We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, but crowded”

Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park)
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$36.00*
and up
Temple of Heaven and Tai Chi Tour
Ranked #6 of 1,608 things to do in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Built in 1420 with a total area of 270 acres, this is the largest building for religious worship in China, which was originally used by the Ming and Qing emperors to pay homage to Heaven and to pray for a year of rich harvest.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pleasant, but crowded”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We made a mistake by visiting during a public holiday and it was heaving with visitors.

It is a beautiful place that is surrounded on all 4 sides by lovely trees. This is where the Emperor used to prepare himself by fasting before praying to Buddha for good harvests. The huge round building painted in red is where he used to pray. Visitors are not allowed to enter this building which we found disappointing. There is a barrier so that you can just peer inside and take photos, and to get a look at the interior with its ornate red pillars/columns decorated with gold artwork depicting China's national flower. But it is very dark inside so we couldn't see that much. We had to push our way to the front to get a look as it was shoulder to shoulder!

Like other royal places of interest, there are huge bronze incense burners and lion statues. Along the entrance/way out, there is a lovely park where you could see families playing cards & dominoes and people dancing. It is a very pleasant area but was very crowded because it was a public holiday. It would have been nice to have taken time to sit down and relax and absorb the atmosphere in the park, rather than being rushed by our guide.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,017
    3,180
    775
    55
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The park that it is in is very nice”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Long line of people to see inside them, you cant actually get inside any structures, it was a little disappointing, but the surrounding park is very beautiful and very well kept.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
842 reviews
355 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
“Worth going just to see the Round Hall of Prayer for Good Harvest”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Round Hall of Prayer for Good Harvest is fabulous and the marble terraces which ring it are quite special. It is just a shame that you cannot go inside the temple and other temples and buildings in China, but I guess the numbers are just too great.

It is not too easy to get to from the North, such as from Qianmen or Chongwemen subway stations on Line 2. It is quite a walk. It is best to take the metro to Tiantandongmen on Subway Line 5 and enter by the East Gate. The subway station is very close to the gate

There were some fabulous brides and their outfits being photographed. It is a big space – you can see why it so popular with Beijing people. You can wander round and sit in this huge green space for hours and see very few people

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Linolnshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“One of the better places to visit”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I visited here on a lovely sunny day. When you've been in China visiting different tourist sites for 10 days a lot of temples in particular can start to look the same, beautiful but they start to blend....

The park here was great, I played hacky sack with some locals and bought some sacks to bring home, made by a former champion player! and only about 15p each in English money.
Joined in a Tai Chi session and was taught some moves by the leader of the group, played with a ball and special bat which took a lot of balance! And watched the retired locals do their exercise. 1 elderly man in particular was impressively flexible and agile and gathered quite a crowd!
Everyone here was so relaxed, happy and friendly,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank moowliscious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better visit here!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was the first attraction that I visited while I was in Beijing, and... It didn't disappoint! The Temple of Heaven is, in my opinion, one of the top three attractions in Beijing (the others being the Great Wall and the Lama Temple). Now, moving on...

1). How do you get there?

This one is easy. There is a subway stop right next to it bearing the same name. Can't miss this one!

2). How long do you need to spend there?

This one depends on you, but if you want to visit all the main sites in the park, I would say three hours would be a comfortable timing to do so.

3). What are the must sees in this park?

Well, if you were to get an audio guide (the automatic one that lights up and says something every time you are near a certain attraction), it will show you the route to take and the main attractions there. If you don't want to spend the money getting the audio guide (it is okay, but not a must to get as the explanations can get quite dry), then you can always get a map which some vendors sell at the entrance. DO NOT get a tour guide though! It isn't worth it!

4). Any other tips?

Firstly, there is a lot of people at certain locations in the park. It really dents the whole tour experience since the local tour groups can get really rowdy, noisy, and downright pushy (literally). What can I say about that? Well, deal with it... Secondly, the food on offer at all the joints at the park is CERTAINLY NOT WORTH IT! Do not eat there! I had a meal consisting of microwaved noodles and dumplings for 92 RMB and it was the worst meal I had in Beijing. Stay away from the food there! Lastly, do take the time to enjoy the park as there are many interesting features in it (the wall which reflects what you say at the other end, the pedestal with nine as its main numerical design feature etc.). These are all features which you cannot find in any other attraction elsewhere.

Well, that's it! Hope that you guys enjoy it as much as I did!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thehonestfeedbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park) also viewed

 

Been to Temple of Heaven (Tiantan Park)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing