11AM for hotel guests. This is just ridiculous to me, since there are people who like to get in a work-out in the morning before starting their day. The other was their incredibly slow wireless connection. Some nights, I was completely not able to get onto the internet. For a hotel that caters to mostly business guests, this is not acceptable. I ended up walking a couple blocks to the Starbucks down the street and used their (very fast) wireless connection instead.

Overall though, for the price I paid, this place is pretty decent. I probably wouldn't stay there again as it is too far from my Beijing office, but if your travels require you to stay in that area, then by all means, you should consider it (if you don't need the gym in the morning!)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    68
    35
    20
    6
See reviews for
4
1
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

I have stayed at the SciTech many times as it is close to my office in Beijing. The lobby is rather nice though smoking is allowed. The food in the restaurant is average but there are buffets for breakfast and dinner so there are options.

Rooms are shabby but seem clean and are relatively quiet. I always get a non-smoking room so have not run into any problems there. You can get excellent rates here but don't expect a Hilton for the price.

You are given access to the fitness club next door to the hotel which is bigger than your average hotel gym and I believe there is a pool. There is also a spa but I have never used it as they don't seem to speak English. As someone else mentioned, the front desk staff speak adequate English but few others in the hotel do. I find it nearly impossible to order room service as no one in room service can speak any English.

So, a summary - cheap, a bit frayed around the edges and very close to some of the major sites. Plus, it has a high end shopping mall next door with a grocery store. You can pick up bottled water, food and a new Bentley there.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2007

The hotel allows smoking everywhere, therefore the rooms, and linens have the stench of tobacco. When I left the hotel, all my clothing smelled like cigarettes. The cleanness is also questionable, the carpets in the rooms are really old with lots of stains, I would not recommend walking barefoot in the room.
Do not be fooled by the executive floor, the rooms are exactly the same, the only difference is that you have access to the Internet, however at an extra charge, on top of the extra charge for being in the executive room.
If you are going to Asia, try a bigger more recognized hotel chain if you care for higher standards. This hotel is good probably for smokers and people who do not care a lot for the surroundings.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BecksterQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2006

This hotel was selected by our tour operator. The lobby was spacious, large enough for groups to congregate. The front desk staff were friendly, and spoke enough English to get by. To our delight, they had non-smoking floors. The room itself was spacious, clean, having the usual amenities. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, with a generous variety of western and eastern foods.

The Silk Market is a ten minute walk away, but otherwise, you will need public transport to get to most tourist destinations. Taxis were abundant, and the nearest metro stop is about a 15min walk away. That is perhaps my only gripe with this hotel, and I would have preferred a more central location.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank YC-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2005

I have stayed at the Scitech Hotel on two separate occasions while on business travel. The hotel was clean and pleasant. The food at the coffee shop was good, typical hotel food. The main weakness for non-Chinese travelers is that while some staff members do speak reasonable English, many do not which can make communication difficult. Nevertheless, I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Helpful?
12 Thank Don_Muang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Jinglun Hotel
Jinglun Hotel
#456 of 6,449 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
#41 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#58 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#44 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing Scitech Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing Scitech Hotel

Property: Beijing Scitech Hotel
Address: No.22 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,447 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beijing Scitech Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beijing Scitech Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing